Extended Audio Sample

Download Dogs Don’t Lie Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dogs Don’t Lie, by Clea Simon Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (164 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Clea Simon Narrator: Tavia Gilbert Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Pru Marlowe Pet Noir Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Pru Marlowe isn’t your ordinary animal psychic. A tough girl on the run from her own gift, Pru left the big city to return to her picturesque Berkshires hometown looking for a little peace. Too bad her training as an animal behaviorist got her mixed up with Lily, a rescue dog, and Charles, the dog’s guardian. Now Charles is dead, and Lily appears to be headed for the same end, for Lily is a pit bull, a fighting-ring dropout, and is far too traumatized to give Pru a clear picture of what she has witnessed. But Pru knows something about bad girls trying to clean up, and, with a sense of justice strong enough to overcome her dislike of human society, she takes the case.

Listening to the animals, Pru picks up clues and learns there are secrets in the pretty little town that make murder look simple. Unable to tell anyone about her psychic abilities, and uncertain at times about her own sanity, Pru comes to realize that if she clears Lily, she’ll likely become the prime suspect—or the next victim. While the only creature she can totally trust is her crotchety tabby cat, Wallis, Pru must uncover the real killer—and find a way to live with her gift—before the real beasts in the town maul her and those she has come to love.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004268

Quotes & Awards

  • “Her clever thirteen-year-old tabby, Wallis, provides snarky paws-on assistance…but [Pru’s] no slouch as a detective.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Will touch the heart of cat lovers everywhere…Watch this series closely. It could well sprint to the top of the animal-cozy genre.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “A delightful new pet series that will appeal to fans of Shirley Rousseau Murphy and Rita Mae Brown.”

    Library Journal

  •  “Surprisingly creative twists.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Bravo!  Pet noire has arrived!”

    Linda L. Richards, author of Death Was in the Picture

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Alice | 1/3/2014

    " A pleasent audio-read with a great narration. This is a a well done light mystery with a target audience of pet lovers. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Lee | 12/27/2013

    " Pru Marlowe was in college studying animal behavior when she comes down with an illness and suddenly discovers that she can hear animal's thoughts. While she finds communicating with her cat comforting, the constant cacophony of all the other animals living in the city is too much for her. She drops out of school and returns to the small town she grew up in to care for her dying mother. The story picks up sometime after her mother's death as one of Pru's clients is found dead and his pit bull is the prime suspect. This book is not cutesy like most of the talking animal books, maybe because Pru is a cat person. Pru is a serious defender of animal rights with an attitude, a bit of a temper and an active libido, though not the world's best investigator. Toward the end she takes a few stabs in the dark just to see if she hits anything and then stumbles into the truth almost by accident. One of the better fictional animal communicator books I've read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Deirdre S. | 12/20/2013

    " An interesting start to a new series. Made me want to look up the author's other work. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kim | 11/30/2013

    " Just listened to the audio of this interesting book. Love that she can hear what the animals say, and just like people, some are not as clear to understand as others. Also a great book for understanding the pit bull dog. It's how they are raised, not their breed, that makes them aggressive. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations