Extended Audio Sample

Download Dark Jenny Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dark Jenny Audiobook, by Alex Bledsoe Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (380 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Alex Bledsoe Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Eddie LaCrosse Novels Release Date: March 2011 ISBN: 9781470801557
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Alex Bledsoe’s fantasy novels have earned rave reviews for their ingenious blend of classic fantasy and hard-boiled detective fiction. Now Bledsoe returns with another tale of intrigue and murder.

Freelance sword jockey Eddie LaCrosse is in the wrong place at the wrong time while conducting an undercover investigation on the island kingdom of Grand Bruan. When a poisoned apple kills a member of the queen’s personal guard, Eddie becomes the prime suspect in the murder. He must do some fast talking to keep his head attached to his shoulders. While trying to clear his name and find the real killer, Eddie becomes embroiled in a nasty political scandal. Someone is trying to ruin Queen Jennifer and doesn’t care who is killed along the way.

The more Eddie digs, the more twisted the lies become, until Eddie finds himself caught between two opposing armies. The fate of the entire kingdom lies in his hands.

Murder, betrayal, and magic—just another day on the job for Eddie LaCrosse.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004244

Quotes & Awards

  • “A perfect blend of Arthurian legend and hard-boiled detecting…Bledsoe skillfully combines humor, action, deduction, and emotion to make the material fresh and engaging for fans of both fantasy and noir.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Stefan Rudnicki reads this combination of Arthurian legend and hard-boiled detective novel with panache. He portrays private sword jockey Eddie LaCrosse like a modern swashbuckler and gumshoe, using irony and humor to develop this cynical and unique character…Rudnicki’s carefully controlled pacing heightens the sense of danger in this intriguing story. Rudnicki sounds familiar with Bledsoe’s style of prose, and his performance feels authentic.”

    AudioFile

  • “Bledsoe’s clever combination of noir and myth makes for an engaging story…Fans of Bledsoe’s other blends of fantasy and noir will love his latest, and new readers will be able to jump right in.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “The third Eddie LaCrosse adventure delivers a skewed version of the King Arthur legend that is at once both tongue-in-cheek and strangely powerful. Combining hard-boiled detective fiction with a fantasy universe, this well-crafted novel should appeal to fans of Glen Cook’s Garrett, PI novels.”

    Library Journal

  •   Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sandy | 1/26/2014

    " Fun again. I still like Eddie in this novel exploring his past. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer | 1/16/2014

    " 3.5 I'm not sure how I feel about the King Arthur theme.. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer Kelley | 1/6/2014

    " Very enjoyable fantasy. I will be looking for the others in the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Vince | 12/27/2013

    " Eddie LaCrosse does it again. Great fantasy/detective story with characters galore! And thank you Tor for putting out an appropriately sized paperback with nice text/font and spacing!!! A pleasure to read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lori Mason | 12/5/2013

    " Camelot - with more than a few twists. Written so well that I didn't realize the parallels until close to the end. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Angie | 10/6/2013

    " I fell in love with this book even before I realized it was a "retelling" of Arthurian myth, which I am a huge fan of. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jenna | 10/5/2013

    " Arthur/Guinevere/Lancelot retelling... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Richard | 9/21/2013

    " Read The Sword-Edged Blonde and Burn Me Deadly first. Fun mash-up of hardboiled detective (think Philip Marlowe) transposed into a generic swords-and-sorcery milieu. Fast and easy read. First in the series got a fourth star for originality; this one isn't worse, just more of the same. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Rachel | 5/21/2013

    " oh yes, i HAD read it. i forgot until i read the blurbs again... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Bill | 3/20/2013

    " Oh man I just love these stories. Fans of Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden series will definitely dig Mr. Bledsoe's offerings. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jeff Cadoff | 9/15/2012

    " Just a ton of swords n sorcery fun. Sherlock in the dark ages is too cool. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Amanda | 9/4/2012

    " The genre bending was So. Weird. I enjoyed it, but it wasn't my normal taste, and the writing style wasn't my thing either. But, I might read some more of the books in this series, because I always love new takes on fairy tales, even if I'm not into the detective novel. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Emmalee | 7/21/2012

    " A bit of arthurian legend spin in this one. Excellent again. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Pilars Scott | 6/5/2012

    " Good enough but stuck too close to the Arthurian plotline. Would have liked to seen more risk taking with the storyline. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lulu | 3/16/2012

    " It was a very good book. Enjoyable. But I did not quite like the end of the story. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tom | 1/1/2012

    " A great remake of the King Arthur tale. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 M. Pax | 11/27/2011

    " My first Eddie Cross and I enjoyed it. Good read. I will read his other books. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Corry L. | 9/11/2011

    " Great to see another Eddie Lacrosse novel. I enjoyed this more than the second book in the series. It's not as humorous or punchy as The Sword Edged Blonde (book 1), but stands well both on its own and as another chapter in Eddie Lacrosse's adventure-filled life. Well worth the read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mary | 5/19/2011

    " My first Eddie Cross and I enjoyed it. Good read. I will read his other books. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Pilars | 5/17/2011

    " Good enough but stuck too close to the Arthurian plotline. Would have liked to seen more risk taking with the storyline. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer | 4/25/2011

    " Very enjoyable fantasy. I will be looking for the others in the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 David | 4/10/2011

    " I won this book thru Goodreads. I loved it. It has a definite Arthurian feel, but the wit and humor of the main character was great. It was very well written and even though it is the third book in the series I didn't feel lost. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Johne | 3/10/2011

    " Think of an alternate Camelot story as told by Philip Marlowe, and you're not far off. This reads fast, and I really like the entire series. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Alex Bledsoe

Alex Bledsoe grew up in west Tennessee, an hour north of Graceland. He’s been a reporter, editor, photographer, and door-to-door vacuum-cleaner salesman. He has published more than fifty short stories on topics as diverse as big-game hunters, mermaids, modern witches, Victorian gentlemen, and country musicians. He has two sons and lives in Wisconsin.

About the Narrator

Stefan Rudnicki first became involved with audiobooks in 1994. Now a Grammy-winning audiobook producer, he has worked on more than three thousand audiobooks as a narrator, writer, producer, or director. He has narrated more than three hundred audiobooks. A recipient of multiple AudioFile Earphones Awards, he was presented the coveted Audie Award for solo narration in 2005, 2007, and 2014 and was named one of AudioFile’s Golden Voices in 2012.