Extended Audio Sample

Download Dogs Don’t Lie Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dogs Don’t Lie Audiobook, by Clea Simon Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (164 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Clea Simon Narrator: Tavia Gilbert Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Pru Marlowe Pet Noir Series Release Date: April 2011 ISBN: 9781470801571
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Pru Marlowe isn’t your ordinary animal psychic. A tough girl on the run from her own gift, Pru left the big city to return to her picturesque Berkshires hometown looking for a little peace. Too bad her training as an animal behaviorist got her mixed up with Lily, a rescue dog, and Charles, the dog’s guardian. Now Charles is dead, and Lily appears to be headed for the same end, for Lily is a pit bull, a fighting-ring dropout, and is far too traumatized to give Pru a clear picture of what she has witnessed. But Pru knows something about bad girls trying to clean up, and, with a sense of justice strong enough to overcome her dislike of human society, she takes the case.

Listening to the animals, Pru picks up clues and learns there are secrets in the pretty little town that make murder look simple. Unable to tell anyone about her psychic abilities, and uncertain at times about her own sanity, Pru comes to realize that if she clears Lily, she’ll likely become the prime suspect—or the next victim. While the only creature she can totally trust is her crotchety tabby cat, Wallis, Pru must uncover the real killer—and find a way to live with her gift—before the real beasts in the town maul her and those she has come to love.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004268

Quotes & Awards

  • “Her clever thirteen-year-old tabby, Wallis, provides snarky paws-on assistance…but [Pru’s] no slouch as a detective.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Will touch the heart of cat lovers everywhere…Watch this series closely. It could well sprint to the top of the animal-cozy genre.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “A delightful new pet series that will appeal to fans of Shirley Rousseau Murphy and Rita Mae Brown.”

    Library Journal

  •  “Surprisingly creative twists.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Bravo!  Pet noire has arrived!”

    Linda L. Richards, author of Death Was in the Picture

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alice | 1/3/2014

    " A pleasent audio-read with a great narration. This is a a well done light mystery with a target audience of pet lovers. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lee | 12/27/2013

    " Pru Marlowe was in college studying animal behavior when she comes down with an illness and suddenly discovers that she can hear animal's thoughts. While she finds communicating with her cat comforting, the constant cacophony of all the other animals living in the city is too much for her. She drops out of school and returns to the small town she grew up in to care for her dying mother. The story picks up sometime after her mother's death as one of Pru's clients is found dead and his pit bull is the prime suspect. This book is not cutesy like most of the talking animal books, maybe because Pru is a cat person. Pru is a serious defender of animal rights with an attitude, a bit of a temper and an active libido, though not the world's best investigator. Toward the end she takes a few stabs in the dark just to see if she hits anything and then stumbles into the truth almost by accident. One of the better fictional animal communicator books I've read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Deirdre S. | 12/20/2013

    " An interesting start to a new series. Made me want to look up the author's other work. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kim | 11/30/2013

    " Just listened to the audio of this interesting book. Love that she can hear what the animals say, and just like people, some are not as clear to understand as others. Also a great book for understanding the pit bull dog. It's how they are raised, not their breed, that makes them aggressive. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ann | 11/14/2013

    " This was billed as "pet noir," but it wasn't really noir, and it was too much about cats for my taste. (Unfortunately, the dog in the title was a minor character.) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jody | 7/4/2013

    " Pleasantly surprised by who the bad guy was... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cindy | 5/23/2013

    " Interesting premise. Sometimes I think I can "almost" hear my dog .... what if someone really could pick up on what animals are sensing, feeling, thinking?? "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sharon | 3/13/2013

    " I really enjoyed this mystery because it wasn't an easy mystery to solve. I loved how the animals added to the story. I look forward to finding more books by Ms Simon. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Beth | 11/18/2012

    " Good read would have like the characters to be explored a little more and a little less flippancy from the main character. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Pam Gardow | 7/5/2012

    " What to do if you're an animal psychic helping rescue dogs and cats at a shelter, and the dog you're working with is accused of murder? Great fun. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dblaroche | 5/23/2012

    " More like 3.5 stars. I enjoyed the library audio book enough to spend my own money and buy the next audio book Cats Can't Shoot. Everything Tavia Gilbert reads is excellent. Worth the time just to listen to her. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Andrea | 5/4/2012

    " listened to this on audio book. Not bad. I'd probably give it a 3.5. I liked Pru's character and the animals. Nice surprise at the end. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Laurie Ricard | 4/22/2012

    " This book was totally not what I expected. I stumbled across it by accident and found a new Author to follow. Pru and her cat are awesome and if you have cats you can almost picture your animals doing the same things. I recommend this to anyone in just about any age group "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cathy | 1/29/2012

    " Nicely told story about a woman who is "pet psychic." When it starts to get to her she returns to her old home town. There she works as a pet behaviorist and dog-walker. But when her best client is murdered, and his pit bull is suspected, she works on solving the murder. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carol | 4/19/2011

    " Good start to a new series - I'd like to read more of them. Interesting mix of characters, and I especially like Wallis. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Grace | 3/17/2011

    " I thoroughly enjoyed this light hearted tale. Pru Marlowe is an animal psychic who relies on her animals to solve a murder mystery. While I usually read more hard boiled thrillers, I especially liked the canine and feline characters!!! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Clea Simon

Clea Simon, a regular contributor to the New York Times, Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, and Rolling Stone, is the author of a few nonfiction books and several mystery series.

About the Narrator

Tavia Gilbert, an acclaimed narrator of more than four hundred full-cast and multivoice audiobooks for virtually every publisher in the industry, is an eight-time Audie nominee and the recipient of thirteen Earphones Awards, a Voice Arts Award, and a Listen-Up Award. With frequent inclusion on best of year and annual top ten lists, Tavia is a trusted and increasingly sought-after actress for work across every genre, from children’s and YA, to literary fiction, nonfiction, and genre fiction. Audible recently named her a Genre-Defining Narrator: Master of Memoir, and Library Journal said of this highly acclaimed actress, “as close as you can get to a full cast narration with a solo voice.” Tavia is a producer, singer, photographer, and a writer, as well as the cofounder of a feminist publishing company, Animal Mineral, with fiction and nonfiction focusing on relationships, love, and identity.