Download Every Anxious Wave Audiobook

Every Anxious Wave Audiobook, by Mo Daviau Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Mo Daviau Narrator: Zach Villa Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2016 ISBN: 9781504665940
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Why would we need music if our lives were exactly as we wanted them to be?

Karl Bender is a quiet guy who lives in three places: his bar, his apartment, and the cheap Mediterranean place on the corner that keeps him well-fed with his daily portion of hummus and chicken shwarma. But that’s all about to change. When he stumbles upon a time-traveling wormhole, Karl develops a business selling access to people who want to go back in time to hear their favorite bands. It’s a pretty ingenious plan, and Karl’s indie rock ethics ensure that he keeps things small and special. Until, that is, he mistakenly transports best friend Wayne to 980 Mannahatta instead of 1980 Manhattan.

Karl is distraught. He needs an ally. And he finds one in brilliant, prickly, overweight astrophysicist, Lena Geduldig. The connection is immediate. While they work on getting Wayne back, Karl and Lena fall in love—with time travel, and each other. Unable to resist meddling with the past, they bounce around time. That’s when they alter the course of their lives. That’s when they threaten their future together.

A wild romp of a love story across time, Every Anxious Wave plays ball with the big questions: Who would we become if we could rewrite our pasts? How do we hold on to love across time?

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A bittersweet, century-hopping odyssey of love, laced with weird science, music geekery, and heart-wrenching laughs…A wise, witty, whipcrack sci-fi romp.”


  • “A dark and funny love story that, like its main characters, is much sweeter than it appears on the surface.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Daviau writes with humor and compassion, creating absorbing, sympathetic characters and enveloping serious questions about love and life-changing events in a balloon of mind-bending time travels.”

    Library Journal

  • “[A] melancholy, yet improbably hopeful novel.”


  • “An absolute kick in the pants to read—if you love rock, bodies, and time travel, this is your ride.”

    Lidia Yuknavitch, author of The Small Backs of Children

  • Every Anxious Wave gives us the intelligent irreverence of Nick Hornby, the honest romance of Gary Shteyngart, and the swoon-worthy charm of a John Cusack movie, all within a riveting story of lost love, bent time, and rock stars. A delightful, innovative debut.”

    Rebecca Dinerstein, author of The Sunlit Night

  • “In this stunning debut, Daviau lays bare all the ways in which dreams and regret are both fueled by love. As much fun as a Melvin’s concert, Every Anxious Wave is a romp.”

    Monica Drake, author of Clown Girl

  • A Pop Sugar Pick for 23 Books You Should Read This Winter
  • A February 2016 Gizmodo Pick
  • A Library Journal First “Writes” of Spring Pick
  • A 2016 Hudson Booksellers Best Book Award Winner for Fiction
  • A NPR Best Book of 2016 for Music Lovers
  • Finalist for the 2017 Oregon Book Award

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Mo Daviau was born in Fresno, California, and proclaimed her life goal of publishing a novel at the age of eight. She is also a solo performer, having performed at storytelling shows such as Bedpost Confessions and The Soundtrack Series. She is a graduate of Smith College and the Helen Zell Writers’ Program at the University of Michigan where her first novel, Every Anxious Wave, won a Hopwood Award.

About the Narrator

Zach Villa is a stage, film, and television performer. Classically trained in acting, Villa’s audiobook work includes The World without You by Joshua Henkin and Butterfly Winter by W. P. Kinsella.