Extended Audio Sample

Download Young Fredle Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Young Fredle Audiobook, by Cynthia Voigt Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.63 out of 53.63 out of 53.63 out of 53.63 out of 53.63 out of 5 3.63 (16 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Cynthia Voigt Narrator: Wendy Carter Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2011 ISBN: 9780307747570
Regular Price: $17.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Cynthia Voigt crafts a novel about discovery, perspective, and the meaning of home—all through the eyes of an affable and worried little mouse. Fredle is an earnest young fellow suddenly cast out of his cozy home behind the kitchen cabinets—into the outside. It's a new world of color and texture and grass and sky. But with all that comes snakes and rain and lawnmowers and raccoons and a different sort of mouse (field mice, they're called) not entirely trustworthy. Do the dangers outweigh the thrill of discovery? Fredle's quest to get back inside soon becomes a wild adventure of predators and allies, of color and sound, of discovery and nostalgia. And, as Fredle himself will come to understand, of freedom.

Download and start listening now!

BK_LILI_001253

Quotes & Awards

  • Move over, Stuart Little. Kirkus (starred review)
  • The adventure is gripping . . . this is a writer at the top of her form, warm without sentimentality, wise without pretension. The Horn Book (starred review)
  • Compelling . . . readers will identify with the universal conflict at the heart of Fredle's journey—even as he longs for home, he enjoys the newfound freedom. Publishers Weekly
  • A 2012 ALA Odyssey Award Honor Audiobook

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shawn | 2/5/2014

    " Young Fredle the mouse learns that asking questions about tradition can lead to danger, and freedom, and a better life full of adventure and family. Gr. 3-5. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Katie | 1/13/2014

    " not that great it was pointless "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Lisa | 1/11/2014

    " Book was ok but a little below my interest level. It is written for children but Voigt has some great classics so I thought I'd check it out. Again, it is ok but the message is a little in your face and the outcomes fairly predictable. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 lynsimarie | 1/3/2014

    " Though this is a children's book, it's a beautiful illustration of how people and cultures can change if we make the effort to understand each other. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathyred | 1/1/2014

    " Gentle read. A young sheltered house mouse gets sick from eating chocolate, and gets taken outside. Readalikes: Nurk by Ursula Vernon and Mrs. Frisby and the rats of NIMH by Robert O'Brien "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 P Heath | 12/9/2013

    " I have a soft spot for mice (in children's books more so than in my kitchen) and this one dis not disappoint. I'll take Young Fredle over Stuart Little any day. he has a great heart and can make a friend of almost anyone. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Heather | 12/2/2013

    " Cute. Fredle is a kitchen mouse who is always asking questions. When his curiosity gets the better of him, he finds himself learning all kinds of things about the world, making new friends and discovering his own adventuresome spirit. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Peep (Pop! Pop!) | 11/27/2013

    " Cute story, clean and good for a family listen. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stephanie | 10/16/2013

    " Enjoyed reading with Audrey....close to 200 pgs, so we are counting it! My little 6 year old also just read the first Harry Potter in three days! Oh my....I'll try to keep up. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Alana | 5/8/2013

    " if you liked the tale of despareaux, you have to read this! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rachael Stein | 2/22/2013

    " Filled with emotional honesty, engaging characters, and an elegant balance of direct, action-oriented language and lyrical description. Sorry I didn't read it sooner - would have liked to discuss it at last year's Mock Newbery. Would make a fine honor book, I say. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Anne | 1/27/2012

    " Charming characters, and I doubt I will ever be able to think of mice as pests again! Enjoyed the audio book -- great voices pulled me into the story even more. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lina | 9/18/2011

    " A fine addition to the genre of mouse stories for children. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Wanda | 8/25/2011

    " Hmmmm. Voigt writes a ho-hum story about a country mouse and a city mouse. Fredle is cute and a free thinker when he has to be, but the writing is not strong and the plot is thin. A better book by far is Tale of Despereaux, if one is looking for strong young mice. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sophie Godley | 3/31/2011

    " one of my favorite books ever that I've read to Leo... finished it last night and we are both ready to start it all over again! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Michelle | 12/28/2010

    " If you like stories of the lives of mice and other animals, this is a good one. Sort of a "country mouse, city mouse" idea, but beyond that - think "kitchen mouse, cellar mouse, field mouse" instead. The kids loved it! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Cynthia Voigt

Cynthia Voigt is the acclaimed author of many books, including Dicey’s Song, winner of the Newbery Medal; A Solitary Blue, winner of a Newbery Honor; and Homecoming. For the body of her work, Cynthia Voigt was honored with the Margaret A. Edwards Award for Outstanding Literature for Young Adults. She lives with her husband in Maine.