Extended Audio Sample

Download Chicago: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Chicago: A Novel Audiobook, by David Mamet Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: David Mamet Narrator: Jim Frangione Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2018 ISBN: 9780062842985
Regular Price: $26.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A big-shouldered, big-trouble thriller set in mobbed-up 1920s Chicago—a city where some people knew too much and where everyone should have known better—by the Oscar-nominated screenwriter of The Untouchables and Pulitzer Prize–winning playwright of Glengarry Glen Ross.

Mike Hodge, veteran of the Great War, big shot of the Chicago Tribune, medium fry, probably shouldn’t have fallen in love with Annie Walsh. Then, again, maybe the man who killed Annie Walsh have known better than to trifle with Mike Hodge.

In Chicago, David Mamet has created a bracing, kaleidoscopic page-turner that roars through the Windy City’s underground on its way to a thunderclap of a conclusion. Here is not only his first novel in more than two decades but the book he has been building to for his whole career.

Mixing some of his most brilliant fictional creations with actual figures of the era, suffused with trademark “Mamet Speak,” richness of voice, pace, and brio, and exploring—as no other writer can—questions of honor, deceit, revenge, and devotion, Chicago is that rarest of literary creations: a book that combines spectacular elegance of craft with a kinetic wallop as fierce as the February wind gusting off Lake Michigan.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “The prose is economical yet lustrous, perfectly capturing a time when facility with language was prized…For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “The finest American writer of his generation.”

    Sunday Mail, praise for the author

  • "[Mamet] uses dazzle and deception to build elaborate houses of cards that coldly toy with audience expectations the way playful cats fool around with mice trapped under their paws.”

    Los Angeles Times, praise for the author

  • “Everything Mamet does…is blunt and bracing, honest and provocative, original and gutsy.”

    New York Times Book Review, praise for the author

  • “Mamet resembles Ernest Hemingway more, perhaps, than any writer of his generation.”

    New York Magazine, praise for the author

  • “The most acute ear for dialogue of any American writer since J. D. Salinger.”

    Village Voice, praise for the author

  • “The story moves at a careening pace, drawing on a small but memorable cast of characters…An evocative, impressive return that Mamet fans will welcome.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “To call David Mamet’s language scathing, snappy and whip-smart is true, but trite. So I won’t. I’ll instead refer to the playwright’s words as poetry.”

    Chicago Theater Beat, praise for the author

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author David Mamet

David Mamet is an acclaimed playwright, screenwriter, film director, and essayist whose many works include the Academy Award–nominated film Wag the Dog and the Pulitzer Prize–winning play Glengarry Glen Ross.

About the Narrator

Jim Frangione is an audiobook narrator who won AudioFile magazine’s 2011 Best Voice in Mystery and Suspense for his reading of Philip Carter’s The Altar of Bones and Spencer Quinn’s To Fetch a Thief. He has won eight Earphones Awards and in 2009 was a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award.