Like a Sister Audiobook, by Kellye Garrett Play Audiobook Sample

Like a Sister Audiobook

Like a Sister Audiobook, by Kellye Garrett Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $27.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Bahni Turpin Publisher: Mulholland Books Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 7.83 hours at 1.5x Speed 5.88 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: March 2022 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781549164637

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

42

Longest Chapter Length:

31:42 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

10 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

16:48 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

2

Other Audiobooks Written by Kellye Garrett: > View All...

Publisher Description

A twisty, voice-driven thriller for fans of Megan Miranda and Jessica Knoll, in which no one bats an eye when a Black reality TV star is found dead in the Bronx—except her estranged half-sister, whose refusal to believe the official story leads her on a dangerous search for the truth.

When the body of disgraced reality TV star Desiree Pierce is found on a playground in the Bronx the morning after her 25th birthday party, the police and the media are quick to declare her death an overdose. It’s a tragedy, certainly, but not a crime.

But Desiree’s half-sister Lena Scott knows that can’t be the case. A graduate student at Columbia, Lena has spent the past decade forging her own path far from the spotlight, but some facts about Desiree just couldn’t have changed since their childhood. And Desiree would never travel above 125th Street. So why is no one listening to her?

Despite the bitter truth that the two haven’t spoken in two years, torn apart by Desiree’s partying and by their father, Mel, a wealthy and influential hip-hop mogul, Lena becomes determined to find justice for her sister, even if it means untangling her family’s darkest secrets—or ending up dead herself.

Download and start listening now!

“Dishes up the glitz of the haves and the struggles of the have-nots, infusing classic noir storytelling with Big Apple glamour…[a] pageturner.” 

— Oprah Daily 

Quotes

  • “A briskly plotted, socially astute thriller.”

    — Los Angeles Times
  • “Noir for the media-struck generation…Original and witty.”

    — NPR
  • “Insightful, briskly plotted…Garrett explores racism and sexism with aplomb.”

    — Publishes Weekly (starred review)
  • “A twisty murder mystery with nuance and heart.”

    — BookPage

Awards

  • A South Florida Sun Sentinel Pick of Best Mysteries of 2022
  • A CrimeReads Pick of Best Thrillers of 2022
  • A Today Show Pick of Best Books of Spring
  • A Book-of-the-Month Club Selection

Like a Sister Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Kellye Garrett

Kellye Garrett is the author of several books including Hollywood Homicide, which won the Agatha, Anthony, Lefty, and Independent Publisher “IPPY” awards for best first novel and was named one of BookBub’s Top 100 Crime Novels of All Time. Hollywood Ending was nominated for both Anthony and Lefty awards. Prior to writing novels, she spent eight years working in Hollywood, including a stint writing for Cold Case. She is a New Jersey native, a co-founder of Crime Writers of Color, and a former board member of Sisters in Crime.

About Bahni Turpin

Bahni Turpin, winner of numerous AudioFile Earphones Awards and several prestigious Audie Awards for her narrations, was named a “Golden Voice” by AudioFile magazine in 2019. Publishers Weekly magazine named her Narrator of the Year for 2016. She is an ensemble member of the Cornerstone Theater Company in Los Angeles. She has guest starred in many television series, including NYPD Blue, Law & Order, Six Feet Under, Cold Case, What about Brian, and The Comeback. Film credits include Brokedown Palace, Crossroads, and Daughters of the Dust. She is also a member of the recording cast of The Help, which won numerous awards.