Download No One Writes to the Colonel, and Other Stories Audiobook

No One Writes to the Colonel, and Other Stories Audiobook, by Gabriel García Márquez Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Gabriel García Márquez Narrator: Armando Durán, Roxanne Hernandez, Marcelo Tubert, Thom Rivera Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: November 2013 ISBN: 9781483086828
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From the Nobel Prize–winning author of One Hundred Years of Solitude, a series of short stories told in “spare, unpretentious…picturesque prose” (Library Journal)

Written with compassionate realism and wit, the stories in this mesmerizing collection depict the disparities of town and village life in South America, of the frightfully poor and outrageously rich, of memories and illusions, and of lost opportunities and present joys. Stories include “No One Writes to the Colonel,” “Tuesday Siesta,” “One of These Days,” “There Are No Thieves in This Town,” “Balthazar’s Marvelous Afternoon,” “Montiel’s Widow,” “One Day after Saturday,” “Artificial Roses,” and “Big Mama’s Funeral.”

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A rare combination of grace and vibrancy. Every scene, every gesture, sings life and denies death…He is an absolute master.”

    New York Times

  • “García Márquez creates an absolute jewel of a novella in No One Writes to the Colonel, a story that evokes the entire range of human emotions from misplaced hope to blackest cynicism.”

  • “García Márquez’s style is direct and matter-of-fact; in attitude, he accepts these characters with the same inevitability as they accept the heat and the rain.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “[These stories] are told in spare, unpretentious, but picturesque prose, compassionate of human frailty but also rich in wit and irony. The characters are all too human, alternately humorous and tragic.”

    Library Journal

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Gabriel García Márquez (1927–2014) was an author, journalist, and pioneer of the Latin American boom. Among his many books are The Autumn of the Patriarch, No One Writes to the Colonel, Love in the Time of Cholera, Living to Tell the Tale, Memories of My Melancholy Whores, and of course the classic One Hundred Years of Solitude. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982.

About the Narrators

Armando Durán has appeared in films, television, and regional theaters throughout the West Coast. For the last decade he has been a member of the resident acting company at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. In 2009 he was named by AudioFile as Best Voice in Biography and History for his narration of Che Guevara. A native Californian, he divides his time between Los Angeles and Ashland, Oregon.

Roxanne Hernandez is an audio narrator and a top narrator choice for young adult, adult drama, and Latin American/Chicano literature. She was a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration in 2011.

Marcelo Tubert, an incredibly versatile actor, is known for his ability to change character and dialect, in both comedy and drama, with ease. His four decades career includes work in all mediums. Born in Argentina, Marcelo moved with his family to Southern California at the age of seven. A devoted family man, Marcelo and his wife Lori, a writer/director/producer, have two daughters, Emily and Sarah. Marcelo’s passions include fly fishing and cooking, which he shares with his daughters.