Download Dancing Barefoot: Five Short but True Stories about Life in the So-Called Space Age Audiobook

Dancing Barefoot: Five Short but True Stories about Life in the So-Called Space Age Audiobook, by Wil Wheaton Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Wil Wheaton Narrator: Wil Wheaton Publisher: Skyboat Media Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: December 2013 ISBN: 9781482998863
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $12.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $9.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Wil Wheaton—blogger, geek, and Star Trek: The Next Generation’s Wesley Crusher—gives us five short-but-true tales of life in the so-called Space Age in Dancing Barefoot. With a true geek’s unflinching honesty, Wil examines life, love, the web, and the absurdities of Hollywood in these compelling autobiographical narratives. Based on pieces first published in Wil’s hugely popular blog,, the stories in Dancing Barefoot chronicle a teen television star’s journey to maturity and self-acceptance. Far from the usual celebrity tell-all, Dancing Barefoot is a vivid account of one man’s version of that universal story, the search for self. If you’ve ever fallen in love, wondered what goes on behind the scenes at a Star Trek convention, or thought hard about the meaning of life, you’ll find a kindred soul in the pages of Dancing Barefoot. In the process of uncovering his true geeky self, Wil Wheaton speaks to the inner geek in all of us.

The stories include:

“Houses in Motion” – Memories fill the emptiness left within a childhood home, and saying goodbye brings them to life.

“Ready or Not Here I Come” – A game of hide-and-seek with the kids works as a time machine, taking Wil on a tour of the hiding and seeking of years gone by.

“Inferno” – Two fifteen-year-olds pass in the night, leaving behind pleasant memories and a perfumed Car Wars Deluxe Edition Box Set.

“We Close Our Eyes” – A few beautiful moments spent dancing in the rain.

“The Saga of SpongeBob VegasPants” – A story of love, hate, laughter, and the acceptance of all things Trek.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “In this short but sweet memoir, Wil Wheaton, best known for his role as Wesley Crusher in Star Trek: The Next Generation, dishes about everything from psycho fans to the joys of being a stepfather with equal parts warmth and humor. The narrative itself is amusing, but hearing him mimicking costars (such as a dead-on impression of Patrick Stewart as Captain Picard saying his famous ‘Make it so’) brings it to a whole new level of hilarity. He also enlivens the wacky world of comic convention attendees with vocal caricatures, performing a variety of accents…An amusing listen for anyone who’s truly a geek at heart.”


  • “Short but sweet, a highly recommended addition to anyone’s bookshelf—Trekker, Trekkie, geek, or otherwise—we can’t wait for his next book!”

    Paul Hudson, Linux Format

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Wil Wheaton is an actor, voice artist, author, and award-winning audiobook narrator. Among his movie credits are Stand by Me and Toy Soldiers. His many television credits include Star Trek: The Next Generation, The Big Bang Theory, and Generator Rex. As a narrator of more than a dozen audiobooks, he has twice won the prestigious Audie Award, twice been a finalist for the Audie, and earned an Earphones Award from AudioFile magazine.