Circus Mirandus Audiobook, by Cassie Beasley Play Audiobook Sample

Download Circus Mirandus Audiobook

Circus Mirandus Audiobook, by Cassie Beasley Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $20.95 Add to Cart
Author: Cassie Beasley Narrator: Bronson Pinchot Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio Length: Release Date: June 2015 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781101892329

Publisher Description

Fans of Big Fish, Peter Pan, and Roald Dahl will fall in love with Circus Mirandus, which celebrates the power of seeing magic in world.

Do you believe in magic? Micah Tuttle does.

Even though his awful great-aunt Gertrudis doesn’t approve, Micah believes in the stories his dying Grandpa Ephraim tells him of the magical circus mirandus: the invisible tiger guarding the gates, the beautiful flying birdwoman, and the magician more powerful than any other—the man who bends light. Finally, Grandpa Ephraim offers proof. The circus is real. And the lightbender owes Ephraim a miracle. With his friend Jenny Mendoza in tow, Micah sets out to find the circus and the man he believes will save his grandfather.

The only problem is, the lightbender doesn’t want to keep his promise. And now it’s up to Micah to get the miracle he came for.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “You’ll love the chance to believe in magic again.”

    - Redbook
  • The stakes are high, the action is wild, the resolution satisfying; Pinchon embodies the whimsy of the text, yet he also takes it seriously. He narrates with a sense of wonder in his voice that makes the magic of the book come alive.

    - Publishers Weekly review of the audio edition of Circus Mirandus
  • “Totally immersive (and plans for a movie version are in the works!).”

    - Good Housekeeping
  • “Manifestations of belief and unbelief run through Cassie Beasley’s charming debut, which takes readers to a marvelous place.”

    - Wall Street Journal
  • “Beasley’s story will enthrall older kids.”

    - Parents Magazine
  • “A beguiling first novel…[that] has the quality of an extended dream, a David Lynch episode as seen through a happier camera.”

    - New York Times Book Review
  • “Readers will be left with the reminder that ‘just because a magic is small doesn’t mean it is unimportant.’”

    - Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “This gripping fantasy tale will have readers hooked from the opening scene to the breathtaking—and unexpected—conclusion.”

    - School Library Journal (starred review)
  • “A fantastical circus romp…a delicious confection and much more: it shows that the human heart is delicate, that it matters, and that it must be handled with care.”

    - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
  • “Bronson Pinchot performs with the wise air of a storyteller… Pinchot’s voice for Micah is equal parts wonder and grief…Pinchot’s narration captures the excitement as magic seeps into the story…A solid fantasy particularly good for family listening.”

    - AudioFile

Awards

  • A New York Times Editor’s Choice
  • A BookPage Best Book of 2015 for Middle Grade Fiction

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Cassie Beasley is from rural Georgia, where, when she’s not writing, she helps out on the family pecan farm. She earned her MFA in writing for children and young adults at the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Circus Mirandus is her first novel.

About the Narrator

Bronson Pinchot, Audible’s Narrator of the Year for 2010, has won Publishers Weekly Listen-Up Awards, AudioFile Earphones Awards, Audible’s Book of the Year Award, and Audie Awards for several audiobooks, including Matterhorn, Wise Blood, Occupied City, and The Learners. A magna cum laude graduate of Yale, he is an Emmy- and People’s Choice-nominated veteran of movies, television, and Broadway and West End shows. His performance of Malvolio in Twelfth Night was named the highlight of the entire two-year Kennedy Center Shakespeare Festival by the Washington Post. He attended the acting programs at Shakespeare & Company and Circle-in-the-Square, logged in well over 200 episodes of television, starred or costarred in a bouquet of films, plays, musicals, and Shakespeare on Broadway and in London, and developed a passion for Greek revival architecture.