Extended Audio Sample

Download How to Be a Person in the World: Ask Polly's Guide Through the Paradoxes of Modern Life Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample How to Be a Person in the World: Ask Pollys Guide Through the Paradoxes of Modern Life, by Heather Havrilesky Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Heather Havrilesky Narrator: Heather Havrilesky Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller*

For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author of the beloved advice column Ask Polly, featured weekly on New York Magazine's The Cut


Should you quit your day job to follow your dreams? How do you rein in an overbearing mother? Will you ever stop dating wishy-washy, noncommittal guys? Should you put off having a baby for your career? 

Heather Havrilesky, the author of the weekly advice column Ask Polly, featured in New York magazine’s The Cut, is here to guide you through the “what if’s” and “I don’t knows” of modern life with the signature wisdom and tough love her readers have come to expect. 

How to Be a Person in the World
is a collection of never-before-published material along with a few fan favorites. Whether she’s responding to cheaters or loners, lovers or haters, the depressed or the down-and-out, Havrilesky writes with equal parts grace, humor, and compassion to remind you that even in your darkest moments you’re not alone. Download and start listening now!

bsu5

Quotes & Awards

  • The title of Heather Havrilesky's How to Be a Person in the World is almost too cute.... Like: do we really need a guide to that, and is that really what this is? But it turns out the answers are yes, actually, and yes…. Deeply personal [and] funny…. If you are even a little bit interested in people and the world, then this book will interest you. And if you think you aren't interested in people or the world, then you should read this book anyway because it might surprise you by proving that there's a lot to reward such interest—and compassion and empathy—after all. Chicago Tribune
  • There’s something nourishing in every column… But sometimes she writes things that are like opening up the fridge and finding the universe inside. The Atlantic
  • The best advice columnist of her generation Esquire
  • A genuinely humorous and compelling voice...Havrilesky's writerly energy and passion confirm that the exchange of best friend wisdom -- a domain that has always been considered 'female,' and therefore trivial -- can be elevated into art. Jessi Klein, New York Times Book Review
  • The title of Heather Havrilesky's How to Be a Person in the World is almost too cute.... Like: do we really need a guide to that, and is that really what this is? But it turns out the answers are yes, actually, and yes. Chicago Tribune
     
  • She is not only an excellent writer and cultural critic, but the best possible agony aunt for people who don’t care for agony aunts.... And she has an exceptional ability to hit the nail on the head and fundamentally understand people. The Guardian
  • A Harper’s Bazaar Editors Favorite Book of 2016
  • PopSugar Best Book of the Year
  • She is not only an excellent writer and cultural critic, but the best possible agony aunt for people who don’t care for agony aunts.... And she has an exceptional ability to hit the nail on the head and fundamentally understand people. The Guardian
  • *Esquire Best Books of 2016*
    *Harper’s Bazaar Editors Favorite Books of 2016*
    *PopSugar Best Books of 2016*
    *Nylon Bests Book of 2016*
  • Heather Havrilesky… is both the first and last person you'd seek out for guidance. On one hand, she'll shake you by the shoulders and tell you the truth. On the other, she's the friend rooting you on, cursing (creatively) all the way… Havrilesky abandons the prim and proper and instead delivers delightfully offbeat wisdom with a side of straight talk. NPR
  • *Esquire Best Books of 2016*
    *Harper’s Bazaar Editors Favorite Books of 2016*
    *PopSugar Best Books of 2016*
    *Nylon Best Books of 2016*
  • What I love so much about Heather Havrilesky and her new book is that, beside being her usual brilliant, hilarious, equally kick-ass and compassionate self, ‎she actually gives great advice. How to be a Person in the World will change your life, for the way better. Anne Lamott, New York Times bestselling author of Small Victories
     
  • A large-hearted reminder that all of us are struggling, and none of us are alone. Kate Bolick, author of the national bestseller Spinster
     
  • Heather Havrilesky’s advice leaves me laughing, nodding in recognition, pumping my fist with excitement, and furiously underlining passages to capture the wisdom that drops out of her mouth.... This is more than an advice book — it’s a life raft. Sarah Hepola, New York Times bestselling author of Blackout: Remembering the Things I Drank to Forget
     
  • True to its title, this collection touches on nearly every facet of living, and Havrilesky’s wit, intelligence, and candor set her apart as perhaps the best advice columnist currently in circulation. Publishers Weekly
     
  • Funny, frank advice for people searching for solutions to a myriad of relationship issues.
    Kirkus Review

     
  • Readers allergic to classic self-help will adore Havrilesky’s empowering, grounding, and utterly sincere message delivered in a lovingly unsparing, perfectly profane tone. Booklist (Starred Review)
     
  • In moments of despair, Havrilesky's elegant writing and rock-solid judgment can change your entire outlook. Read How to Be a Person in the World for the advice, but stay for the pure magic that is her perceptiveness and prose. Paper Magazine
  • Saying that Havrilesky has a way with words is like saying Marilyn Monroe liked diamonds. Havrilesky doesn’t just write—she dances with the words, building empathetic responses that can’t be classified as just advice columns. They are more keen observations of human behavior. BookPage
  • [Havrilesky is] an alluringly wry cheerleader, an enthusiastic volunteer offering sports drinks as we struggle past during the half-marathon of life. Slate Book Review
  • “What I love so much about Heather Havrilesky and her new book is that, beside being her usual brilliant, hilarious, equally kick-ass and compassionate self, ‎she actually gives great advice. How to be a Person in the World will change your life, for the way better.”

    Anne Lamott, New York Times bestselling author

  • [Havrilesky] is part Buddha and part Amy Schumer: wise, whip-smart, and profanely funny. Entertainment Weekly
  • “A genuinely humorous and compelling voice…Havrilesky’s writerly energy and passion confirm that the exchange of best friend wisdom…can be elevated into art.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “The best advice columnist of her generation.”

    Esquire

  • “How to Be a Person in the World can be deep, complicated, and back-of-the-throat sentimental all at the same time.”

    Buzzfeed

  • “Readers allergic to classic self-help will adore Havrilesky’s empowering, grounding, and utterly sincere message delivered in a lovingly unsparing, perfectly profane tone.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “True to its title, this collection touches on nearly every facet of living, and Havrilesky’s wit, intelligence, and candor set her apart as perhaps the best advice columnist currently in circulation.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • Heather Havrilesky…gets down to the root of the matter in a blunt but effective way with a voice that radiates enthusiasm, sass, and practical wisdom. Her bursts of energetic swearing somehow add authenticity and urgency to her thoughtful responses…This capable advice columnist sounds like a trusted friend.”

    AudioFile

  • A New York Times Editor’s Choice
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations