Download Let’s Get Lost: A Matthew Scudder Story Audiobook

Let’s Get Lost: A Matthew Scudder Story Audiobook, by Lawrence Block Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Lawrence Block Narrator: Lawrence Block Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Series: The Matthew Scudder Series Release Date: May 2017 ISBN: 9781620643426
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $12.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $9.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Lawrence Block’s seventeen Matthew Scudder novels have won the hearts of readers throughout the world—along with a bevy of awards including the Edgar, the Shamus, the Philip Marlowe, and the Maltese Falcon. But Scudder has starred in short fiction as well, and here’s one example.

Matthew Scudder reminisces of his uniformed days and of the night he bent the law to help some “friends of a friend.” When a friendly game of poker turns deadly, Scudder is called upon to solve the murder—and hide the body.

“Let’s Get Lost” is included in the collection of Matthew Scudder short stories, The Night and the Music.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “I began writing about Matthew Scudder in the mid-1970s…Over the years Scudder has also been featured in eleven short works of fiction; “Let’s Get Lost,” which first appeared in Elery Queen Mystery Magazine in 2000, is one of them. Short stories have provided me with the opportunity for a glance back at Scudder’s life before the first of the novels, when he was a working member of the NYPD. “Let’s Get Lost” is set at a time when he had his detective’s gold shield and after he’d begun keeping company with Elaine Mardell, while still living in Syosset with his wife, Anita. It concerns a friendly poker game that doesn’t stay friendly and the artful cover-up of a cover-up. And Chet Baker’s music, referenced in the title, sets the story’s tone.”

    Lawrence Block

  • “A quicker, more enjoyable read you won’t find. Veteran Scudder fans will rejoice at sharing his adventures again. May Block—and Scudder—never retire.”

    Library Journal, praise for the collected short stories

  • “[These Matthew Scudder short] stories could serve as either a companion to the books, if you’ve read them, or an introduction to the characters if you have not.”

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Lawrence Block is the recipient of a Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America and a New York Times bestselling author. His prolific career spans over one hundred books, including four bestselling series and dozens of short stories and articles. He has won multiple Edgar and Shamus awards, two Falcon Awards from the Maltese Falcon Society of Japan, the Nero and Philip Marlowe Awards, the Cartier Diamond Dagger from the Crime Writers Association of America, and many others. Aside from being a mystery writer, he has also written a number of episodes for television, including two episodes of the ESPN series Tilt; he also cowrote the screenplay for the film My Blueberry Nights, starring Norah Jones. Block currently lives in New York City with his wife, Lynne.