Extended Audio Sample

Download How to Be a Person in the World: Ask Polly’s Guide through the Paradoxes of Modern Life Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample How to Be a Person in the World: Ask Polly’s Guide through the Paradoxes of Modern Life, by Heather Havrilesky Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Heather Havrilesky Narrator: Heather Havrilesky Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.50 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author of the popular advice column “Ask Polly,” featured weekly on New York magazine’s “The Cut”

Should you quit your day job to follow your dreams? How do you rein in an overbearing mother? Will you ever stop dating wishy-washy, noncommittal guys? Should you put off having a baby for your career?

Heather Havrilesky, the author of the weekly advice column “Ask Polly,” featured in New York magazine’s The Cut, is here to guide you through the “what if’s” and “I don’t knows” of modern life with the signature wisdom and tough love her readers have come to expect.

How to Be a Person in the World is a collection of never-before-published material along with a few fan favorites. Whether she’s responding to cheaters or loners, lovers or haters, the depressed or the down-and-out, Havrilesky writes with equal parts grace, humor, and compassion to remind you that even in your darkest moments you’re not alone.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • The title of Heather Havrilesky's How to Be a Person in the World is almost too cute.... Like: do we really need a guide to that, and is that really what this is? But it turns out the answers are yes, actually, and yes…. Deeply personal [and] funny…. If you are even a little bit interested in people and the world, then this book will interest you. And if you think you aren't interested in people or the world, then you should read this book anyway because it might surprise you by proving that there's a lot to reward such interest—and compassion and empathy—after all. Chicago Tribune
  • There’s something nourishing in every column… But sometimes she writes things that are like opening up the fridge and finding the universe inside. The Atlantic
  • “What I love so much about Heather Havrilesky and her new book is that, beside being her usual brilliant, hilarious, equally kick-ass and compassionate self, ‎she actually gives great advice. How to be a Person in the World will change your life, for the way better.”

    Anne Lamott, New York Times bestselling author

  • “[Havrilesky] is part Buddha and part Amy Schumer: wise, whip-smart, and profanely funny.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  • “A genuinely humorous and compelling voice…Havrilesky’s writerly energy and passion confirm that the exchange of best friend wisdom…can be elevated into art.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “The best advice columnist of her generation.”


  • “How to Be a Person in the World can be deep, complicated, and back-of-the-throat sentimental all at the same time.”


  • “Readers allergic to classic self-help will adore Havrilesky’s empowering, grounding, and utterly sincere message delivered in a lovingly unsparing, perfectly profane tone.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “True to its title, this collection touches on nearly every facet of living, and Havrilesky’s wit, intelligence, and candor set her apart as perhaps the best advice columnist currently in circulation.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • Heather Havrilesky…gets down to the root of the matter in a blunt but effective way with a voice that radiates enthusiasm, sass, and practical wisdom. Her bursts of energetic swearing somehow add authenticity and urgency to her thoughtful responses…This capable advice columnist sounds like a trusted friend.”


  • A New York Times Editor’s Choice
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations