Extended Audio Sample

Download Optimists Die First Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Optimists Die First, by Susin Nielsen Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Susin Nielsen Narrator: Julia Whelan Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2017 ISBN: 9781524723033
Regular Price: $18.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider’s Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern’s Say What You Will.

Beware: Life ahead.

Sixteen-year-old Petula de Wilde is anything but wild. A former crafting fiend with a happy life, Petula shut herself off from the world after a family tragedy. She sees danger in all the ordinary things, like crossing the street, a bug bite, or a germy handshake. She knows: life is out to get you.

The worst part of her week is her comically lame mandatory art therapy class with a small group of fellow misfits. Then a new boy, Jacob, appears at school and in her therapy group. He seems so normal and confident, though he has a prosthetic arm; and soon he teams up with Petula on a hilarious project, gradually inspiring her to let go of some of her fears. But as the two grow closer, a hidden truth behind why he’s in the group could derail them, unless Petula takes a huge risk.

Download and start listening now!

c273

Quotes & Awards

  • “Narrator Julia Whelan expresses this YA heroine’s sardonic tone so well that sixteen-year-old Petula risks becoming an unlikable character. Thankfully, Whelan is also expert at conveying the story’s witty tone, Petula’s fragility, and the chemistry she has with Jacob…Whelan also portrays minor characters’ unique traits, preventing them from being flat characters who merely represent issues…Whelan balances grief and heartbreak with humor and hope. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • Grief and guilt permeate Nielsen’s (We Are All Made of Molecules) empathic and deeply moving story, balanced by sharply funny narration and dialogue. Publishers Weekly, starred review
  • Another lovely outing from Nielsen. Kirkus, starred review
  • Nielsen excels at depicting troubled, clever teenagers in familiar environments. School Library Journal, starred review
  • Heartbreaking and hopeful, this is a solid choice for readers looking for a book to make them cry and laugh at the same time. Starred Review, Booklist
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations