Extended Audio Sample

Download I Am Ozzy Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample I Am Ozzy Audiobook, by Ozzy Osbourne Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.06 out of 54.06 out of 54.06 out of 54.06 out of 54.06 out of 5 4.06 (32 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ozzy Osbourne Narrator: Frank Skinner Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2010 ISBN: 9781607883692
Regular Price: $16.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

“They’ve said some crazy things about me over the years. I mean, okay: ‘He bit the head off a bat.’ Yes. ‘He bit the head off a dove.’ Yes. But then you hear things like, ‘Ozzy went to the show last night, but he wouldn’t perform until he’d killed fifteen puppies.’ Now me, kill fifteen puppies? I love puppies. I’ve got eighteen of the f***ing things at home. I’ve killed a few cows in my time, mind you. And the chickens. I shot the chickens in my house that night.

It haunts me, all this crazy stuff. Every day of my life has been an event. I took lethal combinations of booze and drugs for thirty f***ing years. I survived a direct hit by a plane, suicidal overdoses, STDs. I’ve been accused of attempted murder. Then I almost died while riding over a bump on a quad bike at f***ing two miles per hour.

People ask me how come I’m still alive, and I don’t know what to say. When I was growing up, if you’d have put me up against a wall with the other kids from my street and asked me which one of us was gonna make it to the age of sixty, which one of us would end up with five kids and four grandkids and houses in Buckinghamshire and Beverly Hills, I wouldn’t have put money on me, no f***ing way. But here I am: ready to tell my story, in my own words, for the first time.

A lot of it ain’t gonna be pretty. I’ve done some bad things in my time. I’ve always been drawn to the dark side, me. But I ain’t the devil. I’m just John Osbourne: a working-class kid from Aston, who quit his job in the factory and went looking for a good time.”

Frank, fearless, and very funny, I Am Ozzy is a fascinating autobiography in which Ozzy comes clean—in all senses.

Download and start listening now!

aahe

Quotes & Awards

  • Frank Skinner delivers a perfect performance of Osbourne's memoir of his long and colorful career-from his humble beginnings to his days fronting Black Sabbath and rise as a successful solo artist...A must for fans of Black Sabbath, Ozzy Osbourne, and the rock 'n' roll memoir; highly memorable and recommended. Publishers Weekly
  • “A must for fans of Black Sabbath, Ozzy Osbourne, and the rock 'n' roll memoir.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Gritty and raunchy…side-splittingly funny…entertaining…as over-the-top as the author himself.”

    Associated Press

  • “ Hilarious and raucous…well worth the wait…The charm of reading I am Ozzy is that the language is beautifully Ozzy and you can hear his voice as clear as a bell in your head.”

    Houston Press

  • New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tim Goral | 2/12/2014

    " A surprisingly enjoyable book. This isn't your typical overwrought celebrity autobiography. Because it retains his working class Brummie dialect and euphemisms, the result is more like sitting in a room with Ozzy and listening to him tell stories from his past. And boy does he have stories. But through it all Ozzy is humble (and sometimes dumfounded) about his successes and remarkably honest about his failures, including his many addictions. I recommend this book even if you aren't a fan of his music. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ana | 2/11/2014

    " loved it! loved it! loved it! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rachel | 2/1/2014

    " Ozzy is crazy! But not as crazy as I thought. Very entertaining book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kelly J | 1/20/2014

    " Hilarious and thought provoking,a very good read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sandie | 1/14/2014

    " Great book considering it was going to be a lot of what Sharon wrote in her book, but not even close. I found it very interesting. All about his life from childhood to now. If you like autobios. by the actual person as I do this is a must read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Christin MalvegÃ¥rd | 1/13/2014

    " Not as good as Dirt or the Johnny Cash biography. You can clearly tell a lot is a blur for Ozzy.... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shoe | 1/13/2014

    " Great, funny read. Enjoyable "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Garry Le Maistre | 1/12/2014

    " If you are an Ozzy or Black Sabbath fan you have to read this week. I just don't know how he is still alive! What a legend! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Johann Oosthuizen | 12/31/2013

    " Great read! Old Rockers Never Die! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rhonda | 12/9/2013

    " Ozzy is more my mom and dad's generation of rocker, but I remember enjoying The Osbournes on MTV a great deal, so I picked up this light read at the library. It was a real hoot-- Ozzy is a FUNNY bloke, and his stories are priceless. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sandy Anderson | 11/1/2013

    " Entertaining and amazing that dude made it through alive! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Blake | 9/11/2013

    " Friggin rock and roll!!! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Jonestw4 | 3/26/2013

    " A nice attempt to get the wrestling crowd to read a book -- Ozzy uses the 'F' word as much as 'the'. But contrary to his effort to portray himself as "The dark angel," he comes across more accurately as "The transparent dumb-ass." "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Vladimira Zhivkova | 2/25/2013

    " One of the craziest and most talanted musicians of our time. I will forever admire Ozzy for both being out of his mind and entertaining me like no other and also making some of the fines, most incredible music i know. I read the book over 2 yeas ago and i still remember it very well. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Em Elle | 2/10/2013

    " I don't really know why I read this book because I am not a fan of Ozzy Osbourne. It was okay - a quick read filled with crazy stories. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Franny Burd | 11/30/2012

    " Hilarious. Absolutely, laugh-out-loud freaking HILARIOUS. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jude | 10/13/2012

    " A great ride! Anyone who watched "The Osbournes" will love this book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Parwiz Ahmadi | 10/1/2011

    " What can I write about this book...bollocks, I can't remember wtf I read "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Brianna | 9/25/2011

    " Very interesting book. There is a lot of foul language but Ozzy does provide entertaining stories. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lisa Bennett | 9/7/2011

    " Brilliant, really interesting and funny. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sandra Ramirez | 9/5/2011

    " So hilarious. Such an entertaining read! Puts you in such a good mood. I highly recommend it even if you are not a fan! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tricia | 6/11/2011

    " I really enjoyed this book.. I laughed out loud a bunch of times.. what a great read.. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Troy | 5/9/2011

    " Highly amusing. Was never a big fan of the Oz Man before, but I am now converted. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Glyn | 4/23/2011

    " Laugh out loud funny, but with enough introspection and soul searching from Ozzy to make it tragic as well. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rhianon | 4/10/2011

    " My dad got this book for Christmas, and I just knew I would have to borrow it! This book was pretty funny, but his life had some sad moments in it as well. Ozzy is quite the character and he definitely led the rock n roll life. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ryan | 4/10/2011

    " How is this man still alive? And doctors tell him his liver, heart and brain are in great shape. I would love to have his constitution. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Christin | 4/9/2011

    " Not as good as Dirt or the Johnny Cash biography. You can clearly tell a lot is a blur for Ozzy.... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tammy | 4/8/2011

    " Ozzy is a legend. Good for him, making out good after a shaky start in life. The first book I have ever read where I laughed out loud! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 C. William | 4/5/2011

    " This was an interesting read. Filled in a few blanks from what I already knew. Lotta talk about drug use and getting drunk which while it isn't surprising it took up a lot space meant for actual interesting content I think.

    Truly amazing Ozzy is still alive. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Julie | 3/30/2011

    " This was such a good book, I laughed, and I cried..loved it!! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lizzie | 3/26/2011

    " I don't have any idea why I picked it up, but it was actually, thoroughly readable and I enjoyed it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Uwdave | 3/8/2011

    " Absolutely brilliant. Every word is gold. Rarely does a book make me laugh out loud but this one did. The man lead an amazing and interesting life and I'm surprised he remembers any of it. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Ozzy OsbourneOzzy Osbourne was born in Aston, Birmingham, in 1948. He has sold over a hundred million records both with Black Sabbath and as an award-winning solo artist. He has five children and lives with his wife, Sharon, in California and Buckinghamshire.
About the Narrator

Frank Skinner is a British actor and comedian. Having performed his first stand-up comedy gig in 1987 at the age of thirty, he beat out Eddie Izzard for the 1991 Perrier Award for Comedy at the Edinburgh festival.