Little: A Novel Audiobook, by Edward Carey Play Audiobook Sample

Download Little: A Novel Audiobook

Little: A Novel Audiobook, by Edward Carey Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
Author: Edward Carey Narrator: Jayne Entwistle Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio Length: Release Date: October 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780525640639

Publisher Description

"An amazing achievement...A compulsively readable novel, so canny and weird and surfeited with the reality of human capacity and ingenuity that I am stymied for comparison. Dickens and David Lynch? Defoe meets Margaret Atwood? Judge for yourself." --Gregory Maguire, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked



The wry, macabre, unforgettable tale of an ambitious orphan in Revolutionary Paris, befriended by royalty and radicals, who transforms herself into the legendary Madame Tussaud.


In 1761, a tiny, odd-looking girl named Marie is born in a village in Switzerland. After the death of her parents, she is apprenticed to an eccentric wax sculptor and whisked off to the seamy streets of Paris, where they meet a domineering widow and her quiet, pale son. Together, they convert an abandoned monkey house into an exhibition hall for wax heads, and the spectacle becomes a sensation. As word of her artistic talent spreads, Marie is called to Versailles, where she tutors a princess and saves Marie Antoinette in childbirth. But outside the palace walls, Paris is roiling: The revolutionary mob is demanding heads, and . . . at the wax museum, heads are what they do.

In the tradition of Gregory Maguire's Wicked and Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Edward Carey's Little is a darkly endearing cavalcade of a novel--a story of art, class, determination, and how we hold on to what we love.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Wonderfully empathetic and stirring…Conjures up a tumultuous world you’ll be sorry to leave.”

    - People
  • “A delightfully strange portrait of a young orphan honing her eccentric craft amid the tumult of the French Revolution…Between vibrant characters and riveting historical detail, Little is a novel that teems with life.”

    - Time
  • “Thanks to Edward Carey’s gift for celebrating the bizarre, Madame Tussaud’s story is at last in the right hands.”

    - Dallas Morning News
  • “[A] marvelous, weird, and vividly imagined new novel.”

    - Boston Globe

Awards

  • A BookPage Top Pick of the Month
  • An Entertainment Weekly “Must Read”
  • A London Times Pick of the Month

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Edward Carey is a novelist, visual artist, and playwright. His acclaimed YA series, the Iremonger Trilogy, won accolades for Best Books of the Year from the New York Times, NPR, and Kirkus Reviews. He is also the author of two adult novels, Observatory Mansions and Alva & Irva. He teaches at the University of Texas in Austin.

About the Narrator

Jayne Entwistle is a voice talent and Earphones Award–winning narrator.