Extended Audio Sample

Download Big Nate: In a Class by Himself Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Big Nate: In a Class by Himself Audiobook, by Lincoln Peirce Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (5,154 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Lincoln Peirce Narrator: Fred Berman Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Big Nate Series Release Date: March 2010 ISBN: 9780062002617
Regular Price: $12.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Big Nate is in a class by himself!

But things don't always go your way just because you're awesome.

  • Nate barely survives his dad's toxic oatmeal before rushing off to school—minus his lunch.
  • He body slams the no-nonsense principal.
  • He accidentally insults his least favorite teacher, the horrifying Mrs. Godfrey (aka Godzilla).
  • And school has barely started!

Nate keeps his cool. He knows he's destined for greatness. A fortune cookie told him so.

For fans of the ever popular, ever hilarious Diary of a Wimpy Kid series: Get ready to meet Big Nate!

Download and start listening now!

BK_HARP_002136

Quotes & Awards

  • “Fred Berman meets the challenge of bringing such a varied and well-known cast to life. He is an effervescent Nate—excitable, eager, always optimistic—and he tailors his intonation and pace to each of the other characters as well.” 

    AudioFile

  • “The book’s appeal lies in Nate’s wickedly astute observations…Though Nate may not achieve the fame he seeks with his classmates, this sharp-witted and unflappable protagonist just might find it with readers.” 

    Publishers Weekly

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A Publishers Weekly Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lorna | 2/17/2014

    " We've all known kids like Nate. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Katie Shapiro | 2/6/2014

    " I thought this book was really funny. I laughed a lot while I was reading it and enjoyed it. However, I felt like it was a little like Diary of a Wimpy Kid in that there was not much of a plot throughout the book. I don't know if I'll read the rest of the series but I recommend this book to you! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Reese | 2/5/2014

    " Nate he's awesome he always(tries)keeps his cool. he's a weird, supersticious, awesome kid who doesn't love him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 William | 2/3/2014

    " I think you would really like the series of Big Nate, because its halarious and about the epic life of the main character Nate Wright, and being with his best friends Teddy, and Francis. Nate goes to the school called P.S.38 being with Nates worst teacher Ms.Godfery. Nates hobby is drawing, playing soccer and other awsome activities. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kimberly | 1/25/2014

    " Fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid will love this... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Pamela | 1/19/2014

    " Good read-alike to Diary of a Wimpy Kid. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wade | 1/18/2014

    " All Big Nate books are awesome.I usually don't read books but Big Nate books are awesome. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Jennifer | 1/14/2014

    " Very cliche and not as funny as Diary of a Wimpy Kid. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Hannah | 1/4/2014

    " It was ok, it reminded me of the Calvin and Hobbes comics, without being nearly as funny. I didn't mind the Diary of a Wimpy Kid, but this wasn't as good. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Horace Mann Family Reading Challenge | 12/27/2013

    " I read this because my friend gave me the 3rd and I read it, but I had not read number 1! H. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Charlotte | 12/22/2013

    " As funny as all the other ones! Nate hasn't changed one bit. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Heather | 12/10/2013

    " Big Nate sets out to prove he will exceed all others. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jack glatz | 10/28/2013

    " I thought this book was a total copy of diary of a wimpy kid and its better than it 10/10 "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Vince 11-12 | 10/8/2013

    " It was a great book about what happens to Nate I can't wait to read the 2nd book "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Meredith | 5/21/2013

    " Meh. Too similar to Wimpy Kid and not as charming, in my opinion. But the kids love it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Renee | 1/3/2013

    " A read alike to Diary of a Wimpy Kid, but not as good. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michele | 11/18/2012

    " What a fun quick read. I know why my middle school boys like this one. I think some of my colleagues should read this. It may help them reflect and chillax during the day. Kids are just kids. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jules G | 10/15/2012

    " One of my faveorite things about this book is probably the illustrations. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Neh | 9/2/2012

    " This book was hilariously funny. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Diane | 9/1/2012

    " It will appeal to students, so I'll be buying it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kyra | 8/6/2012

    " I thought that Big Nate was a reall goodand funny book! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Colin K. | 12/6/2011

    " Big Nate cracks me up! Even though he was a comic,he is now a book. 5 stars! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Austin Wilson | 11/9/2011

    " lincoln pierce brings out a new character to the world one that is very similar to my favorite series diary of a wimpy kid anyone who likes greg hefley will love big nate "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Heidi | 5/21/2011

    " This was a fun read with my son! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bao | 5/12/2011

    " This book is great!!! Every Kid should read it since school is everything a lot of kids know!!! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sara | 5/12/2011

    " It was very good but not quite as good as diary of the wimpy kid. This was more for younger kids. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dondero | 5/2/2011

    " This is hilarious. It is like Diary of a Wimpy Kid. It is so cool because Nate thinks he is funny and the author is awesome. There are three Big Nate books now but there will be more. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carriek | 4/11/2011

    " Diary of A Wimpy Kid fans who like first-person narratives might enjoy Big Nate. With tons of humor and b/w drawings throughout, it is a quick, enjoyable read. I found myself laughing out loud as a breezed through each chapter. Fun book! Good for reluctant readers as well. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Garrett | 3/30/2011

    " This book was pretty good.It wanted to keep me reading it! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Lincoln Peirce

Lincoln Peirce is a New York Times bestselling author, cartoonist, writer, and creator of the comic strip Big Nate, which appears in 250 newspapers nationwide. A fan and collector of classic country music, Peirce also hosts a radio show on WMPG called South by Southwest dedicated to honky tonk and western swing. He lives with his wife and two children in Portland, Maine, and gives lectures to students about cartooning.

About the Narrator

Fred Berman has won eight AudioFile Earphones Awards for his audiobook narration and is the recipient of the 2013 Audie Award for narration in Spy the Lie. He is a theater, film, and television actor, whose credits include Broadway’s The Lion King, Law & Order, and Directing Eddie, among others. He was featured in Entertainment Weekly for his work on the Walking Dead audiobook series.