Extended Audio Sample

Download Serpents in the Sun Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Serpents in the Sun (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Hugh B. Cave
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (2 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Hugh B. Cave Narrator: Kenneth Campbell Publisher: Crossroad Press Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: October 2012 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

The Bennett family moved to Jamaica after inheriting a coffee plantation in the Blue Mountains. This novel covers three generations of their lives, loves, triumphs and failures as the build an amazing, profitable plantation, producing some of the finest coffee in the world, and then run afoul of history. This novel , in many ways, parallels the amazing life of it's author, Hugh B. Cave, who owned a plantation on the last road into the Blue Mountains in Jamaica, only to lose it to the government, along with the small fortune he'd built.

This novel, published posthumously, was the last great work in the career of one of America's most prolific authors, winner of multiple awards for his fiction, prolific beyond belief in the days of the pulps, and then the 'slicks' like The Saturday Evening Post and Boy's Life, through propaganda novels during the war years and finally through a series of short stories and novels in his latter years that will forever endear him to lovers of genre fiction. Serpents in the Sun is a novel that consumed years of Cave's life - and contains generations. It is one of his finest works, available now for the first time.

This will be a Crossroad Press production.

Download and start listening now!

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Hugh B. Cave

Hugh B. Cave (1910–2004) was born in England and came to the United States as a child, eventually settling in Boston. Best known for his works of pulp fiction, he authored hundreds of books, short stories, and collections, including The Cross on the Drum, Larks Will Sing, The Dawning, Long Live the Dead, Bitter/Sweet, and many others. He received lifetime achievement awards from the International Horror Guild, the Horror Writers Association, and the World Fantasy Convention.