Extended Audio Sample

Download Dance Upon the Air Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dance Upon the Air, by Nora Roberts Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (28,861 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Nora Roberts Narrator: Sandra Burr Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Three Sisters Island Trilogy Release Date:
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Nell Channing is new to Three Sisters Island and has a furtive look about her, as though she’s being hunted. Given that Three Sisters Island is a small place where most people know each other, her behavior doesn’t go unnoticed. However, the inhabitants withhold their judgment and give her a chance to prove herself before they start getting suspicious. Nell is met with friendship on the part of Mia, a woman who gives her a job and rents her a place to stay. Nell also starts to develop a tentative relationship with Sherriff Zack Todd who comes from a family of law enforcers and is proud to be the one who keeps Three Sisters Island safe.

However, Nell is hiding a secret from everyone that she is deathly afraid to reveal. The truth is that her real name is Helen Remington, and she was in an abusive relationship. Finally, the only way she could get away from her husband was to fake her own death and take on a different name. This is the reason why she’s been acting so strange. However, given the support of her new friends and her romantic interest, Helen reveals the truth and, in doing so, also opens herself up to discovering her powers, because Helen is a witch!

Helen, Mia and Mia’s friend, Ripley, are descendents of the three witches who formed Three Sisters Island. Like Helen, they came there persecuted and driven away from their homes, but they cast a spell to make sure that at some point in the distant future, their descendants would be reunited on this island and live in safety.

Nora Roberts has taken up and developed a lovely idea in this trilogy, which combines elements of the real world and fantasy. This is a book that has something for everyone—the romantic, the fantasy lover and the thriller addict. The character of Helen is riveting and her emotional development through the book is empowering. The romance that develops between her and Zach consists of emotional bonding as well as a steamy physical element.

Roberts was born Eleanor Marie Roberts in 1950; she started writing after getting married and having two children. At first, she wrote category romances, but once she became established in this genre, she started experimenting more and introducing elements of fantasy and mystery in her writing to produce books like Dance Upon the Air. After being married for fifteen years, Nora divorced her first husband; she remarried a couple of years later. She is extremely prolific and finished writing a hundred novels in 1996. Her daily routine includes writing for eight hours everyday, even when she’s on vacation.

When Nell Channing arrives on charming Three Sisters Island, she believes that she's finally found refuge from her abusive husband - and from the terrifying life she fled so desperately eight months ago . . . But even in this quiet, peaceful place, Nell never feels entirely at ease. Careful to conceal her true identity, she takes a job as a cook at the local bookstore café - and begins to explore her feelings for the island sheriff, Zack Todd. But there is a part of herself she can never reveal to him - for she must continue to guard her secrets if she wants to keep the past at bay. One careless word, one misplaced confidence, and the new life she's so carefully created could shatter completely. Just as Nell starts to wonder if she'll ever be able to break free of her fear, she realizes that the island suffers from a terrible curse - one that can only be broken by the descendants of the Three Sisters, the witches who settled the island back in 1692. And now, with the help of two other strong, gifted women - and the nightmares of the past haunting her every step - she must find the power to save her home, her love . . . and herself . . . Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Dottie | 2/13/2014

    " Got caught up in another Nora Roberts Trilogy. Witches, danger and love. Who can resist. Am reading second book now. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Kristy | 2/9/2014

    " so i started reading the first chapter, and realized i have read this trilogy....and remember loving it...so onto another book i shall go. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Shelly Kotalik | 1/20/2014

    " An average and not that engaging magical book (part of a trilogy that I'm not that excited to read). I still love the Circle Trilogy the best. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Roxy | 1/15/2014

    " Second time reading this book. Nora Roberts is usually a fun light read and this is one of my favs. Small town setting, book store-cafe-hub in the town, witches, little romance, little drama, a hunky take-action love-interest man....some of my favorite things. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations