Extended Audio Sample

Download Fly on the Wall Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Fly on the Wall Audiobook, by E. Lockhart Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.44 out of 53.44 out of 53.44 out of 53.44 out of 53.44 out of 5 3.44 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: E. Lockhart Narrator: Caitlin Greer Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: March 2006 ISBN: 9780307284105
Regular Price: $15.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

At the Manhattan School for Art and Music, where everyone is “different” and everyone is “special,” Gretchen Yee feels ordinary. She’s the kind of girl who sits alone at lunch, drawing pictures of Spider-Man, so she won’t have to talk to anyone; who has a crush on Titus but won’t do anything about it; who has no one to hang out with when her best (and only real) friend Katya is busy.

One day, Gretchen wishes that she could be a fly on the wall in the boys’ locker room, just to learn more about guys. What are they really like? What do they really talk about? Are they really cretins most of the time?

Fly on the Wall is the story of how that wish comes true.

Download and start listening now!

BK_LILI_000324

Quotes & Awards

  • “Fine fun for fans of both Kafka and Spiderman.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 R | 1/19/2014

    " The first thing I ever read by E. Lockhart. Who knew that just a year later she'd become one of my favorite authors? Anyway, I thought this book was okay, but I noticed some stylistic things that I'd also noticed in a short story of hers that I read in an anthology. (Could that sentence be any more crowded?) So at first I said to myself, "E. Lockhart? Meh." If only I could go back in time and warn myself. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Madeline | 1/10/2014

    " This book was another E. Lockhart success; a teenage drama filled story with a twist. Gretchen is a character many teenage girls can relate to, and throughout her hilarious story, she goes behind the scenes to investigate the biggest mystery girls are faced with: the opposite gender. The tale is twisted, however, when Gretchen is literally a fly on the wall in the boys lives. This book is easy to relate to, funny and enjoyable, and cleverly written and worded. Great for a change of pace from the YA books that today are riddled with vampires and fitting in; this book simply stands out. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Melissa Shelley | 12/29/2013

    " A little bit too silly for me, and that's saying a lot, because I'm addicted to YA Fiction! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Angela | 12/22/2013

    " Cute, but nothing earth-shattering. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Julie | 12/22/2013

    " hahaha. how fun. I liked this one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jess | 12/17/2013

    " Another great contemp novel from E. Lockhart! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Aleiah | 11/17/2013

    " My book Fly On the Wall is a great book for teens. It shows how teens act. In this book the teens is not like teens in other books there are like teens in real life. I would tell anyone to read this book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Anna | 10/10/2013

    " I actually listened to the audio version of this, and it was OK, aside from long periods of fixation on male anatomies. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jill | 8/15/2013

    " Very, very quick read. Not alot of in-depth analysis of anything other than a 16 girl realizing that boys aren't alien beings and that some of them even have complicated feelings. She learns that she really isn't all that different from other teenagers. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Mimi Nguyen | 6/8/2012

    " The plot wasn't interesting and the ending was happier than most of the E. Lockhart's endings. I just thought the storyline was easily predictable and it didn't really leave me interested in what would happen next. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Raizel | 1/21/2012

    " What a silly book! Very entertaining at the time. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Seana | 7/25/2011

    " This book was just ok. I couldn't really get into it. But on the other hand if you can wait to be patient you'd like this chick lit. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 mstan | 4/14/2011

    " This is OK, with some nice moments that usually come from discussions about art - the protagonist is in some hip young New York high school for the arts. 2.5 stars. I would have expected even better from the fabulous E. Lockhart, but this is a decent enough read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Charlotte | 4/5/2011

    " This book was extremely creative. Even if it was a bit uncomfortably-graphic in some chapters. I thought every description was done neatly, and I really enjoyed reading it. The only regret I have was, reading it so quick and not savoring it more! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Oasis | 1/16/2011

    " This book has such a peculiar twist that i could not stop reading! i wish it was longer or had another book:( "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Juniper | 1/11/2011

    " main character spends a week (?) as a fly in the boy's locker room - gets an eye-full and is more at ease around boys
    a thin book so it didn't spend too much time on the topic - decent but not revelatory "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Zanzarr | 11/22/2010

    " Didn't like it....at all. No redeeming qualities. None. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Julia | 10/22/2010

    " This story was more of an essay or excercise than a full book, though most of my disappointment probably stems from how much I enjoy E. Lockhart's characters. At the end I wanted more Gretchen. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author E. Lockhart

E. Lockhart is the author of a number of teen novels. She has had nine official boyfriends, if you count the boy who asked her to go with him at a 7th grade dance and then basically never talked to her again. She has never been on a sports team of any kind and got excused from gym class by going to ballet lessons. She has a tattoo, cuts her own hair, and has worn the same perfume since high school (Kiehl’s Chinese Flowers). In her office are two Betty & Veronica dolls, a photo of a particularly fat bull dog, an official business card from “Sherlock Holmes, Consulting Detective,” and the 1920s flapper dress she wore to the prom.

About the Narrator

Caitlin Greer has appeared on television, been a motion capture performer for animation and video games, and voiced many characters for film, television, video games, and radio. She was honored by the American Library Association as part of Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults and is an IGN Award–winner and two-time nominee for Best Voice Acting: Game Ensemble.