Extended Audio Sample

Download A Window Opens: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample A Window Opens: A Novel Audiobook, by Elisabeth Egan Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elisabeth Egan Narrator: Julia Whelan Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2015 ISBN: 9781442387973
Regular Price: $23.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

*People’s “Summer’s Must-Reads”*

*“A winning, heartfelt debut.” —Good Housekeeping*

*Publishers Weekly “Best Summer Reads”*

Fans of I Don’t Know How She Does It and Where’d You Go, Bernadette? will cheer at this “fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all” (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny—only to learn every opportunity comes at a price.

In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which she never refers to as “wearing many hats” and wishes you wouldn’t, either). She is a mostly-happily married mother of three, an attentive daughter, an ambivalent dog-owner, a part-time editor, a loyal neighbor and a Zen commuter. She is not: a cook, a craftswoman, a decorator, an active PTA member, a natural caretaker or the breadwinner. But when her husband makes a radical career change, Alice is ready to lean in—and she knows exactly how lucky she is to land a job at Scroll, a hip young start-up which promises to be the future of reading, with its chain of chic literary lounges and dedication to beloved classics. The Holy Grail of working mothers―an intellectually satisfying job and a happy personal life―seems suddenly within reach.

Despite the disapproval of her best friend, who owns the local bookstore, Alice is proud of her new “balancing act” (which is more like a three-ring circus) until her dad gets sick, her marriage flounders, her babysitter gets fed up, her kids start to grow up and her work takes an unexpected turn. Readers will cheer as Alice realizes the question is not whether it’s possible to have it all, but what does she―Alice Pearse―really want? Download and start listening now!

biv2

Quotes & Awards

  • “Egan manages to be wise, honest, poignant and laugh-out-loud funny about marriage, motherhood, daughterhood, and that ever elusive concept: having it all. If you’re a fan of characters like Bridget Jones and I Don’t Know How She Does It‘s Kate Reddy, prepare to fall madly in love with Alice Pearse.”

    J. Courtney Sullivan, New York Times bestselling author

  • “A winning, heartfelt debut.”

    Good Housekeeping

  • “Egan has created a protagonist for the Lean In generation.”

    O, The Oprah Magazine

  • “Alice’s struggles are relatable and heartrending.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Egan’s voice is knowing and funny, and she has a great eye for the minutiae of the modern working mother’s life…[She] packs an incredible amount of humor, observation, and insight into her buoyant debut novel…Women may not be able to have it all, but this novel can.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “The author successfully skewers start-ups and corporate culture.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Elisabeth Egan’s wry, up-to-the-minute social comedy perfectly captures the harried life of a working mother who is, by necessity, on call 24/7 in every sphere. Filled with humor and heartbreak, this acutely observed debut is compulsively readable.”

    Christina Baker Kline, author of Orphan Train

  • A People Magazine Best Book of Summer's Must Reads
  • An August 2015 LibraryReads Pick
  • An Amazon Editor’s Top Pick for Fall
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Narrator

Julia Whelan, winner of eighteen AudioFile Earphones Awards, won the prestigious Audie Award for Best Romance Narration in 2013 and was twice a finalist for an Audie in 2015. She is a former child actor who has appeared in multiple films and television shows, most notably ABC’s Once and Again. After receiving her college degree, she returned to the film industry and is also a writer. Her audiobook credits include memoir, nonfiction, romance, supernatural thrillers, young adult, and adult fiction.