Extended Audio Sample

Download Season of the Dragonflies: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Season of the Dragonflies: A Novel, by Sarah Creech Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Sarah Creech Narrator: Kate Turnbul Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

As beguiling as the novels of Alice Hoffman, Adriana Trigiani, Aimee Bender, and Sarah Addison Allen, Season of the Dragonflies is a story of flowers, sisters, practical magic, old secrets, and new love, set in the Blue Ridge Mountains.

For generations, the Lenore women have manufactured a perfume unlike any other, and guarded the unique and mysterious ingredients. Their perfumery, hidden in the quiet rolling hills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, creates one special elixir that secretly sells for millions of dollars to the world’s most powerful people—movie stars, politicians, artists, and CEOs. The signature perfume is actually the key to their success.

Willow, the coolly elegant Lenore family matriarch, is the brains behind the company. Her gorgeous, golden-haired daughter Mya is its heart. Like her foremothers, she can “read” scents and envision their power. Willow’s younger daughter, dark-haired, soulful Lucia, claims no magical touch, nor does she want any part of the family business. She left the mountains years ago to make her own way. But trouble is brewing. Willow is experiencing strange spells of forgetfulness. Mya is plotting a coup. A client is threatening blackmail. And most ominously, the unique flowers used in their perfume are dying.

Whoever can save the company will inherit it. Though Mya is the obvious choice, Lucia has begun showing signs of her own special abilities. And her return to the mountains—heralded by a swarm of blue dragonflies—may be the answer they all need.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “The breathtaking backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains almost makes this novel even more magical than the well-thought out storyline. Fans of the occult and supernatural will agree that the addicting storyline is hard to quit, gobbling this story up in just one sitting. Creech grants us all an invitation to her outlandish imagination, and readers will be thoroughly delighted.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “Creech’s debut brings a magical realist touch to a tale of choices and consequences…By turns charming and suspenseful, this is a memorable first novel.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Fans of Alice Hoffman, Sarah Addison Allen, and Tiffany Baker will enjoy this charming, fast-paced novel that lightly blends folksy magical realism with a story of strained family relationships, messy romantic entanglements, and the power of the female bond.”

    Library Journal

  • Season of the Dragonflies is a magical, romantic, and riveting novel. You won’t be able to put it down, and as soon as you finish reading, you’ll begin waiting for Sarah Creech’s next book. What a dazzling new talent!”

    Nina de Gramont, author of Meet Me at the River

  • “Narrator Kate Turnbull’s soft and youthful expression enhances every magical moment in Sarah Creech’s debut novel. Alternating between a sweet, whimsical delivery of the narrative and a subtle Southern accent during dialogue, she emphasizes the beautiful setting of the Blue Ridge Mountains and the fragrant, rare flowers that the Lenore women use for their supernatural perfume—which promises success to whoever wears it. Turnbull’s gentle, feminine storytelling makes this intriguing story involving practical magic and a generation of women easy on the ears. However, once the unique flowers lose their smell and a client threatens blackmail, Willow and her daughters must find a way to save their powerful perfume.”


  • “Debut novelist Creech offers a romance embroidered with magical realism.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Creech has created an intriguing premise in her first novel, but the plot elements related to the perfume and its powers are underdeveloped. More satisfying are the novel’s Blue Ridge Mountains setting and the relationships among mother and daughters, sisters, and the men with whom they fall in love.”


  • A BookPage Book of the Day, August 2014
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Sarah Creech was born and raised in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, where she grew up in a house full of women who told stories about black cloud visions and other premonitions. Her work has appeared in storySouthLiterary Mama, Aroostook Review, Glass, and Glimmer Train. She received an MFA in 2008 and now teaches English and creative writing at Queens University of Charlotte. She currently lives in North Carolina with her two children and her husband, a poet. Her novels include Season of the Dragonflies.