Beneath a Ruthless Sun: A True Story of Violence, Race, and Justice Lost and Found Audiobook, by Gilbert King Play Audiobook Sample

Download Beneath a Ruthless Sun: A True Story of Violence, Race, and Justice Lost and Found Audiobook

Beneath a Ruthless Sun: A True Story of Violence, Race, and Justice Lost and Found Audiobook, by Gilbert King Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $25.00 Add to Cart
Author: Gilbert King Narrator: Kimberly Farr Publisher: Penguin Audio Audio Length: Release Date: April 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780525528258

Publisher Description

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY NPR and THE WASHINGTON POST

"Compelling, insightful and important, Beneath a Ruthless Sun exposes the corruption of racial bigotry and animus that shadows a community, a state and a nation. A fascinating examination of an injustice story all too familiar and still largely ignored, an engaging and essential read." --Bryan Stevenson, author of Just Mercy

From the author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning bestseller Devil in the Grove, the gripping true story of a small town with a big secret.


In December 1957, the wife of a Florida citrus baron is raped in her home while her husband is away. She claims a "husky Negro" did it, and the sheriff, the infamous racist Willis McCall, does not hesitate to round up a herd of suspects. But within days, McCall turns his sights on Jesse Daniels, a gentle, mentally impaired white nineteen-year-old. Soon Jesse is railroaded up to the state hospital for the insane, and locked away without trial.

But crusading journalist Mabel Norris Reese cannot stop fretting over the case and its baffling outcome. Who was protecting whom, or what? She pursues the story for years, chasing down leads, hitting dead ends, winning unlikely allies. Bit by bit, the unspeakable truths behind a conspiracy that shocked a community into silence begin to surface.

Beneath a Ruthless Sun tells a powerful, page-turning story rooted in the fears that rippled through the South as integration began to take hold, sparking a surge of virulent racism that savaged the vulnerable, debased the powerful, and roils our own times still.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Compelling, insightful. and important, Beneath a Ruthless Sun exposes the corruption of racial bigotry and animus that shadows a community, a state, and a nation…an engaging and essential read.”

    - Bryan Stevenson, New York Times bestselling author
  • A taut, intensely readable narrative.

    - Boston Globe
  • “Gilbert King’s stunning chronicle of race, sex and power in fatal combination yields so many truly tragic turns that it’s almost uncanny when goodness endures. With breakneck drama and cold clarity, Beneath a Ruthless Sun captures the sultry particulars of a uniquely charged place and time as well as a universal truth about how difficult it is for humans in the aggregate to do the right thing.

    - Diane McWhorter, Pulitzer Prize-winning author
  • Exposes the sinister complexity of American racism …King tells this … story with grace and sensitivity, and his narrative never flags. His mastery of the materials is complete.

    - New York Times Book Review
  • “Riveting...King recounts this perplexing story with compassion and a vibrant sense of time and place…[a] sobering but expertly told saga.

    - Washington Post
  • Chilling...Truth oftentimes beggars belief, and the 'true' in 'true crime' can be a promise that betrays as much as it entices. Not so with Gilbert King's scorching, compelling, and — unfortunately — still entirely relevant new work.

    - NPR
  • “A gripping tale of entrenched racism and complicity… King's reporting defies cliché with depth and specificity. He holds to verifiable facts and knows how to let a story and characters evolve… [Beneath a Ruthless Sun] haunts as an uncurtained stare into history.

    - Minneapolis Star-Tribune
  • “Remarkable… Beneath a Ruthless Sun is multiple books in one – a gripping true-crime narrative, a deeply wrenching story of American bigotry and corruption, and an inspiring tale of heroes fired by love and righteous fury… King reminds us of its not-so-distant history as a stronghold of Southern racism and bigotry, a state that produced both horrific violence and courageous protest.

    - Christian Science Monitor
  • Pulitzer Prize winner King returns with a new nonfiction story for those craving a Serial-esque fix… King provides a glimpse into the past that is equal parts enlightening, frustrating, and invariably un-put-downable.

    -   Harper's Bazaar
  • “Fascinating and shocking...King’s new book… reveals how twisted the ideology of white supremacy is and how injustice to one minority can easily justify injustice to all minorities.

    - Wichita Eagle
  • “Pulitzer Prize winner Gilbert King continues his extraordinary historical autopsy of 1950s and ’60s Lake County, Florida, and its infamous racist sheriff Willis McCall… a fascinating look at the South and its people in an era many today fondly remember as when America was ‘great.’

    - Florida Times-Union
  •  “This book is every bit as gripping as the author’s Pulitzer-winning Devil in the Grove...Gripping history, vividly told.

    - Booklist (starred)
  • “The perversions of justice under Jim Crow chart a devious path in this labyrinthine true crime saga… Packed with riveting characters and startling twists, King’s narrative unfolds like a Southern gothic noir probing the recesses of a poisoned society.

    -  Publisher's Weekly (starred)
  • “Tense and stunning...[Beneath a Ruthless Sun's] taut focus on a single case also shines a light onto larger issues of racial profiling, police corruption and the condition of Florida’s mental institutions.

    - Book Page
  • A spellbinding true story of racism, privilege, and official corruption...By turns sobering, frightening, and thrilling, this meticulous account of the power and tenacity of officially sanctioned racism recalls a dark era that America is still struggling to leave behind.

    - Kirkus Reviews (starred)
  • Compelling, insightful and important, Gilbert King exposes the corruption of racial bigotry and animus that shadows a community, a state and a nation.  A fascinating examination of an injustice story all too familiar and still largely ignored, an engaging and essential read.

    - Bryan Stevenson, author of Just Mercy
  • In the tradition of Harper Lee, Gilbert King tells the story of a small southern town corrupted by racism, a perverse genteel honor, and utter disdain for poor “crackers.”  Three women stand out in this gripping tale of a falsely accused man: an unrelenting reporter, a mother, and a victim doubly victimized as a pawn of others’ ambitions.  In deftly unraveling a tragic mixture of lies, violence, and hatred, King powerfully reminds us how the unpalatable beliefs of 1957 haunt us still.

    - Nancy Isenberg, author of White Trash
  • A powerful and well-told drama of Southern injustice.

    - Chicago Tribune
  • “King tells this complex story with grace and sensitivity…His mastery of the material is complete…[and]occasional detours into such subjects as the history of the citrus industry and Dr. King’s protests in St. Augustine are welcome and illuminating.”

    - New York Times

Awards

  • A New York Times Editor’s Choice
  • Winner of the 2018 Florida Book Award Gold Medal in Florida Nonfiction

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Gilbert King is the author of the Pulitzer Prize–winner Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America, which won the Pulitzer Prize in 2013. His other books include The Execution of Willie Francis and Beneath a Ruthless Sun. He has written about US Supreme Court history for the New York Times and the Washington Post and is a featured contributor to Smithsonian magazine’s history blog, Past Imperfect.

About the Narrator

Kimberly Farr is an actress and winner of numerous AudioFile Earphones Awards for narration. She has appeared on Broadway and at the New York Shakespeare Festival, the Roundabout Theatre, Playwright’s Horizons, and the American Place. She created the role of “Eve” in Arthur Miller’s first and only musical, Up from Paradise, which was directed by the author. She appeared with Vanessa Redgrave in the Broadway production of The Lady from the Sea and has acted in regional theaters across the country, including a performance in the original production of The 1940’s Radio Hour at Washington, DC’s Arena Stage.