Extended Audio Sample

Download Windward Passage Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Windward Passage, by Jim Nisbet Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jim Nisbet Narrator: Barry Press Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From the writer whose work has been called “truly, hellishly gritty” (Los Angeles Times) comes a gnarled mystery with shades of Philip K. Dick and James Ellroy.

In a parallel near future, a ship named for a jellyfish sinks into the Caribbean with its captain chained to the mast. Left behind is a logbook missing ten pages, presidential DNA hidden in a brick of smuggled cocaine, and a nearly completed novel. Tipsy, the dead sailor’s sister, and Red Means, his erstwhile employer, travel from San Francisco to the Caribbean and back as they attempt to unravel a mystery that rapidly widens from death at sea to international conspiracy.

With verve and humor to match the Illuminatus! trilogy, Nisbet has fashioned an engaging facsimile of our modern world, albeit with snappier dialogue, amped-up technology, and even more clearly stated political prejudices. “Neither Norman Mailer nor Truman Capote has in their writing been able to produce such an intensity as Nisbet has achieved,” writes Germany’s Die Welt. Pick up Windward Passage and see why.

Download and start listening now!

7193

Quotes & Awards

  • “Jim Nisbet—whose pen is mightier than a million swords—does it again with Windward Passage. This is a book that should not be missed.”

    Michael Connelly

  • “Jim Nisbet is a cult favorite in Europe and it’s easy to see why. In the tradition of Jim Thompson and Damon Runyon, Nisbet is too good to miss, and Windward Passage is a masterpiece that raises the bar even for such a master storyteller.”

    San Francisco Chronicle

  • “Nisbet’s prose drives and sparkles as it takes the reader into a world without morality or ethics.”

    San Antonio Express-News

  • “Jim Nisbet’s power of suggestion…seduces the imagination without churning the stomach.”

    Times Record News

  • “This is a gripping conspiracy thriller…Timely yet eerie in many ways, fans will enjoy this strange but exhilarating tale as political bias trumps over logic, fairness, and common good in Jim Nisbet’s strong suspense.”

    Midwest Book Review

  • “Nisbet pushes the boundaries of fiction with brave experimental forays…Fans of Nisbet’s previous work will find this a welcome addition to an already impressive collection of gritty and adventurous work.”

    ForeWord Reviews

  • “Lovers of the unorthodox, the intellectually challenging, and the aggressively offbeat will enjoy themselves immensely. ”

    Booklist

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Jim Nisbet

Jim Nisbet is the author of a dozen novels and five books of poetry. He has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize three times, short-listed for the Hammett Prize, and published in ten languages. He lives in San Francisco, California.