Download Memories of My Melancholy Whores Audiobook

Memories of My Melancholy Whores Audiobook, by Gabriel García Márquez Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Gabriel García Márquez Narrator: Thom Rivera Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: October 2013 ISBN: 9781483086842
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

On the eve of his ninetieth birthday, a bachelor decides to give himself a wild night of love with a virgin. As is his habit—he has purchased hundreds of women—he asks a madam for her assistance. The fourteen-year-old girl who is procured for him is enchanting, but exhausted as she is from caring for siblings and her job sewing buttons, she can do little but sleep. Yet with this sleeping beauty at his side, it is he who awakens to a romance he has never known.

Tender, knowing, and slyly comic, Memories of My Melancholy Whores is an exquisite addition to a master’s work.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “García Márquez…has composed, with his usual sensual gravity and Olympian humor, a love letter to the dying light.”

    John Updike

  • “Luminous…The cunning of Memories of My Melancholy Whores lies in the utter—and utterly unexpected—reliability of its narrator.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Profoundly haunting…Fiction of the very highest order.”

    Times Literary Supplement

  • “Masterful. Erotic. As hypnotizing as it is disturbing.”

    Los Angeles Times

  • “Unforgettable…Classic García Márquez.”

    Washington Post

  • “For heaven’s sake read it. It is as accomplished a piece of storytelling as you are likely to find on the shelves today.”

    Chicago Tribune

  • “The Colombian master storyteller’s latest novel is grounded in the steamy atmosphere and gamey politics of his native country; at the same time, in the universality of its theme, it transcends the peculiar traits of his bougainvillea-filled homeland. Composed with the metaphorical lyricism of a parable but without that narrative form’s usual moralizing intent, García Marquez’s novel briefly but piquantly captures a single year toward the end of a long string of years in the life of a nonagenarian…García Marquez’s beautiful, poignant story both avoids sentimentality and escapes salaciousness.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Flashes of García Márquez’s brilliant imagery…illuminate the novella, and there are striking insights into the euphoria that is the flip side of the fear of death.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • Winner of the 2005 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Fiction
  • A 2005 New York Times Book Review Notable Book

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Gabriel García Márquez (1927–2014) was an author, journalist, and pioneer of the Latin American boom. Among his many books are The Autumn of the Patriarch, No One Writes to the Colonel, Love in the Time of Cholera, Living to Tell the Tale, Memories of My Melancholy Whores, and of course the classic One Hundred Years of Solitude. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982.

About the Narrator

Gore Vidal (1925–2012) has received the National Book Award, written numerous novels, short stories, plays, and essays. He has been a political activist and as Democratic candidate for Congress from upstate New York, he received the most votes of any Democrat in a half-century.