Extended Audio Sample

Download Once a Spy: A Novel Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Once a Spy: A Novel (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Keith Thomson
3.59 out of 53.59 out of 53.59 out of 53.59 out of 53.59 out of 5 3.59 (29 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Keith Thomson Narrator: Danny Campbell Publisher: Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2010 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Drummond Clark was once a spy of legendary proportions. Now Alzheimer's disease has taken its toll and he's just a confused old man who's wandered away from home, waiting for his son to fetch him.

When Charlie Clark takes a break from his latest losing streak at the track to bring Drummond back to his Brooklyn home, they find it blown sky high - and then bullets start flying in every direction. At first, Charlie thinks his Russian creditors are employing aggressive collection tactics. But once Drummond effortlessly hot-wires a car as their escape vehicle, Charlie begins to suspect there's much more to his father than meets the eye.

He soon discovers that Drummonds unremarkable career as an appliance salesman was actually a clever cover for an elaborate plan to sell would-be terrorists faulty nuclear detonators. Drummond's intricate knowledge of the device is extremely dangerous information to have rattling around in an Alzheimer's-addled brain. The CIA wants to contain him - and so do some other shady characters who send Charlie and Drummond on a wild chase that gives father-and-son quality time a whole new meaning.

With Once a Spy, Keith Thomson makes his debut on the thriller stage with energy, wit, and style to spare.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RAND_002226

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Anthony Bidulka | 2/13/2014

    " If this wasn't written to be optioned for a film starring Harrison Ford and Bradley Cooper I'll eat my hat. Very interesting premise which I won't reveal as it would spoil the surprise. It ke[pt me going despite the too many pages of car chases and gun fights which I find better to watch than to read. Otherwise well written and some unique clever twists, in addition to the usual action movie blockbuster stuff. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary Juno | 2/8/2014

    " a very different spy novel-charaacter driven. I liked the sequel, Twice a Spy, much better, less action more meat. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cherie | 1/31/2014

    " An aging spy, once at the top of his game, is now suffering from early onset Alzheimer's and is considered a security risk by those he used to work for. I found this to be a very novel idea. Because the author treated the entire story with humor, it was very different from the usual "spy" genre. Some of the events seemed very far-fetched, but they just added to the humor of the book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Doreen | 1/29/2014

    " loved this tongue in cheek "over the hill" retired spy. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joanne | 1/26/2014

    " This book is a hoot about a senior spook and his adult son. Beware, people start dropping like flies only 30 pages into the story leaving a trail of explosions, torture, escaping feats of wonder, and dead bodies knee deep. But, you will actually laugh while enjoying this romp. Mr. Thomson not only knows something about sleuthing and writing, he knows something about Alzheimer's disease. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laura | 1/25/2014

    " What happens when a former spy retires, developes alzheimers and his mental confusion causes risks to national security? That is the idea behind this well written novel of intrigue. Thomson's main characters are well drawn and appealing. The story moves along quickly and the plot contains plenty of suspense. I am looking forward to reading the sequel and I am told that Once a Spy is being made into a movie. THis book is a must for fans of Daniel Silva and David Baldacci. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sue | 1/10/2014

    " This was a fun book to read, very exciting and fast paced. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ryan Scott | 11/29/2013

    " A really nice spin on the espionage/thriller genre which is already a favorite of mine when done well. Looking forward to diving into the second book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christian | 11/14/2013

    " A very interesting debut novel of Mr. Thomson. Inventing the Alzheimer patient Drummond Clarke who used to be a high ranking spy, gives the whole story a refreshing twist. The preview of the next book "Twice a spy" indicates a sequel, although I'm not sure that it will have the same freshness to it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joyce McKune | 3/14/2013

    " Charles estranged father has Alzheimer's and admits to being an undercover spy. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Melissa | 8/13/2012

    " Eh...The idea was good, it just didn't have "it". "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jim Naughton | 7/9/2012

    " What a wonderful surprise. I had ni expectation this would be the pulse-pounding read it was. It's not so much an espionage novel as a chase tale, and the chase seem unending but Charlie and his Alzheimer's-afflicted dad keep coming up with inventive escapes. Fun. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Karen | 5/28/2012

    " Delightful story blending espionage, addiction to gambling, dementia, and humor. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kellie | 5/23/2012

    " I loved this book. It was so much fun. An old spy who now has Alzheimers teams up with his son for a good adventure... it was great. Language warning. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Steve | 4/30/2012

    " What if a super spy retires and gets Alzheimer, but still occasionally has moments of crisp lucidity that enables him to get himself and his horse-betting son out moments of extreme spy-on-spy danger? That is the premise of this light, fun read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jolynne | 1/25/2012

    " Fun concept - spy turned alzheimer's patient. He doesn't remember much and has bouts with lucidity, but always comes through with his "spy" techniques. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Susan | 1/25/2012

    " A spy thriller with a twist I actually haven't seen. That alone gives it an extra 1/2 star. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 David Gloer | 12/31/2011

    " Wow. This was really good, the characters were well developed and it didn't take long for me to care what happened to them. It was non-stop action from beginning to end. I'm going to be looking for more books by this author. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Denise Powell | 10/22/2011

    " So great! I couldn't put it down... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dad | 8/3/2011

    " All the high tech weapons and gadgets, plus the spy talk made things too unbelievable. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michael | 7/10/2011

    " Fun, entertaining spy book. A mindless read that is good for reading on vacation or at work when you just need to escape for a while. The story revolves around a former spy with Alzheimer's and his son as thy try to get away from the bad guys. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tammie | 5/6/2011

    " Loved it! While the story was a bit improbably, I found it entertaining. Quick read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kellie | 4/29/2011

    " I loved this book. It was so much fun. An old spy who now has Alzheimers teams up with his son for a good adventure... it was great. Language warning. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 John | 4/24/2011

    " Did not get into this book. Did not finish. Found it silly and a waste of time. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Heather | 4/15/2011

    " Boring, even with all the action happening. I just could not get excited about the story or the writing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lisa | 4/9/2011

    " I really loved this as an alternative to all of the historical fiction I read. Fast-paced, lots of action and conspiracies, totally exciting. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jim | 3/22/2011

    " What a wonderful surprise. I had ni expectation this would be the pulse-pounding read it was. It's not so much an espionage novel as a chase tale, and the chase seem unending but Charlie and his Alzheimer's-afflicted dad keep coming up with inventive escapes. Fun. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tara Lynn | 3/16/2011

    " A pretty good spy novel, with a twist- Drummond has Alzheimer's disease... and his grown son who wasn't aware of his double life gets pulled into the intrigue. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Melanie | 3/15/2011

    " This book was really a lot of fun. The concept was a very good one, and the writing was strong enough to carry it. Thoroughly enjoyable. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
KEITH THOMSON is a former semipro baseball player in France, an editorial cartoonist for Newsday, a filmmaker with a short film shown at Sundance, and a screenwriter who currently lives in Alabama. He writes on intelligence and other matters for the Huffington Post.
About the Narrator

Danny Campbell is an actor who has appeared in CBS’ The Guardian, the films A Pool, a Fool, and a Duel and Greater Than Gravity, and in over twenty-five commercials. Winner of two AudioFile Earphones Awards, he has narrated Once a Spy by Keith Thomson and read the part of David Foster Wallace in Mike Lipsky’s Although of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself, among many others. He is a member of the adjunct faculty in the theater arts department at Santa Monica College.