Extended Audio Sample

Download Once A Spy: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Once A Spy: A Novel, by Keith Thomson Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (591 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Keith Thomson Narrator: Danny Campbell Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $15.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Drummond Clark was once a spy of legendary proportions.  Now Alzheimer’s disease has taken its toll and he’s just a confused old man who’s wandered away from home, waiting for his son to fetch him. 
 
When Charlie Clark takes a break from his latest losing streak at the track to bring Drummond back to his Brooklyn home, they find it blown sky high—and then bullets start flying in every direction.  At first, Charlie thinks his Russian “creditors” are employing aggressive collection tactics.  But once Drummond effortlessly hot-wires a car as their escape vehicle, Charlie begins to suspect there’s much more to his father than meets the eye.  He soon discovers that Drummond’s unremarkable career as an appliance salesman was actually a clever cover for an elaborate plan to sell would-be terrorists faulty nuclear detonators.  Drummond’s intricate knowledge of the “device” is extremely dangerous information to have rattling around in an Alzheimer’s-addled brain.  The CIA wants to “contain” him--and so do some other shady characters who send Charlie and Drummond on a wild chase that gives  “father and son quality time” a whole new meaning.
 
With Once a Spy, Keith Thomson makes his debut on the thriller stage with energy, wit, and style to spare.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RAND_002197

Quotes & Awards

  • A 2011 Dilys Award Nominee
  • A 2011 Barry Award Nominee for Best First Novel

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Laura | 2/13/2014

    " What happens when a former spy retires, developes alzheimers and his mental confusion causes risks to national security? That is the idea behind this well written novel of intrigue. Thomson's main characters are well drawn and appealing. The story moves along quickly and the plot contains plenty of suspense. I am looking forward to reading the sequel and I am told that Once a Spy is being made into a movie. THis book is a must for fans of Daniel Silva and David Baldacci. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Alisa | 2/11/2014

    " Being a fan of "spy" type things, this book was a fun read. The best part of it was how Charlie connects with his infamous spy dad for the first time in his life. This connection happens as they get chased all over from good guys and bad guys, and though his dad is suffering with Alzheimers, manages to be lucid to do incredible get aways and secret hiding places, and save Charlie's life a time or two. Charlie comes into his life as a spy as well. Though some of the scenes are overly not believable, still an enjoyable book. Reminded me of my favorite TV show Alias in many ways. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Renee | 2/11/2014

    " It's fresh, original and a fun book to read. The main character is a once brilliant, 64 year old spy suffering through the onset of Alzheimers. His passing in and out of lucidity and his relationship with his son weave a some times warm, some times humerous and some times dead serious tale capable of holding a reader's interest. The chapters are short adding to the fast pace of the book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Michael | 1/28/2014

    " Fun, entertaining spy book. A mindless read that is good for reading on vacation or at work when you just need to escape for a while. The story revolves around a former spy with Alzheimer's and his son as thy try to get away from the bad guys. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations