Extended Audio Sample

Download Curse of the Spider King Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Curse of the Spider King Audiobook, by Wayne Thomas Batson Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.00179856115108 out of 54.00179856115108 out of 54.00179856115108 out of 54.00179856115108 out of 54.00179856115108 out of 5 4.00 (556 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Wayne Thomas Batson, Christopher Hopper Narrator: Greg Whalen Publisher: Oasis Audio, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Berinfell Prophecies Release Date: October 2009 ISBN: 9781608146055
Regular Price: $20.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Will anyone escape the wrath of the Spider King? The Spider King's minions are crossing from Allyra to Earth to hunt for seven unsuspecting thirteen-year-olds, who are royalty from a foreign world. Stopped once by an ancient curse, the dark forces are determined to finish the job. The Seven's only hope for survival is a remnant of exiled Elves intent on restoring their kingdom. But can they be trusted? Navigating the tangled web of the Spider King, the teens must make a perilous choice: Go to Allyra and face an uncertain destiny, or remain on Earth and risk the lives of the ones they love. Download and start listening now!

BK_OASI_000642

Quotes & Awards

  • “The fast pace, non-stop action, humorous interactions, and unfolding of the personalities of the seven Elven Lords will keep listeners engaged and eager for the next installment.”

    School Library Journal

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cameron | 2/7/2014

    " The time has come, the pieces are set, and The Spider King has waited ever so patiently for this opportune moment. He strikes and the Allyran Elves have no clue the magnitude of force that has been unleashed. What will become of the elves? Is their race doomed to become nothing more than a footnote in the rewrite of history at the hands of The Spider King? Or will their one shred of hope in the Berinfell Prophecies come to pass. This adventurous tale is co-written by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper. Curse of the Spider King is the first book of the Berinfell Prophecies and is full of great twists and turns, ups and downs, and leaves you wanting more! Authors Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper trigger the imagination to enter a new world of glorious heroism and horrific evil. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rachel | 2/6/2014

    " This is a great book. I connected with it quickly and loved the teen elf lords. The elves are like the kind you would read in The Lord OF the Rings, not Santa Clause. Love it. Each character has their own personality that readers can identify with. I personally liked the character Jimmy because his story pulled at my heart strings. The action is exciting and the world of Berinfell is fully developed. The powers of the teens are so cool, ranging from hearing people's thoughts to incredible strength. Spiders as the enemy are a brilliant idea because most people seem to hate spiders. A great tale written by two great authors. Recommended for anyone. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shelley | 1/21/2014

    " This was a pleasant surprise. I chose the book because of the great reviews, but really wasn't expecting much- maybe because there are spiders involved! It's a good story with plenty of action and adventure. There are a lot of characters and even though the authors spend a fair amount of time on each, towards the end when they were all together I was having a hard time keeping them and their powers straight. I don't think how quickly they all embraced their heritage and accepted leaving their homes is quite believable for 13 year old kids, but I'm not going to let that bother me. I will continue with the series and recommend this book to my own children to read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Eagleswings | 1/16/2014

    " The Curse of the Spider King by Wanye Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper is an exellent book for ages 6 to 100. The Authours set up a wonderful begining for a series and leave you wanting to read more. This book is a high quaility Christian litature, with NO bad language! The Curse of the Spider King is about seven teenagers who find out they are royalty from an elvish world. This book is exciting and will appeal to both males and females.Fans of Wayne Thomas Baton or Christopher Hopper will love this new co authoured novel! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Belac | 12/23/2013

    " So much happens in this book it is hard to write a short review on it. Seven different characters each with his/her own unique story! Loved it! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sarel Boshoff | 12/13/2013

    " This book has been a lot of fun to read,it absolutely captivates you from the first pages it doesn't break that hold that it has on you. The book is well written and the plot has been well thought out. Would recommend it to any reader that loves a very well rounded book in the fiction genre. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Brian McBride | 11/7/2013

    " An amazing, EPIC fantasy for all ages! It's good, clean fantasy-adventure with some mildly violent moments. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wendy | 10/20/2013

    " for some reason I just really enjoyed this book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 AlexM | 9/7/2013

    " This book was a great read. Had strong characters and very interesting plot. If you liked books like Spiderwick or even bigger fantasy I strongly recomend it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ryebrynn | 9/3/2013

    " Three unlikely and young teenager are sought out by both minions of the Spider King and the Elves of Allyra. As they face dangers and trials, Autumn and Johnny Briarman, Jett Green, Jimmy Gresham, Kat Simmonson, Kiri Lee Yuen, and Tommy Bowman try to escape to the Elven world of Allyra. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dan | 8/23/2013

    " .. a fairly good read ... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Noah C | 6/29/2013

    " A very exciting and interesting story! You can imagine everything! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Adonna | 4/30/2013

    " Entertaining, though it did end abruptly. I guess he's trying really hard to hook you into the next book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bethany | 9/7/2012

    " I love Wayne Thomas Batson's books so much! There were a few missed typos, but the book was still amazing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Becky | 7/15/2012

    " So we read this book as a family... It is your typical fantasy. It is pretty good, but I only gave it three stars because it is def a PG-13 book. Some scary parts and a little violent. Not for elementary age kids. We will probably finish the series and then I'll rate it again. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Monika | 6/18/2012

    " This is a book for kids, but written at a pretty high reading level. Once you get into it, it's a pretty good fantasy novel. If you are a LOTR fan, you might like this one. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 James Stout | 2/22/2012

    " If you like C.S. Lewis' Narnia books, you'll like this series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cameron Strauss | 2/14/2012

    " The time has come, the pieces are set, and The Spider King has waited ever so patiently for this opportune moment. He strikes and the Allyran Elves have no clue the magnitude of force that has been unleashed. What will become of the elves? Is their race doomed to become nothing more than a footnote in the rewrite of history at the hands of The Spider King? Or will their one shred of hope in the Berinfell Prophecies come to pass. This adventurous tale is co-written by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper. Curse of the Spider King is the first book of the Berinfell Prophecies and is full of great twists and turns, ups and downs, and leaves you wanting more! Authors Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper trigger the imagination to enter a new world of glorious heroism and horrific evil. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 David Miles | 11/17/2011

    " This book is OK. It can be interesting at times but not really the exciting type. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sami | 11/12/2011

    " Great book. I really liked it and want to read the second one. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jo * Smut-Dickted * | 10/20/2011

    " This is an amazing start of a new series. I've reviewed it on amazon but wanted to just add a note here that the characters are rich, the plot is excellent paced, and the writing is crisp and clear. Enjoy! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ben | 4/15/2011

    " The sad truth about this series is that the author may not write the last book due to publishing difficulties. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Zachary | 3/21/2011

    " they are back in Allra at last- their home planet- but now they haft to face the spider king. DUH DUNT DAA >:( "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Libby | 3/20/2011

    " Again I felt like the first half of the book dragged, and I couldn't put down the second half. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jeanette | 2/18/2011

    " I love these books. I plan on buying copies to have in my own library. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jessica | 2/9/2011

    " If the spiders are scaring you after the first book in this series being called 'The Curse of the Spider King', don't be. The spiders are nearly completely unseen - nearly. If you enjoy fiction fantasy, you will like The Berinfell Prophesies! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jeanette | 9/30/2010

    " I found this book filled with adventure. Any young adult would enjoy it. It keeps you reading and interested. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Wayne Thomas Batson

Wayne Thomas Batson is the author of several bestselling novels, including The Door Within Trilogy, The Isle series, and The Berinfell series. As a middle school reading teacher, he writes adventures set in imaginative locales because he believes that we all dream of doing something that matters. 

About the Narrator

Greg Whalen has been doing funny voices for over fifteen years, and even some normal ones. He can be heard on everything from the History Channel to Toon Disney. Greg was awarded a Performing Arts Fellowship to attend the graduate acting program at the University of Illinois, Champaign, where he obtained his MFA. He lives in Chicago.