Extended Audio Sample

Download Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe, by Nancy Goldstone Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,458 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Nancy Goldstone Narrator: Josephine Bailey Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.49 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Set against the backdrop of the turbulent thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, poetry, knights, and monarchs comes the story of the four beautiful daughters of the count of Provence whose brilliant marriages made them the queens of France, England, Germany, and Sicily.

From a cultured childhood in Provence, each sister was propelled into a world marked by shifting alliances, intrigue, and subterfuge. Marguerite, the eldest, whose resolution and spirit would be tested by the cold splendor of the Palais du Roi in Paris; Eleanor, whose soaring political aspirations would provoke her kingdom to civil war; Sanchia, the neglected wife of the richest man in England who bought himself the crown of Germany; and Beatrice, whose desire for sovereignty was so acute that she risked her life to earn her place at the royal table.

A compulsively readable narrative, Four Queens shatters the myth that women were helpless pawns in a society that celebrated physical prowess and masculine intellect. A riveting historical saga for fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “All the color and spectacle of court life during the thirteenth century are on display in this vivid account.”

    Theodore K. Rabb, author of The Last Days of the Renaissance

  • “Based on a solid bedrock of scholarship, this remarkable story is told with all the verve and aplomb and richness of detail that four such extraordinary women deserve.”

    Ross King, author of Brunelleschi’s Dome

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Melanie | 2/17/2014

    " This was a quick read. I was hooked from the first chapter. The book has been criticized for lack of historical accuracy. There may be a few issues with that, but nothing that was essential to the delivery of the story. Ms. Goldstone stayed within the scope of the storyline without drifting off too far into the intricicies of the politics. It is more of an introduction to the sisters rather than an in depth essay. Most people who pick up this book are not going to be historians and so to get overly mired in correspondence and the secondary politics of the day would have created a less entertaining book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Luci | 2/14/2014

    " I liked it. It was easy to understand and very clear in terms of keeping people straight - unlike other history tomes. This is a good book to understand politics in 13th century Europe. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Cece | 2/12/2014

    " I enjoyed this. At times her interpretation of the events was a bit of "guess and golly" but history is interpretation. Overall, the read was easy and interesting. I would have liked more expanded genealogical tables in the back-it is easier to watch the players and relationships with that kind of graphic to follow. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Abbey | 2/11/2014

    " LOVED this book! Who knew 13th century European history could be so captivating! Absolutely loved it; couldn't put it down. Wish there was a sequel. ;-) "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Nancy Goldstone has written and coauthored several books, including Four Queens. She lives with her husband and coauthor Lawrence Goldstone in Westport, Connecticut.