Extended Audio Sample

Download Cats Can’t Shoot: A Pru Marlowe Pet Noir Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Cats Can’t Shoot: A Pru Marlowe Pet Noir, by Clea Simon Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (82 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Clea Simon Narrator: Tavia Gilbert Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Pru Marlowe Pet Noir Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

When Pru Marlowe gets the call that there’s been a cat shooting, she’s furious. Animal brutality is one thing that this tough animal psychic won’t stand for, and in her role as a behaviorist, she’s determined to care for the traumatized pet.

But when Pru finds out that it was the cat who did the shooting—accidentally setting off a rare dueling pistol—she realizes something else is going on. Could the white Persian really have killed her owner, or did the whole bloody mess have something to do with one pricey collectible? With the white cat turning a deaf ear to her questions, Pru must tune in to Beauville’s other pampered residents, from the dead man’s elite social set to their equally spoiled pets, to learn the truth, before her ex, a former New York cop, gets too close.

In a world where value is determined by a price tag, the pedigreed puss may have a reason for revenge, and only Pru Marlowe and her trusty tabby, Wallis, can figure out whether this was a case of feline felony or if some human has set up the Persian as the ultimate cat’s-paw.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004906

Quotes & Awards

  • “Simon excels in creating unique and believable animal characters as well as diverse and memorable humans, and this sequel is just as good as Dogs Don’t Lie. A perfect read-alike for fans of Rita Mae Brown and Shirley Rousseau Murphy.” 

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Fast-paced... readers will relish this fun caper.”

    Mystery Gazette

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Marcia | 1/9/2014

    " I'm not sure I want to know what my cats are thinking, so I probably wouldn't read another "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Carrying On | 10/20/2013

    " Second in the series. Its a nice light mystery. I enjoy the quirky characters but sometimes the action seems a bit contrived. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Cathi | 7/30/2013

    " Don't bother. The heroine was too stupid to live. Whoever proofread this book needs to be fired. Way too many spelling and punctuation errors. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Olgalijo | 5/7/2013

    " I really like Clea Simon's approach to pet murder mysteries. I won't say that it's great writing, but it's conforting for any pet lover. The recurring theme of "I'm not understanding what the animals are trying to tell me" was a little too repetitive this time though. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations