Extended Audio Sample

Download One Man’s Meat Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample One Man’s Meat Audiobook, by E. B. White Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: E. B. White Narrator: Malcolm Hillgartner Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2016 ISBN: 9781504723626
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $10.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In print for over fifty years, One Man’s Meat continues to delight readers with E. B. White’s witty, succinct observations on daily life at a Maine saltwater farm.

Too personal for an almanac, too sophisticated for a domestic history, and too funny and self-doubting for a literary journal, One Man’s Meat can best be described as a primer of a countryman’s lessons and a timeless recounting of experience that will never go out of style.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Imagine narrator Malcolm Hillgartner sitting by a fire, pipe in hand and dogs at his feet, addressing a ‘gentle reader.’ There’s a quaintness to this audio collection from the late E. B. White…Hillgartner chose wisely: A fast-paced, contemporized narration would have undermined the writing…[in this] authentically preserved time capsule.”


  • “Modest in its size and presumptions, engaging in tone.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Great writing like White’s is timeless—a description that also fits Maine.”

    Maine Sunday Telegram

  • “This remarkable body of writing stands today, after half a century, as one of the greatest books ever written.”


  • “It is a lively record of an active inquiring mind, whose sense of the ridiculous in no way impairs his appreciation of the life he lives and the people he knows…Half-farmer, half literary—he contemplates the world around him.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

E. B. White (1899–1985) was an American author and long-time contributor to the New Yorker. He was the author of more than seventeen books of prose and poetry and coauthor of the English language style guide The Elements of Style but is especially well-known for his beloved children’s classics, Charlotte’s Web, Stuart Little, and The Trumpet of the Swan. He was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1973. He won numerous other awards and medals, including a special Pulitzer Prize for his body of work in 1978 and the 1971 National Medal for Literature and the Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal, which commended him for making “a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.”

About the Narrator

Malcolm Hillgartner is an accomplished actor, writer, and musician. Named an AudioFile Best Voice of 2013 and the recipient of several Earphones Awards, he has narrated over 175 audiobooks.