Extended Audio Sample

Download Salt to the Sea: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Salt to the Sea: A Novel Audiobook, by Ruta Sepetys Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ruta Sepetys Narrator: Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris, Michael Crouch Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2016 ISBN: 9780147525444
Regular Price: $23.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war’s most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people—adults and children alike—aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr’s Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson’s Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein’s Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of theWilhelm Gustloff—the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray

, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Download and start listening now!

bo0b

Quotes & Awards

  • “Brutal. Beautiful. Honest.”

    Sabaa Tahir, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Effortless, intimate storytelling…breathe[s] new life into one of the world’s most terrible and neglected tragedies.”

    Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Lithuanian Joana, Prussian Florian, Polish Emilia, and German Alfred share their secrets in alternating chapters. While the narrators’ differing vocal qualities are a plus, they make no attempt at reproducing cultural accents, instead encouraging listeners to imagine the linguistic differences featured in the story. Rather than being a disservice to this powerful novel, the straightforward narration allows the life of each character to unfold without distraction. The heartbreaking climax will leave listeners stunned. An author’s note outlining the true story behind the fiction brings everything full circle. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • “[A] knockout historical novel.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Artfully told and sensitively crafted.”

    School Library Journal (starred review)

  • “This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered, and in turn, it tries to remember the thousands of real people its fictional characters represent.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “This book includes all the reasons why teens read: for knowledge, for romance, for amazing and irritating characters. This novel will break readers’ hearts and then put them back together a little more whole.”

    VOYA

  • “[The] scene setting is impeccable; the penetrating cold of the journey is palpable, and she excels at conveying the scope of the losses while giving them a human face.”

    Horn Book

  • A February 2016 LibraryReads Pick
  • A BookPage Top Pick of February 2016
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016
  • Audie Award Winner for Best Narration in Young Adult Novels
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Ruta Sepetys

Ruta Sepetys was born and raised in Michigan in a family of artists, readers, and music lovers. She is the award-winning author of several books of historical fiction and best known for her novel Between Shades of Gray, which was a New York Times bestseller and a finalist for the Carnegie Medal. Her work is published in over forty-five countries and thirty languages.

About the Narrators

Jorjeana Marie has worked extensively as an actress, comedian, writer, and audiobook narrator. Her narrations have earned her eleven Earphones Awards. As a stand-up comic, she often opens for renowned talents such as Louie Anderson, Richard Lewis, and Louis C.K.

Will Damron is an award-winning audiobook narrator. His narration of The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone by Adele Griffin won an AudioFile Earphones Award, and his co-narration with two other readers of The Sixteen of June by Maya Lang was a finalist for the 2015 Audie Award for Best Multi-Voiced Performance. Raised in rural southern Virginia, he has appeared Off-Broadway and on stage and screen throughout the country. He has won a total of four Earphones Awards for his audiobook narration.

Cassandra Morris has received critical acclaim for her voice-over work from Publishers Weekly and AudioFile magazine. To date, she has narrated over one hundred audiobooks, earned eleven Earphones Awards, and twice been a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration. Her voice has also been heard on television in commercial campaigns for Samsung, Silk Soy Milk, and numerous Nickelodeon and Disney products. She is the voice of many cartoon characters, including Leo and Luna in Yu-Gi-Oh, Carrie in Barbie: A Fairy Secret, Nathan in Pokémon, and Lola in Angelo Rules.

Michael Crouch is an Audie Award–winning actor based in New York City. His audiobook narration has earned nine Earphones Awards from AudioFile magazine and Best of the Year accolades from Booklist, School Library Journal, and Publishers Weekly. He can also be heard on national commercials, cartoons, video games, and the animé series Pokémon XY and Yu-Gi-Oh! Arc-V.