Extended Audio Sample

Download Echo: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Echo: A Novel, by Pam Muñoz Ryan Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Pam Muñoz Ryan Narrator: Mark Bramhall, Mark Bramhall, David de Vries, MacLeod Andrews, Rebecca Soler Publisher: Scholastic Inc Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $27.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Music, magic, and a real-life miracle meld in this genre-defying masterpiece from storytelling maestro Pam Muñoz Ryan.

Lost and alone in a forbidden forest, Otto meets three mysterious sisters and suddenly finds himself entwined in a puzzling quest involving a prophecy, a promise, and a harmonica.

Decades later, Friedrich in Germany, Mike in Pennsylvania, and Ivy in California each, in turn, become interwoven when the very same harmonica lands in their lives. All the children face daunting challenges: rescuing a father, protecting a brother, and holding a family together. And ultimately, pulled by the invisible thread of destiny, their suspenseful solo stories converge in an orchestral crescendo.

Richly imagined and masterfully crafted, Echo pushes the boundaries of genre and form and shows us what is possible in how we tell stories. The result is an impassioned, uplifting, and virtuosic tour de force that will resound in your heart long after the last note has been struck.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A satisfyingly multilayered tale of music, self-sacrifice, and redemption.”

    Wall Street Journal

  • “After reading Pam Muñoz Ryan’s enchanting new novel, you’ll never see the harmonica the same way again….Start to finish the book is a joy to read….The music swells, the book sings.”

    New York Times

  • “Music infuses this production as four narrators perform interlocked stories…Narrator Mark Bramhall sets the tone with his powerful, accented portrayal of Otto…From there, David de Vries, MacLeod Andrews, and Rebecca Soler take listeners from Germany to Pennsylvania to California with distinctive performances that give a sense of place and life to characters struggling with the rise of the Nazi party, the Great Depression, and then WWII itself. A riveting exploration of that which destroys and that which heals. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”


  • “The book’s thematic underpinnings poignantly reveal what Friedrich, Mike, and Ivy truly have in common: not just a love of music but resourcefulness in the face of change and a refusal to accept injustice.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Ryan has created three contemporary characters who, through faith and perseverance, write their own happy endings, inspiring readers to believe they can do the same.”

    School Library Journal (starred review)

  • “A grand narrative that examines the power of music to inspire beauty in a world overrun with fear and intolerance, it’s worth every moment of readers’ time.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • A New York Times Editor’s Choice
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • Winner of the 2015 Kirkus Prize for Young Reader's Literature
  • A BookPage Best Book of 2015 for Middle Grade Fiction
  • A 2016 YALSA Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults Top Ten Selection
  • Winner of the 2016 Audie Award for Middle Grade Novel Best Narration
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations