Extended Audio Sample

Download Afraid of the Dark Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Afraid of the Dark Audiobook, by James Grippando Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.16 out of 53.16 out of 53.16 out of 53.16 out of 53.16 out of 5 3.16 (32 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: James Grippando Narrator: Jonathan Davis Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Jack Swyteck Series Release Date: March 2011 ISBN: 9780062027436
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

“Grippando has definitely reached a new level with this series entry. . . . One of his best.” —Booklist (starred review)

A young girl’s murder sets off a grisly cascade of crime, death, and intrigue—and sends criminal defense lawyer Jack Swyteck after a sinister group of terrorists on the verge of unleashing chaos across the globe. From New York Times bestseller James Grippando, the ninth Jack Swyteck novel, Afraid of the Dark—perfect for fans of Steve Martini, Phillip Margolin, and Jo Nesbo—is a rollercoaster thrill ride into the very heart of evil.

Download and start listening now!

BK_HARP_002442

Quotes & Awards

  • “Grippando has proven his skills with edge-of-your-seat thrillers. Afraid of the Dark may be his most gripping yet.” 

    Miami Herald 

  • “Superb plotting, high suspense, compelling timely issues, and finely honed characters make this crime novel/international thriller a great read.” 

    Library Journal (starred review) 

  • “Filled with twists and turns and edge-of-the-seat tension.” 

    RT Book Reviews 

  • “Working with a cast that includes depraved sexual deviants, corrupt private military contractors, and wannabe jihadis, Grippando transforms what might have been a conventional genre novel in lesser hands into an exciting tale of revenge.” 

    Publishers Weekly

  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Courtney | 2/14/2014

    " I didn't like this one as much as I hoped, given I've loved all his other books. It was a little confusing. And I hate it when they give characters names that are close to each other. There was an Andie and an Alicia. And a Hassam and a Habib. Too confusing. Still, I finished it in a day. I just hope his next book is better. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Hrn1947 | 2/13/2014

    " Haven't read this series for awhile. Very good plot, but i didn't feel like i was there like some stories. the end was fast and left alot unfinished. Need to read the first one. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Gordon | 2/12/2014

    " A good read. Plot was good in parts but a little thin in others. Will read more by James Grippando though. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Hope R | 1/29/2014

    " Good twists and turns to keep the reader in the thick of it. Although the characters have depth, it was somewhat difficult for me to connect with them "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Andrea | 1/22/2014

    " A perfectly serviceable police-detective thriller; nothing special, but good enough that I'm going to check out earlier books in the series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ellen | 1/14/2014

    " Another thriller featuring Miami criminal defense attorney, Jack Swyteck. In this outing, Jack is called upon to defend a guy who may or may not be a murderer of a teenage girl. Or he might be a terrorist and if so, he might have been a prisoner in a 'black site' in Prague at the time of the murder. There's very little lawyering in this book, but there's a lot of action and international intrique. Maybe Grippando was trying to channel John LeCarre. Lawyers generally don't lead this kind of exciting life! It was far-fetched but good for a few hours of reading. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Barbara | 1/5/2014

    " This was an interesting story, and would have continued to be so, until he started making it about the law. The law is a subject about which the author obviously knows nothing and didn't ask anybody who did. A week to prepare a death penalty case? Emergency motion to bar the defendant from presenting his defense? The day after arraignment? Nope. I'd MUCH rather read Rumpole. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Robyn | 1/4/2014

    " This novel never really felt compelling, believable or complete. Disappointment. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Vickie | 1/3/2014

    " Warning: bad language and grossness. And too many plot lines. The epilogue- which really had nothing to do with the rest of the book- was the most interesting part. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Patricia | 12/14/2013

    " Not one of my favorites. Too complicated... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Karen | 12/7/2013

    " Great book but a little confusing towards the end. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Larry | 11/2/2013

    " Good suspence..... "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 The Truong | 9/16/2013

    " A subpar novel by JG "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Candy Caine | 8/27/2013

    " Good read. Not disappointed "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Glen | 12/18/2012

    " Excellent thriller/suspense with believable characters, a plot taken from front-page news and writing that pulls you in. A highly recommended read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Leisa | 11/14/2012

    " Always a fan of James Grippando. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cathy Lail | 9/1/2012

    " another great book by Grippando! kept me at the edge of my seat until the very last pages! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Ariana | 3/13/2012

    " Started off okay. Not one of his best books. The language was horrible and just had a disturbing ending. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Anna | 1/30/2012

    " A very readable mystery/thriller. Good entertainment "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ksafford | 12/21/2011

    " Very good. First book by this author that I have read and look forward to enjoying others by him. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Di Lady | 9/6/2011

    " Liked the book but predictable. It's a beach read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Shaon | 8/15/2011

    " Started off with a bang and was good for about half way through. Ending left and entirely bad taste. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Joanne | 5/23/2011

    " The only way this book makes sense is if women are just stupid. Uck! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Chris | 5/13/2011

    " This was a great thriller by Grippando. If your'e looking for a great thriller and/or are a fan of this series, I highly recommend this one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Becky | 5/12/2011

    " Really, really liked this one. It was the perfect mix of violence and mayhem while digging new vegetable beds. This book isn't for the faint of heart. It's graphic. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Robyn | 5/2/2011

    " This novel never really felt compelling, believable or complete. Disappointment. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ashley | 4/30/2011

    " This book was alright. It was fast paced like Grippando's other novels but I wasn't sold on the plot. I wished Theo was in the book more. Jack seemed like a fish out of water for most of the book. Grippando has certainly written better books. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Vickie | 4/23/2011

    " Warning: bad language and grossness. And too many plot lines. The epilogue- which really had nothing to do with the rest of the book- was the most interesting part. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dan | 4/20/2011

    " A very good book and the pages just kept turning and turning to see what would happen next. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Steve | 4/14/2011

    " Convoluted plot with contrived science. Not Grippando's best. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Leisa | 4/7/2011

    " Always a fan of James Grippando. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bob | 4/6/2011

    " Interesting interaction of characters with a twist. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author James Grippando

James Grippando is a New York Times bestselling author with more than twenty books to his credit, including those in his acclaimed series featuring Miami criminal defense attorney Jack Swyteck. Grippando was a trial lawyer for twelve years before the publication of his first novel in 1994. He lives in South Florida with his wife, three children, two cats, and a golden retriever named Max, who has no idea he’s a dog.

About the Narrator

Jonathan Davis has received widespread critical acclaim for his narration in a variety of genres. He has won the prestigious Audie Award for Best Narration in 2009, 2011, and 2012, as well as being a finalist for an Audie in 2007, 2013, and three times in 2014. He has also garnered accolades from Publishers Weekly, USA Today, and AudioFile magazine and has earned more than a dozen AudioFile Earphones Awards.