Chicago: A Novel Audiobook, by David Mamet Play Audiobook Sample

Download Chicago: A Novel Audiobook

Chicago: A Novel Audiobook, by David Mamet Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $19.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $27.99 Add to Cart
Author: David Mamet Narrator: Jim Frangione Publisher: HarperAudio Audio Length: Release Date: February 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780062842985

Publisher Description

A big-shouldered, big-trouble thriller set in mobbed-up 1920s Chicago—a city where some people knew too much, and where everyone should have known better—by the Oscar-nominated screenwriter of The Untouchables and Pulitzer Prize–winning playwright of Glengarry Glen Ross.

Mike Hodge—veteran of the Great War, big shot of the Chicago Tribune, medium fry—probably shouldn’t have fallen in love with Annie Walsh. Then, again, maybe the man who killed Annie Walsh have known better than to trifle with Mike Hodge.

In Chicago, David Mamet has created a bracing, kaleidoscopic tale that roars through the Windy City’s underground on its way to a thunderclap of a conclusion. Here is not only his first novel in more than two decades, but the book he has been building to for his whole career. Mixing some of his most brilliant fictional creations with actual figures of the era, suffused with trademark "Mamet Speak," richness of voice, pace, and brio, and exploring—as no other writer can—questions of honor, deceit, revenge, and devotion, Chicago is that rarest of literary creations: a book that combines spectacular elegance of craft with a kinetic wallop as fierce as the February wind gusting off Lake Michigan.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Mamet resembles Ernest Hemingway more, perhaps, than any writer of his generation.”

    - New York Magazine, praise for the author
  • “Everything Mamet does…is blunt and bracing, honest and provocative, original and gutsy.”

    - New York Times Book Review, praise for the author
  • “The most acute ear for dialogue of any American writer since J. D. Salinger.”

    - Village Voice, praise for the author
  • "[Mamet] uses dazzle and deception to build elaborate houses of cards that coldly toy with audience expectations the way playful cats fool around with mice trapped under their paws.”

    - Los Angeles Times, praise for the author
  • “The finest American writer of his generation.”

    - Sunday Mail, praise for the author
  • “The prose is economical yet lustrous, perfectly capturing a time when facility with language was prized…For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane.”

    - Booklist (starred review)
  • “The story moves at a careening pace, drawing on a small but memorable cast of characters…An evocative, impressive return that Mamet fans will welcome.”

    - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
  • “To call David Mamet’s language scathing, snappy and whip-smart is true, but trite. So I won’t. I’ll instead refer to the playwright’s words as poetry.”

    - Chicago Theater Beat, praise for the author

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

David Mamet is one of the foremost American playwrights. He has won a Pulitzer prize and received Tony nominations for his plays, Glengarry Glen Ross and Speed-the-Plow. His screenwriting credits include The Verdict and The Untouchables.

About the Narrator

Daniel G. Amen, MD, is a physician, psychiatrist, teacher, and head of the Amen Clinics. He is the author of more than thirty books, including eight New York Times bestsellers. An internationally recognized keynote speaker, he has also been the host of several popular public television specials about the brain. Dr. Amen is the lead researcher on the world’s largest brain-imaging and rehabilitation study on professional football players and is widely regarded as one of the world’s foremost experts on applying brain-imaging science to everyday clinical practice.