Extended Audio Sample

Download Cats Can’t Shoot: A Pru Marlowe Pet Noir Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Cats Can’t Shoot: A Pru Marlowe Pet Noir Audiobook, by Clea Simon Click for printable size audiobook cover
2.55 out of 52.55 out of 52.55 out of 52.55 out of 52.55 out of 5 2.55 (11 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Clea Simon Narrator: Tavia Gilbert Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Pru Marlowe Pet Noir Series Release Date: April 2012 ISBN: 9781470805050
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

When Pru Marlowe gets the call that there’s been a cat shooting, she’s furious. Animal brutality is one thing that this tough animal psychic won’t stand for, and in her role as a behaviorist, she’s determined to care for the traumatized pet.

But when Pru finds out that it was the cat who did the shooting—accidentally setting off a rare dueling pistol—she realizes something else is going on. Could the white Persian really have killed her owner, or did the whole bloody mess have something to do with one pricey collectible? With the white cat turning a deaf ear to her questions, Pru must tune in to Beauville’s other pampered residents, from the dead man’s elite social set to their equally spoiled pets, to learn the truth, before her ex, a former New York cop, gets too close.

In a world where value is determined by a price tag, the pedigreed puss may have a reason for revenge, and only Pru Marlowe and her trusty tabby, Wallis, can figure out whether this was a case of feline felony or if some human has set up the Persian as the ultimate cat’s-paw.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004906

Quotes & Awards

  • “Simon excels in creating unique and believable animal characters as well as diverse and memorable humans, and this sequel is just as good as Dogs Don’t Lie. A perfect read-alike for fans of Rita Mae Brown and Shirley Rousseau Murphy.” 

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Fast-paced... readers will relish this fun caper.”

    Mystery Gazette

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Marcia | 1/9/2014

    " I'm not sure I want to know what my cats are thinking, so I probably wouldn't read another "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Carrying On | 10/20/2013

    " Second in the series. Its a nice light mystery. I enjoy the quirky characters but sometimes the action seems a bit contrived. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Cathi | 7/30/2013

    " Don't bother. The heroine was too stupid to live. Whoever proofread this book needs to be fired. Way too many spelling and punctuation errors. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Olgalijo | 5/7/2013

    " I really like Clea Simon's approach to pet murder mysteries. I won't say that it's great writing, but it's conforting for any pet lover. The recurring theme of "I'm not understanding what the animals are trying to tell me" was a little too repetitive this time though. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dblaroche | 2/6/2013

    " Like the first one, this is more of a 3.5 stars, esp since I listened to Tavia Gilbert reads it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Caroline Leavitt | 12/20/2012

    " Smart, clever, and oh so much fun to read, the latest Pru Marlowe Pet Noir from Simon is addictive beyond words. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kay | 11/16/2012

    " Again, entertaining for an animal lover. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Michele bookloverforever | 7/14/2012

    " okay. this amateur sleuth talks to animals and they communicate back with her. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 AM | 7/8/2012

    " Interesting premise w/ poor writing & basic/boring plot. Read 1/2 & couldn't finish. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kimberlyn | 5/24/2012

    " sometimes a light mystery is what I need. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Lindig | 5/21/2012

    " Put the book and then couldn't think of a single reason to pick it up again. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Clea Simon

Clea Simon, a regular contributor to the New York Times, Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, and Rolling Stone, is the author of a few nonfiction books and several mystery series.

About the Narrator

Tavia Gilbert, an acclaimed narrator of more than four hundred full-cast and multivoice audiobooks for virtually every publisher in the industry, is an eight-time Audie nominee and the recipient of thirteen Earphones Awards, a Voice Arts Award, and a Listen-Up Award. With frequent inclusion on best of year and annual top ten lists, Tavia is a trusted and increasingly sought-after actress for work across every genre, from children’s and YA, to literary fiction, nonfiction, and genre fiction. Audible recently named her a Genre-Defining Narrator: Master of Memoir, and Library Journal said of this highly acclaimed actress, “as close as you can get to a full cast narration with a solo voice.” Tavia is a producer, singer, photographer, and a writer, as well as the cofounder of a feminist publishing company, Animal Mineral, with fiction and nonfiction focusing on relationships, love, and identity.