I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death Audiobook, by Maggie O’Farrell Play Audiobook Sample

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death Audiobook

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death Audiobook, by Maggie O’Farrell Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95
$9.95 for new members!
(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening)
  • Love your audiobook or we'll exchange it
  • No credits to manage, just big savings
  • Unlimited podcast listening
Add to Cart
$9.95/m - cancel anytime - 
learn more
Regular Price: $17.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Daisy Donovan Publisher: Random House Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 4.00 hours at 1.5x Speed 3.00 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: February 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook ISBN: 9780525588801

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

09:47 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

15 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

06:57 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Maggie O’Farrell: > View All...

Listeners Also Enjoyed:

Publisher Description

"I Am I Am I Am is a gripping and glorious investigation of death that leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful, and fully alive. Maggie O’Farrell is a miracle in every sense. I will never forget this book." —Ann Patchett An extraordinary memoir—told entirely in near-death experiences—from one of Britain's best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking. We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death. I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie O'Farrell's astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. An encounter with a disturbed man on a remote path. And, most terrifying of all, an ongoing, daily struggle to protect her daughter--for whom this book was written--from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life's myriad dangers. Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and restrained emotion, O'Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, beauty, and mysteries of life itself.

Download and start listening now!

“Narrated by the talented Daisy Donovan. Her tone of voice exudes a veneer of vulnerability overlaying a steely strength, and her delivery is ideal for this collection of interconnected remembrances…Donovan’s pacing and appealing accent make the vignettes come alive for the listener…Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

— AudioFile 


  • A #1 Sunday Times (London) bestseller
  • A London Guardian Pick
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month selection
  • A Paste Magazine Pick
  • On the ALA Listen List for Outstanding Audiobook Narration
  • Among longlisted titles for Wellcome Trust Book Prize, 2018

I Am, I Am, I Am Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Maggie O’Farrell

Maggie O’Farrell is the author of several novels, including her debut novel, After You’d Gone, which won a Betty Trask Award; The Distance between US, winner of a Somerset Maugham Award; and The Hand That First Held Mine, winner of the Costa Novel Award. She has worked as the deputy literary editor of the London Independent on Sunday.

About Daisy Donovan

Daisy Donovan is a voice talent and Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator.