Extended Audio Sample

Download Spirit Sickness: An Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed Mystery Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Spirit Sickness: An Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed Mystery, by Kirk Mitchell Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (206 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Kirk Mitchell Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed Mysteries Release Date:
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the tradition of Tony Hillerman and Joseph Wambaugh comes Kirk Mitchell’s latest suspense thriller, which reunites Bureau of Indian Affairs Criminal Investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed, two Native American cops torn between their heritage and the law.

A fire-gutted police cruiser found in a remote part of the Navajo reservation bears the bodies of a tribal patrolman and his wife. Parker and Turnipseed know a cop’s murder is never simple, raising countless questions and suspicions. When another murder is discovered, the case explodes into an otherworldly realm.

Both Parker, a Comanche, and Turnipseed, a Modoc, are well acquainted with the eerie shadow land between native myth and modern homicide investigation. Now they will have to touch minds with a murderer who has woven personal madness with Navajo myth to create his own reality—and with it, the need to kill and kill again.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_003090

Quotes & Awards

  • “Intriguing…Mitchell makes the most of Navajo mythology and the landscape of the Southwest.”

    Chicago Tribune

  • “Darker, grittier, and more satisfying than Hillerman’s work…Spirit Sickness reads fast, runs true, and keeps you guessing.”

    Albuquerque Weekly Alibi

  • “Mitchell pulls out all the stops…Mitchell [is] a powerful writer of deep emotions, breathtaking natural beauty, and nail-biting suspense.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “A high-octane thriller in the Thomas Harris mold…The climactic scene…will leave readers gasping for breath.”

    Booklist

  • “Fans of Tony Hillerman and the Thurlos will want to read Spirit Sickness, a thriller that captures the identity of the Navajo Nation. Kirk Mitchell is a talented storyteller.”

    Midwest Book Review 

  • “A tough, hard-hitting story…a winner.”

    I Love a Mystery 

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Larry Martin | 10/3/2013

    " Who dun it, set in modernday indian reservation settings. Good read, not great. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Sally | 8/27/2013

    " I started listening to this and finally realized the gorey stuff and not very nice language just wasn't worth the listening time. It did get me through the usual Saturday night housework though. Stopping on chapter 14. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Amanda Otis | 9/26/2011

    " One of my favorites ! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Rhonda | 7/6/2011

    " Pretty good, although I'd say it kind of fell apart at the end. And I don't really get the relationship between Emmett and Anna. But good suspense and interesting details made it worthwhile. I'll definitely read another in this series. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Kirk Mitchell

Kirk Mitchell served as a deputy sheriff on the Paiute-Shoshone Indian reservations of the desert country that includes Death Valley, and was a SWAT sergeant in Southern California before beginning his career as a full-time writer. This Edgar Award–nominated author lives in the Sierra Nevada of California.