Extended Audio Sample

Download Our Dumb World: The Onion's Atlas of The Planet Earth, 73rd Edition Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Our Dumb World: The Onions Atlas of The Planet Earth, 73rd Edition, by The Onion Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: The Onion Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.98 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

In order to understand the news, a context of world geography and history is essential. That is why The Onion is publishing a world atlas: to help us. News that now makes no sense will now make sense. Thus begins a new age of enlightenment.

Our Dumb World contains, among other things:

  • News and historic facts from other nations
  • Historic timelines for countries
  • Rejected flag designs
  • The earth broken down and described, from its molten core to the outermost sphere, and the location of heaven
  • Demographic, economic and other -ic data about each country’s people, industries, and habits

Every country will be categorized in a number of ways, including:

  • Ethnic cleanliness
  • Level of Bono activity
  • Prop comedians per 1,000 live birds
  • Yearly income in wide-screen televisions
  • The Monkeys they got
  • Where it sees itself in five years
  • Color boxes for average skin color
  • Chart listing benefits of invading said country
  • Most annoying handicrafts

Our Dumb World is the first original Onion audiobook in eight years—a gut-busting send-up in which no nation escapes unscathed.

Download and start listening now!

aalc

Quotes & Awards

  • “The best parody since the National Lampoon published its phony newspaper, the Dacron Republican-Democrat, in 1978…It is skewed, buffoonish, raging, mocking, and often ridiculous. It is not factual, fair, or balanced. It just rings true.”

    Daily Beast

  • “Raises the bar for topical humor…Known for their savage, irreverent newspaper parody, the Onion staff delight in playing up stereotypes and skewering perceptions, and they have picked an enormous playground in which to do so; this skewed world atlas complies enough fictional facts to tickle—and probably offend—just about everyone…Eminently browsable and compulsively rereadable, this is an essential book for fans of Stewart, Colbert, and (of course) the Onion.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Cheekily deflates the egos and efforts of every land on earth in a mock-educational melee of geopolitical and cultural hatchet-jobbery…The Onion will bring tears to most listeners’ eyes with this offering.”

    AudioFile

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A USA Today Bestseller
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Every week, three million readers turn to the world’s most popular news organization for a much-needed dose of Onion news and entertainment coverage. In a history spanning fifteen years, six popular books, and ten Webby Awards, The Onion has attracted legions of loyal fans drawn to its fearless reporting and scathing commentary on world events, human behavior, and journalistic convention.