Partials Audiobook, by Dan Wells Play Audiobook Sample

Download Partials Audiobook

Partials Audiobook, by Dan Wells Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $21.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $31.99 Add to Cart
Author: Dan Wells Narrator: Julia Whelan Publisher: Balzer + Bray Audio Length: Series:The Partials Sequence Release Date: February 2012 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780062132741

Publisher Description

For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war's origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one's own point of view.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Wells has recombined familiar dystopian elements, added original ones and thrown in dashes of dry wit to create a sprawling, action-packed medical thriller full of big ideas and exciting reversals.”

    - Wall Street Journal
  • “Intriguing…Though long on historical description and political debates, readers who enjoy SF-oriented postapocalyptic stories will relish this one.”

    - Publishers Weekly
  • “Julia Whelan narrates well, showcasing the young medic’s determination to do anything to cure the virus, even risking her life to venture into enemy territory. This intense story is tempered by Whelan’s even reading. Her moderated tones embody Kira’s brace façade even as she makes decisions that could be humanity’s only hope of survival.”

    - AudioFile
  • “Readers will be swept along by the fast-paced action and surprising plot twists, and will eagerly away the sequel.”

    - School Library Journal
  • “The Long Island setting, along with the configuration of Kira’s struggling society, is fully realized, and the many twists and turns keeps readers intriguingly off-balance…Kira is a bold heroine with lofty goals, and readers will willingly follow her to the sequel, where things are sure to tilt again.”

    - Booklist
  • “[A] rollercoast plot…A dark, wild ride.”

    - Kirkus Reviews

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I have read several end of the world type books lately and this one was a good! Characters trying to do the right thing and the whole don't trust the government feelings are strong and warranted by what plays out. I will definitely read the other books in the series. "

    - Kevin, 2/2/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I really liked this futuristic sci-fi novel. I am looking forward to the rest of the story. Teens who take action when the government goes too far with laws that infringe on the rights of the people. Because of a virus, none of the babies survive yet the law is that all eligible women must be pregant as much as possible. They keep thinking that somehow, some child must survive. Kira is tired of all the deaths and sadness and wants to find a cure for the virus and save the human race. The government doesn't seem to want her to accomplish her goals. "

    - Nanci, 1/25/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Another dystopian book. After a slow start it turned out to be a book with an interesting premise. Most humans were destroyed by a virus after a war with 'partials' -- human-like robots created as a fighting force who eventually rebelled against humans. Can humanity survive? And are the Partials all evil? "

    - Alice, 1/18/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Loved it and really hope there is a sequel. "

    - Sherry, 1/6/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Interesting post apocalyptic view. Some of it was a little predictable, and I wonder about some of the rate of decay / decline, but still a good read. Will be checking out the next book in the series. "

    - David, 1/5/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " First visit blabbing books with a panda. I thought this was a supper good book, it blended sci-fi with a dystopian which I have not read yet. i like how there is no heavy romance which makes the book more realitic,because if the human race was going extinct and I wanted to save it, i wouldn't waste my whole time being in love with this guy. The story was told in third person, which was okay, but could of been better in first person. "

    - Kamara, 1/4/2014
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Really good can't wait for part 2 "

    - Natalie, 1/4/2014
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " I got about halfway through before abandoning ship. It was very slow moving. I just couldn't handle the lack of action anymore, so I gave up. "

    - Brenda, 11/5/2013
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " This booke was very enjoyable, but to me Dan Wells doesn't quite make it in terms of writing from a female point of view. "

    - Anthea, 10/24/2013
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Amazing. It engrossed me from beginning to end. I couldn't possibly have expected more. "

    - Daniella, 9/11/2013
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " I liked it except for the cliffhanger ending "

    - Yvonne, 7/10/2013
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " I liked everything but for some reason, it didn't draw me in the way I thought it would. I'll pick up the next in the series and see where it goes from there. "

    - Elle, 2/22/2013
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " GI Jane the Medic takes on the dystopia. Strong on detail but I only really got into the story in the third act--which was action-packed and great. I think I was bogged down a bit in the medical and military detail and wished there had been more character development. "

    - Colleen, 11/10/2012
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Started off slow but im so glad i stuck with it! "

    - Jerome, 10/29/2012
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Excellent book. Great post-apocalyptic sci-fi. "

    - Jason, 5/2/2012

About the Author

Dan Wells is the author of the Partials Sequence, as well as the John Cleaver series: I Am Not a Serial Killer, Mr. Monster, and I Don’t Want to Kill You. He has been nominated for both the Hugo and the Campbell Award and has won two Parsec Awards for his podcast, Writing Excuses. He plays a lot of games, reads a lot of books, and eats a lot of food, which is pretty much the ideal life he imagined for himself as a child.

About the Narrator

Julia Whelan is a novelist, screenwriter, lifelong actor, and multiple award-winning audiobook narrator. She graduated with a degree in English and creative writing from Middlebury College and Oxford University. She is a former child actor who has appeared in multiple films and television shows.