Extended Audio Sample

Download Sisi: Empress on Her Own: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Sisi: Empress on Her Own: A Novel Audiobook, by Allison Pataki Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Allison Pataki Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: March 2016 ISBN: 9780399566912
Regular Price: $25.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Philippa Gregory, Paula McLain, and Daisy Goodwin comes a sweeping and powerful novel by Allison Pataki. Sisi tells the little-known story of Empress Elisabeth of Austria-Hungary, the Princess Diana of her time, in an enthralling work of historical fiction that is also a gripping page-turner.

Married to Emperor Franz Joseph, Elisabeth—fondly known as Sisi—captures the hearts of her people as their “fairy queen,” but beneath that dazzling persona lives a far more complex figure. In mid-nineteenth-century Vienna, the halls of the Hofburg Palace buzz not only with imperial waltzes and champagne but with temptations, rivals, and cutthroat intrigue. Feeling stifled by strict protocols and a turbulent marriage, Sisi grows restless. A free-spirited wanderer, she finds solace at her estate outside Budapest. There she rides her beloved horses and enjoys visits from the Hungarian statesman Count Andrássy, the man with whom she’s unwittingly fallen in love. But tragic news brings Sisi out of her fragile seclusion, forcing her to return to her capital and a world of gossip, envy, and sorrow where a dangerous fate lurks in the shadows.

Through love affairs and loss, dedication and defiance, Sisi struggles against conflicting desires: to keep her family together, or to flee amid the collapse of her suffocating marriage and the gathering tumult of the First World War. In an age of crumbling monarchies, Sisi fights to assert her right to the throne beside her husband, to win the love of her people and the world, and to save an empire. But in the end, can she save herself?

Featuring larger-than-life historic figures such as Bavaria’s “Mad King Ludwig” and the tragic Crown Prince Rudolf, and set against many of Europe’s grandest sites—from Germany’s storied Neuschwanstein Castle to England’s lush shires—Sisi brings to life an extraordinary woman and the romantic, volatile era over which she presided.

Praise for Sisi

“Pataki successfully juggles numerous political and personal plot lines while maintaining her focus on a fascinating central character. . . . Readers of Pataki’s first book will want to know the rest of Sisi’s story, but this novel stands on its own for historical fiction fans.”Library Journal

“A deeply moving book about a complex character.”BookPage

“A satisfying saga of the late Habsburg period.”Kirkus Reviews

“Pataki brings richness and relevance to the story of the woman who worked tirelessly to protect the face of an empire.”Publishers Weekly

“Pataki simply stuns me with each new book. I savor each page. Sisi is her best yet!”—Kathie Lee Gifford

“Readers will enjoy the glorious dilemma of whether to turn the pages swiftly, breathlessly following Empress Sisi from one astonishing, heartbreaking adventure to the next, or to linger and luxuriate in Pataki’s vivid, sumptuous descriptions of the Habsburg court.”—Jennifer Chiaverini, New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker

“This entire novel is irresistible—completely impossible to put down! Pataki reimagines the reign of the nineteenth-century Princess Diana in this stunning book.”—Michelle Moran, internationally bestselling author of Rebel Queen

“Emotional, exuberant, masterly, Sisi swept me into the glittering, treacherous world of the waning Habsburg empire. A must-read.”—Lynn Cullen, bestselling author of Mrs. Poe


From the Hardcover edition. Download and start listening now!

bstw

Quotes & Awards

  • Readers will enjoy the glorious dilemma of whether to turn the pages swiftly, breathlessly following Empress Sisi from one astonishing, heartbreaking adventure to the next, or to linger and luxuriate in Allison Pataki’s vivid, sumptuous descriptions of the Habsburg court. Jennifer Chiaverini, New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker
  • This entire novel is irresistible—completely impossible to put down! Pataki reimagines the reign of the nineteenth-century Princess Diana in this stunning book. Michelle Moran, internationally bestselling author of Rebel Queen
  • Emotional, exuberant, masterly, Sisi swept me into the glittering, treacherous world of the waning Habsburg empire. Allison Pataki’s understanding of the Empress Elisabeth is nothing short of miraculous. A must-read. Lynn Cullen, bestselling author of Mrs. Poe
  • Sisi delivers on all fronts: intrigue, love triangles, deception, heartbreak, and triumph. This is a wonderful read. Deeanne Gist, international bestselling author of Tiffany Girl
  • The tumultuous world of mid-nineteenth-century royalty comes to stunning life in this sweeping novel about the courageous, defiant empress who sought her own survival amid rivalry, betrayal, and tragedy. C. W. Gortner, internationally bestselling author of The Vatican Princess
  • From luscious moonlit gardens to sumptuous castles, the settings of Sisi are as dazzling as those of Vienna’s Imperial Court. Pataki resurrects the unforgettable Empress Elisabeth in a rich and exquisite tragedy of passion and heartbreak—a true tour de force. Erika Robuck, bestselling author of Hemingway’s Girl
  • Beautifully written, meticulously researched, and powerfully evocative, Sisi humanizes one of the great female figures of history. Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie, authors of America’s First Daughter
  • Allison Pataki has written a nuanced and compelling account of that ever-glamorous heroine, Empress Elisabeth of Austria, immortalized as ‘Sisi.’ Pataki’s sublimely readable prose is the perfect vehicle for a tale that spans thirty years and settings from Corfu to Hungary to Ireland. The glamour and the heartache of Sisi’s life will keep you riveted. Carol Wallace, author of Leaving Van Gogh
  • [Allison] Pataki successfully juggles numerous political and personal plot lines while maintaining her focus on a fascinating central character. Extensive notes reveal the author’s attention to detail and explain where the novel diverges from the historical record. . . . Readers of Pataki’s first book will want to know the rest of Sisi’s story, but this novel stands on its own for historical fiction fans. Library Journal
     
  • Sisi is a deeply moving book about a complex character. BookPage
     
  • A satisfying saga of the late Habsburg period. Kirkus Reviews
     
  • Pataki’s extensive historical research is evident as she deftly explores the complex life of a woman who was both loved and hated by those whom she ruled. . . . Pataki brings richness and relevance to the story of the woman who worked tirelessly to protect the face of an empire. Publishers Weekly
  • Allison Pataki simply stuns me with each new book. I savor each page. Sisi is her best yet! Kathie Lee Gifford
  • “Readers will enjoy the glorious dilemma of whether to turn the pages swiftly, breathlessly following Empress Sisi from one astonishing, heartbreaking adventure to the next, or to linger and luxuriate in Pataki’s vivid, sumptuous descriptions of the Habsburg court.”

    Jennifer Chiaverini, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Pataki’s sweeping tale captures the court intrigue, the emotional turmoil, and the lavish settings of this turbulent nineteenth-century world.”

    BookPage

  • “Deftly explores the complex life of a woman who was both loved and hated by those whom she ruled…Pataki brings richness and relevance to the story of the woman who worked tirelessly to protect the face of an empire.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Pataki successfully juggles numerous political and personal plot lines while maintaining her focus on a fascinating central character. Extensive notes reveal the author’s attention to detail and explain where the novel diverges from the historical record.”

    Library Journal

  • “Narrator Elizabeth Knowelden captures the formal personality of the Empress Elisabeth…Using crisp, droll tones that roll off the tongue, Knowleden reads the account of Sisi’s years as Queen of Hungary…While Knowelden reads the companions’ parts with warmth and charm, her choice of a cool and haughty tone for Elisabeth is exactly what listeners expect an empress and queen to sound like.”

    AudioFile

  • “A satisfying saga of the late Habsburg period.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A BookPage Top Pick
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Allison Pataki is the author of the New York Times bestselling historical novel, The Traitor’s Wife. She graduated cum laude from Yale University with a major in English and spent several years writing for TV and online news outlets. The daughter of former New York State governor, George E. Pataki, she is a regular contributor to the Huffington Post and FoxNews.com.

About the Narrator

Elizabeth Knowelden Is an audiobook narrator who has won an Earphones Award and was a finalist in 2013 for the prestigious Audie Award for narration. As an actress, she trained in London at the Webber Douglas Academy where she received a Sir Laurence Olivier Commendation. Her acting credits include theater, musicals, and national tours in the UK. Also a film actress, she was recently a participant in BAFTA’s Newcomers Program.