You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctors Stories of Life, Death, and in Between Audiobook, by Daniela Lamas Play Audiobook Sample

Download You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between Audiobook

You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctors Stories of Life, Death, and in Between Audiobook, by Daniela Lamas Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $25.98 Add to Cart
Author: Daniela Lamas Narrator: Daniela Lamas, Susannah Jones Publisher: Little, Brown & Company Audio Length: Release Date: March 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781478964346

Publisher Description

For readers of Atul Gawande and Jerome Groopman, a book of beautifully crafted stories about what life is like for patients kept alive by modern medical technology. Modern medicine is a world that glimmers with new technology and cutting-edge research. To the public eye, medical stories often begin with sirens and flashing lights and culminate in survival or death. But these are only the most visible narratives. As a critical care doctor treating people at their sickest, Daniela Lamas is fascinated by a different story: what comes after for those whose lives are extended by days, months, or years as a result of our treatments and technologies? You Can Stop Humming Now, Lamas explores the complex answers to this question through intimate accounts of patients and their families. A grandfather whose failing heart has been replaced by a battery-operated pump; a salesman who found himself a kidney donor on social media; a college student who survived a near fatal overdose and returned home, alive but not the same; and a young woman navigating an adulthood she never thought she'd live to see -- these moving narratives paint a detailed picture of the fragile border between sickness and health. Riveting, gorgeously told, and deeply personal, You Can Stop Humming Now is a compassionate, uncompromising look at the choices and realities that many of us, and our families, may one day face. "Gripping, soaring, inspiring."-Atul Gawande, author of Being Mortal

Download and start listening now!

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Daniela Lamas, MD is a Pulmonary and Critical Care Fellow at Harvard, where she works at Ariadne Labs, an innovation laboratory headed by Dr. Atul Gawande. She earned her MD at Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons, where she completed her internship and residency, and she served as an editorial fellow at the New England Journal of Medicine. Her writing has been published in the New Yorker, the Boston Globe, the Atlantic, and the New York Times.

About the Narrator

Thérèse Plummer is an actor, award-winning voice-over artist, and counselor. She has won eighteen AudioFile Earphones Awards and has been a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration. She has appeared in a variety of television and film roles. As a counselor for adolescents, she spent five years using drama therapy techniques in individual and group settings.