Extended Audio Sample

Download Dead Man’s Song Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dead Man’s Song Audiobook, by Jonathan Maberry Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.99707236842105 out of 53.99707236842105 out of 53.99707236842105 out of 53.99707236842105 out of 53.99707236842105 out of 5 4.00 (912 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jonathan Maberry Narrator: Tom Weiner Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Pine Deep Trilogy Release Date: August 2011 ISBN: 9781470802400
Regular Price: $27.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From the powerful imagination of a horror master comes a bone-chilling tale set in a small town where good and evil are joined in a terrifying, deadly battle.

Evil endures.

Once an idyllic Pennsylvania village, Pine Deep awoke one morning to find itself bathed in a massive bloodletting. Twice in thirty years the townsfolk have endured the savage hungers of a murderous madman—but if the residents think the death of serial killer Karl Ruger put an end to the carnage, they’re dead wrong.

The nightmare never ends.

Bodies mutilated beyond description, innocents driven to acts of vicious madness. A monstrous evil is preying on the living—and the dead—and turning the quiet little town into hell on earth. Their only hope is to find the source. But the secrets that lurk in the heart of Pine Deep are twisted into its very roots. This time the townspeople aren’t just fighting for their lives but for their very souls.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004485

Quotes & Awards

  • “A fabulously written novel that grips you from its first line to its last. Jonathan Maberry’s writing runs from dark and beautiful to sharp and thought provoking, and his books should be on everyone’s must-read list.”

    Yvonne Navarro, author of Hellboy, Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Tempted Champions, Species, and Ultraviolet (novelizations)

  • “Maberry takes us on another chilling roller-coaster ride through the cursed town of Pine Deep.”

    Laura Schrock, Emmy Award–winning writer/producer

  • “Full of real characters and plenty of eerie atmosphere.”

    David Wellington, author of Monster Island and Frost Bites

  • “This is an immensely entertaining American horror saga in the tradition of Stephen King or Robert McCammon. Just open the book and it’s Halloween.”

    Fangoria

  • “New master of the macabre.”

    Morning Call

  • “This is intense, creepy, and well written.”

    BookCrossing

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marcus | 2/9/2014

    " Well despite struggling with what all #2 books in trilogies struggle with, it advanced the story nicely and had a great stretch at the end leading up to the climactic third book which I can't wait for. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dave Benneman | 1/22/2014

    " Jonathan weaves a delightfully wicked tail wrought from wear wolf and vampire folklore that grabs you by the short hairs and never let's go. You have read book three for that "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Katie | 1/19/2014

    " My least favorite of the three, but still very good. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sandra Dickens | 1/16/2014

    " This is a direct continuation of the first book of this series. Truely a cliff hanger, building, building, building to the next level of suspense and terror. Could not put it down. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Victoria | 1/16/2014

    " Yeeks! Another exciting book! I enjoyed this sequel more than the first book in the Pine Deep series - by quite a bit, actually. It had a much faster pace, and though more of the background story was filled in, there weren't nearly as many redundancies in this one that slowed down the first novel. I can't wait to read the conclusion to this trilogy! What an exciting series! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kelly | 12/29/2013

    " This is next on my nightstand to read "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Josh Stevens | 12/22/2013

    " Equally as addictive as "Ghost Road Blues." Great characters, intricate plot. Leaves you immediately wanting to jump into the final book of the trilogy. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dave | 12/9/2013

    " good vampire book set in a real place. what it would be like if vampires were real in today's world "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mike | 12/7/2013

    " cool build up, a little slow but the build up is super nice "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Martin | 7/15/2013

    " Slightly lesser engaging than the first book, but overall a good read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dave B. | 6/30/2013

    " It took me a while to finally finish this book. It was a little slow in the middle but I really enjoyed ending. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cherie | 12/19/2012

    " If you like the epic stephen king novels, you will enjoyJonathan Marberry's story. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Lynn | 5/24/2012

    " I DID NOT LIKE THIS BOOK,,IT DID NOT HOLD MY INTREST AT ALL. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cindi | 4/11/2012

    " This one explained a bit more of why certain things were happening and I enjoyed getting to know the characters better. This was a quick and enjoyable read that I had trouble putting down. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Debra | 4/7/2012

    " 2nd book in a trilogy. This one had me even more hooked than the first book. It's was very creepy in places! The good guys sure look like they up to an impossible task; evil is growing and the future looks very grim! Note: typos galore that really mess with the flow. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Mia | 2/29/2012

    " I didn't like this at all... but I also didn't realize it was the 2nd book in a series until I was about half way through. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Bill Mazzola | 1/13/2012

    " just as good as the first one.....super addictive, couldn't put it down. read the first two books in two days. i dont think anyone is as good at epic good vs evil horror as stephen king, but this guy is right up there. can't wait to finish the trilogy. with a light on. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Moira | 9/19/2011

    " ONe of my favourite authors! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Andy | 9/4/2011

    " I have to agree with some of the critic cover quotes, and admit that this series draws comparisons to Stephen Kings finest works.
    I have found the first two chapters excellent and they have renewed my interest in the horror genre. Will be starting the 3rd shortly. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Debra | 6/12/2011

    " 2nd book in a trilogy. This one had me even more hooked than the first book. It's was very creepy in places! The good guys sure look like they up to an impossible task; evil is growing and the future looks very grim! Note: typos galore that really mess with the flow.

    "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Bill | 5/23/2011

    " just as good as the first one.....super addictive, couldn't put it down. read the first two books in two days. i dont think anyone is as good at epic good vs evil horror as stephen king, but this guy is right up there. can't wait to finish the trilogy. with a light on. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lisa | 4/19/2011

    " Ready for the third one, I feel like I'm in a marathon, but I have to know what happens. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nicole | 4/8/2011

    " Enjoyed the book, but the ending angered me; I hate cliffhangers that make sure that you have to go and buy the next book if you want to know how the real story ends "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 SJuhl4 | 3/4/2011

    " A friend recommended this and it was great. I wish they would've mentioned that it was 2nd in a series though. I prefer to start at the beginning. This did stand on it's own just fine though. It was a captivating story and I will read the rest of the trilogy. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shannon | 2/13/2011

    " I liked it. I feel so bad for poor Mike though. That kid has a hard life. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Alternate | 1/29/2011

    " Loved it! If the third one lives up to the first two I will be positively devastated when I'm out of them. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jaime | 9/21/2010

    " With the characters and backstory already established, this flowed much faster than "Ghost Road Blues." Really enjoyed this story "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Katie | 1/8/2010

    " My least favorite of the three, but still very good. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Jonathan Maberry

Jonathan Maberry is a New York Times bestselling author and five-time Bram Stoker Award-winner. He writes in multiple genres including suspense, thriller, horror, science fiction, fantasy, action, and steampunk for adults, teens, and middle grade. His works include the Joe Ledger thrillers, Rot & Ruin, Mars One, and Captain America, which is in development for a feature film. He writes comics for Marvel, Dark Horse, and IDW and is the editor of such high-profile anthologies as The X-Files, V-Wars, Out of Tune, Baker Street Irregular, Nights of the Living Dead, and Scary Out There.

About the Narrator

Tom Weiner, a dialogue director and voice artist best known for his roles in video games and television shows such as Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Transformers, is an Earphones Award winner and Audie Award finalist. He is a former member of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival.