Extended Audio Sample

Download Dark Jenny Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dark Jenny, by Alex Bledsoe Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (380 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Alex Bledsoe Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Eddie LaCrosse Novels Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Alex Bledsoe’s fantasy novels have earned rave reviews for their ingenious blend of classic fantasy and hard-boiled detective fiction. Now Bledsoe returns with another tale of intrigue and murder.

Freelance sword jockey Eddie LaCrosse is in the wrong place at the wrong time while conducting an undercover investigation on the island kingdom of Grand Bruan. When a poisoned apple kills a member of the queen’s personal guard, Eddie becomes the prime suspect in the murder. He must do some fast talking to keep his head attached to his shoulders. While trying to clear his name and find the real killer, Eddie becomes embroiled in a nasty political scandal. Someone is trying to ruin Queen Jennifer and doesn’t care who is killed along the way.

The more Eddie digs, the more twisted the lies become, until Eddie finds himself caught between two opposing armies. The fate of the entire kingdom lies in his hands.

Murder, betrayal, and magic—just another day on the job for Eddie LaCrosse.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004244

Quotes & Awards

  • “A perfect blend of Arthurian legend and hard-boiled detecting…Bledsoe skillfully combines humor, action, deduction, and emotion to make the material fresh and engaging for fans of both fantasy and noir.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Stefan Rudnicki reads this combination of Arthurian legend and hard-boiled detective novel with panache. He portrays private sword jockey Eddie LaCrosse like a modern swashbuckler and gumshoe, using irony and humor to develop this cynical and unique character…Rudnicki’s carefully controlled pacing heightens the sense of danger in this intriguing story. Rudnicki sounds familiar with Bledsoe’s style of prose, and his performance feels authentic.”

    AudioFile

  • “Bledsoe’s clever combination of noir and myth makes for an engaging story…Fans of Bledsoe’s other blends of fantasy and noir will love his latest, and new readers will be able to jump right in.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “The third Eddie LaCrosse adventure delivers a skewed version of the King Arthur legend that is at once both tongue-in-cheek and strangely powerful. Combining hard-boiled detective fiction with a fantasy universe, this well-crafted novel should appeal to fans of Glen Cook’s Garrett, PI novels.”

    Library Journal

  •   Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Sandy | 1/26/2014

    " Fun again. I still like Eddie in this novel exploring his past. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Jennifer | 1/16/2014

    " 3.5 I'm not sure how I feel about the King Arthur theme.. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Jennifer Kelley | 1/6/2014

    " Very enjoyable fantasy. I will be looking for the others in the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Vince | 12/27/2013

    " Eddie LaCrosse does it again. Great fantasy/detective story with characters galore! And thank you Tor for putting out an appropriately sized paperback with nice text/font and spacing!!! A pleasure to read. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations