Ariadne: A Novel Audiobook, by Jennifer Saint Play Audiobook Sample

Ariadne: A Novel Audiobook

Ariadne: A Novel Audiobook, by Jennifer Saint Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95
$9.95 for new members!
(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening)
  • Love your audiobook or we'll exchange it
  • No credits to manage, just big savings
  • Unlimited podcast listening
Add to Cart
$9.95/m - cancel anytime - 
learn more
OR
Regular Price: $26.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Barrie Kreinik Publisher: Macmillan Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 8.00 hours at 1.5x Speed 6.00 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: May 2021 Format: Unabridged Audiobook ISBN: 9781250804686

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

45

Longest Chapter Length:

31:02 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

31 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

15:59 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

4

Other Audiobooks Written by Jennifer Saint: > View All...

Publisher Description

"An elegant performance by narrator Barrie Kreinik recounts the life of Ariadne...This production, with its outstanding narration, makes the classic story new again. Kreinik is the perfect voice for Ariadne, a noble young woman who bravely stands up for her values." -- AudioFile Magazine, Earphones Award winner A mesmerizing debut novel for fans of Madeline Miller's Circe. Ariadne, Princess of Crete, grows up greeting the dawn from her beautiful dancing floor and listening to her nursemaid’s stories of gods and heroes. But beneath her golden palace echo the ever-present hoofbeats of her brother, the Minotaur, a monster who demands blood sacrifice. When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives to vanquish the beast, Ariadne sees in his green eyes not a threat but an escape. Defying the gods, betraying her family and country, and risking everything for love, Ariadne helps Theseus kill the Minotaur. But will Ariadne’s decision ensure her happy ending? And what of Phaedra, the beloved younger sister she leaves behind? Hypnotic, propulsive, and utterly transporting, Jennifer Saint's Ariadne forges a new epic, one that puts the forgotten women of Greek mythology back at the heart of the story, as they strive for a better world. A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books "Jennifer Saint's Ariadne is a shimmering tapestry of two sisters bound by deceit and the shadows of family history...With a fresh voice and keen insight, Saint adds flesh and bone to an ancient myth, drawing the reader into an uneasy world of ever-afters." --Yangsze Choo, New York Times bestselling author of The Night Tiger

Download and start listening now!

“This production, with its outstanding narration, makes the classic story new again. Kreinik is the perfect voice for Ariadne…The dramatic pacing and suspense in Kreinik’s performance will more than satisfy mythology fans and perhaps draw a new audience to the genre. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

— AudioFile 

Quotes

  • “A page-turner.”

    — Glamour
  • “Explores the bonds between women and their epic quest for agency in patriarchal Greek society.”

    — BuzzFeed
  • “Thrusts the reader straight into the heart of Greek mythology with this wonderful reimagining of the story of Ariadne.”

    — The Independent (London)
  • “The story broadens, forks, spins, and braids through the perspective of multiple narrators, and the result is fascinating and unpredictable…A great read.”

    — Chicago Review of Books

Awards

  • Finalist for the Audie Award for Best Literary Fiction & Classics
  • An Amazon Editor’s Top Pick
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Ariadne Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Jennifer Saint

Jennifer Saint, due to a lifelong fascination with ancient Greek mythology, read classical studies at King’s College, London. She spent the next thirteen years as an English teacher, sharing a love of literature and creative writing with her students. She is the internationally bestselling author of Elektra and Ariadne.

About Barrie Kreinik

Barrie Kreinik is an actor, singer, playwright, and voice-dialect coach based in New York City. Her audiobook narrations have earned an AudioFile Earphones Award. A graduate of the Brown/Trinity MFA acting program, she is a proud member of AEA and SAG-AFTRA.