Extended Audio Sample

Download Words in the Dust Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Words in the Dust Audiobook, by Trent Reedy Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (786 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Trent Reedy Narrator: Ariana Delawari Publisher: Scholastic Inc Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2012 ISBN: 9780545477239
Regular Price: $20.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the tradition of SHABANU, DAUGHTER OF THE WIND and THE BREADWINNER, a beautiful debut about a daughter of Afghanistan discovering new friends and opportunities after the defeat of the Taliban.

FORMAT: Unabridged Audiobook on 6 cds

Zulaikha hopes. She hopes for peace, now that the Taliban have been driven from Afghanistan; a good relationship with her hard stepmother; and one day even to go to school, or to have her cleft palate fixed. Zulaikha knows all will be provided for her--"Inshallah," God willing.

Then she meets Meena, who offers to teach her the Afghan poetry she taught her late mother. And the Americans come to her village, promising not just new opportunities and dangers, but surgery to fix her face. These changes could mean a whole new life for Zulaikha--but can she dare to hope they'll come true?
Download and start listening now!

BK_SCHC_000362

Quotes & Awards

  • “Sensitive and empathetic…I like the way Reedy presents cultural differences and breaks down stereotypes.”

    Independent on Sunday (London)

  • “Infused with poetry, and wrought with hardship, the story gives a bleak, but ultimately hopeful, portrayal of girlhood in Afghanistan. It is full of hard truths, painful lessons, beautiful human interaction, and the promise of possibility.”

    School Library Journal

  • “[A] deeply moving view of a young girl caught between opportunity and tradition in contemporary Afghanistan.”

    Booklist

  • “Trent Reedy’s beautiful, heartbreaking story informs us with the initimate details of imperfect, ordinary lives in an exotic land. With great compassion and honesty, he touches us with the familiar light and darkness that live in every human heart. I love this story—it leaves no doubt that hope and love speak the same language everywhere.”

    Suzanne Fisher, author of Newbery Honor book Shabanu: Daughter of the Wind

  • Winner of the Parents' Choice Award for historical fiction
  • Winner of the Christopher Award
  • Winner of ALA Best Book for Young Adults for fiction

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 K.A. Barson | 2/4/2014

    " Loved this book! The characters were real. The world was truthful: harsh, beautiful, & hopeful all at the same time. I savored the language & ached for these girls. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Elana | 2/2/2014

    " deffinently a good read.! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nicole Barber | 2/2/2014

    " My sister read this book in her 9th grade class and she recommended it to me. I thought it was pretty good. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Peggy | 1/30/2014

    " This is a good teen book to introduce the culture of afghanistan and how women are treated. But, I felt the book dragged on and on about the same issues. I think many young people may give up on the book before the ending which would be too bad because the ending was very good and very satisfying. Some very good issues for young people to think about and discuss. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jess | 1/24/2014

    " A really good story about a girl in Afghanistan and how she got help from American soldiers. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Suzan | 1/22/2014

    " An interesting look at life and culture in Afghanistan post 9/11 through the eyes of a young girl. There are ways in which we are alike and others in which we are so very different, especially when it comes to the rights of women. I think the author did a good job of making it clear that the regular citizens of Afghanistan do not think or behave like the Taliban or other extremist groups, but there is still repression and mistreatment for the women in the Middle East by their husbands and fathers. Men who control their wives and daughters with an iron-fist, abusing and sometimes even murdering them without any repercussions, are contemptible! I am grateful I live where I do! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Marlyn | 1/16/2014

    " A very important book for all to read...sort of like reading "To Kill a Mockingbird" in terms of understanding culture and expectations... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jessica Buike | 1/15/2014

    " Hauntingly beautiful and tragic - it was truly a wonderful read! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Annie Clark | 1/4/2014

    " One of the most amazing books I've ever read. It has truely touched my soul. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marie Boland | 12/30/2013

    " Very good read for teens and adults. Based on actual Afghan experiences. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michael | 12/12/2013

    " Set in Afghanistan as a young girl benefits from US medical help with her cleft palate and facial reconstruction as we watch her life before, during and after those events. This was a 2012 IRA Honor Book for Intermediate Fiction. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Donna Nix | 12/10/2013

    " This is a 3 1/2 kind of rating. I liked it, but the ending was too pat, a big build up- then too easily resolved. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rebecca | 11/20/2013

    " The authors does a great job conveying what life must be like for a little girl with a cleft palate in Afghanistan. Zulaikha's story is not an easy to read & for me had very unexpected ending. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Elizabeth | 9/8/2013

    " This book was written by an English teacher who served (via the National Guard) in Afghanistan. This novel is a result of his experiences and his time in the Vermont writing program. Very moving and thought provoking. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kathy | 6/30/2013

    " Great story to teach about the people of Afghanistan. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Colby Sharp | 6/8/2013

    " Wow. Words in the Dust was intense. I felt like this book did an amazing job taking the reader into the heart of a girl from Afghanistan. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Steve Mckinney | 2/22/2013

    " A very good story which keeps you turning the pages, gives the reader a peek into Afghan culture and does what evry really good book does. It keeps you wanting more. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Anna Connerty | 12/2/2012

    " This was a very inspiring book to help other people in need. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joan | 9/15/2012

    " Excellent story from the perspective of a veteran of the war in Afghanistan. It brought out so many emotions as I read it. No matter what your religious persuasion or political point of view, you will love Zulaikha and want her to win her private war. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Stephanie | 5/5/2012

    " Poorly written. A missed opportunity as the subject matter is interesting. I was confused as I thought the book was neither for adults or YAs. I know that some cross the boundary but felt this missed something on both accounts. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Trent Reedy

Trent Reedy is the author of several novels, including Words in the Dust, which received a Christopher Award and was also an Al Roker’s Book Club pick on NBC’s Today show.

About the Narrator

Ariana Delawari, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, is a musician, director, and actress. A graduate of the USC School of Cinematic Arts, she directed We Came Home, an award-winning documentary about her journeys to Afghanistan since 9/11, the making of her album “Lion of Panjshir,” and her family story. She recently became the first female of Afghan descent to perform rock music live in Afghanistan in over thirty years. She is also a member of the LA Ladies Choir and was recently a speaker and performer at the inaugural TEDx Kabul.