Extended Audio Sample

Download 47 Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample 47 (Unabridged), by Walter Mosley
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (632 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Walter Mosley Narrator: Ossie Davi Publisher: Listening Library Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 3 votes

In his first book for young adults, best-selling author Walter Mosley deftly weaves historical and speculative fiction into a powerful narrative about the nature of freedom.

47 is a young slave boy living under the watchful eye of a brutal slave master. His life seems doomed until he meets a mysterious run-away slave, Tall John. Then 47 finds himself swept up in a struggle for his own liberation.

Deeply compelling, 47 is a rewarding narrative that will introduce a new generation of listeners to one of the most important writers in America.

Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Jody | 2/9/2014

    " Walter Mosley had me right away, but later, when the book becomes "otherworldly", I lost some interest. I like historical fiction. Science fiction? Not as much. Still, a great book! I think this is my first Mosley, and yet, he sounds so familiar! It's about slavery. Oh! And on the back of the book it says, "Recommended for ages 10 to 17." I disagree. The book talks about slaves serving as "studs" and other real details that would have the parents of my fifth graders calling! I would say it's better suited for ages 13 and up. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Kewpie | 2/5/2014

    " 47 is a plantation field slave, forbidden to have a name of his own -- he is simply assigned a number. He lives a life of downtrodden misery until the mysterious Tall John arrives at the plantation. He refuses to think of himself as a slave and claims that freedom comes from within. This is not a typical historic account of slavery. Tall John has a mysterious background and odd magical gadgets he carries in a carpet bag. This is a very unusual hybrid of history and science fiction. Read-alikes: No idea -- this book isn't even like other Walter Mosely books. It seems unique. It reminded me somewhat of a movie from the 80's called "The Brother from Another Planet" I'd recommend this book as a cross-over between science fiction and history. Perhaps someone who likes one but not the other could be persuaded to read this book. This is one of the most original and strange books I have ever read. It was also fun to read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Discovery College | 2/4/2014

    " This was an interesting (weird) mix of sci fi with historic fiction and I am not sure it did it very well. I am not sure of the resolution or for what it was supposed to accomplish. I enjoyed the narrative of life on a plantation as a black slave, but then the story went a bit strange. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Lisa | 2/1/2014

    " I would have given this book a higher rating if it wasnt for the science fiction parts. I could not wrap my head around a being from outer space freeing the slaves "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations