Extended Audio Sample

Download Quicksilver: Volume One of The Baroque Cycle Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Quicksilver: Volume One of The Baroque Cycle, by Neal Stephenson Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Neal Stephenson Narrator: Kevin Pariseau, Simon Preble, Simon Prebble, Stina Nielsen Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Baroque Cycle Release Date: November 2004 ISBN: 9780060798055
Regular Price: $46.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $28.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Quicksilver is the story of Daniel Waterhouse, fearless thinker and conflicted Puritan, pursuing knowledge in the company of the greatest minds of Baroque-era Europe, in a chaotic world where reason wars with the bloody ambitions of the mighty, and where catastrophe, natural or otherwise, can alter the political landscape overnight.

It is a chronicle of the breathtaking exploits of “Half-Cocked Jack” Shaftoe—London street urchin turned swashbuckling adventurer and legendary King of the Vagabonds—risking life and limb for fortune and love while slowly maddening from the pox.

And it is the tale of Eliza, rescued by Jack from a Turkish harem to become spy, confidante, and pawn of royals in order to reinvent Europe through the newborn power of finance.

A gloriously rich, entertaining, and endlessly inventive novel that brings a remarkable age and its momentous events to vivid life, Quicksilver is an extraordinary achievement from one of the most original and important literary talents of our time.

And it’s just the beginning.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “[Quicksilver] explores the philosophical concerns of today…through thrillingly clever, suspenseful and amusing plot twists.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Stephenson’s new machine is a wonderment to behold.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  • “Genius…You’ll wish it were longer.”


  • “Sprawling, irreverent, and ultimately profound.”


  • “An astonishing achievement.”

    Sunday Telegraph (London)

  • “A sprawling, engrossing tale.”

    Seattle Times

  • “Dense, witty, erudite…and gripping…a far more impressive literary endeavor than most so-called serious fiction.”

    Independent (London)

  • “Often brilliant and occasionally astonishing…[Quicksilver] has wit, ambition and ... moments of real genius.”

    Book World

  • “[Quicksilver] is a rare thing: a thousand-page book that you don’t want to end.”

    San Antonio Express-News

  • “An awe-inspiring book, stuffed with heart-stopping action scenes…and a treasure trove of forgotten historical lore.”


  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • Winner of the 2004 Arthur C. Clarke Award
  • A USA Today Bestseller
  • A 2003 Time Magazine Top 10 Book for Fiction
  • A 2004 Locus Award Nominee
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations