Extended Audio Sample

Download You Too Can Have a Body Like Mine: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample You Too Can Have a Body Like Mine: A Novel, by Alexandra Kleeman Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Alexandra Kleeman Narrator: Kelly Pruner Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

A woman known only as A lives in an unnamed American city with her roommate, B, and boyfriend, C, who wants her to join him on a reality dating show called That’s My Partner! A eats mostly popsicles and oranges, watches endless amounts of television—often just for the commercials, particularly the recurring cartoon escapades of Kandy Kat, the mascot for an entirely chemical dessert—and models herself on a standard of beauty that exists as such only in advertising. She fixates on the fifteen minutes of fame a local celebrity named Michael has earned after buying up a Wally’s Supermarket’s entire, and increasingly ample, supply of veal.

Meanwhile, B is attempting to make herself a twin of A, who in turn hungers for something to give meaning to her life, something aside from C’s pornography addiction. Maybe something like what’s gotten into her neighbors across the street, the family who’s begun “ghosting” themselves beneath white sheets and whose garage door features a strange scrawl of graffiti: he who sits next to me, may we eat as one.

An intelligent and madly entertaining novel reminiscent of The Crying of Lot 49, White Noise, and City of Glass, Alexandra Kleeman’s unforgettable debut is a missing-person mystery told from the point of view of the missing person; an American horror story that concerns sex and friendship, consumption and appetite, faith and transformation, real food and reality television; and, above all, a wholly singular vision of modern womanhood by a frightening, “stunning” (Conjunctions), and often very funny voice of a new generation.

Download and start listening now!

br6q

Quotes & Awards

  • “This debut novel from future superstar Alexandra Kleeman…Very funny, perfectly weird, a hyperintelligent commentary on a culture obsessed with you and fame…A dark, unflattering portrait of a generation that will probably remind you of a lot of people you know.”

    Vanity Fair

  • “Don’t be fooled by the sassy title—the cravings that lurk beneath the surface in this completely original debut will haunt what a body means to you indefinitely.”

    Marie Claire

  • “This frequently impressive debut has some of George Saunders’s loony satire and some of Don DeLillo’s bone-deep paranoia. The young woman who narrates it, referred to only as A, is assailed from without by the culture’s dominant ideas about appetite and beauty, and from within by her own neuroses…The symbols of modern anomie in this novel are familiar (soulless supermarkets, insane mass entertainments, etc.), but Ms. Kleeman has a singular, off-kilter style, and a distinct vision of the absurd horrors that can come with being trapped in a body..”

    New York Times

  • “A satirical and searing critique of modern-day womanhood.”

    Chicago Tribune

  • “The smartest, strangest novel I’ve read in a while.”

    Paris Review (staff pick)

  • “Her darkly satirical debut lays bare the ravages of advertising-fueled culture and consumerism, through a purposefully distorted version of our reality. Fans of DeLillo, Pynchon, and Shteyngart are advised to take note.”

    Huffington Post

  • “Kleeman’s debut novel is a fever dream of modern alienation…[It’s] not really like any other, but could be described as a blend of the nightmarish disassociation of DeLillo’s White Noise and the phantasmagoria of Bergman’s Persona. A challenging novel, but undoubtedly one with something to say.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • A 2015 Amazon Best Books of the Year Selection for Debut Authors
  • A BuzzFeed Books Pick for Best Fiction of 2015
  • A 2015 John Leonard Prize Shortlist Selection
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations