Extended Audio Sample

Download White Man's Grave Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample White Mans Grave Audiobook, by Richard Dooling Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (217 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Richard Dooling Narrator: John Edwardson Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2010 ISBN: 9780307734785
Regular Price: $25.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

When Peace Corps volunteer Michael Killigan goes missing in West Africa, his father Randall and his best friend Boone Westfall begin separate quests to find him. Randall, a bankruptcy lawyer, is the warlord of his world, a shark in a fishbowl, exercising power with mad, relentless, hilarious glee; Boone, an American innocent abroad, journeys to the African bush, protected by the twin charms of the passport and the almighty dollar. In seeking Michael, both men find much more than they bargain for. 

Download and start listening now!

BK_RAND_002159

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jeanne | 2/20/2014

    " This is about the search for a missing Peace Corps volunteer in Sierre Leone by his father and his best friend. It's satirical fiction and very amusing. My friend Belen read it and liked it a lot and since it was set in Africa I had to try it! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Leif Erik | 2/17/2014

    " This is the Great PCV novel. Funnier than any novel on the suffering of western Africa has any right to be, and a corrosive commentary on dominate tribal values of the middle of North America. Westfall's vision of his life in an Indiana sub-division is worth the price of admission alone. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jello | 1/15/2014

    " Avoid Sierra Lionne. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Stephanie | 1/8/2014

    " Fun fiction with a suprisingly accurate bit about Peace Corps hostels and bars. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Evan | 9/28/2013

    " While this is a work of fiction, it's a good backgrounder on the people and culture of Sierra Leone. It was written in the 90s, so you definitely need to keep that in mind when you're reading about the protagonist's custom laptop computer which is equipped with a CD-ROM drive. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mnmom | 9/14/2013

    " Bizarre - but I liked it! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rae | 7/23/2013

    " An American Peace Corps worker disappears in deepest darkest Sierra Leone. His best friend and father try in various ways to find him and are affected in different ways. This is a campy story in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Joseph Conrad. The tribal witchcraft angle is intriguing. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ej | 7/16/2013

    " I found this book hilarious. Especially the chapter comparing well know authors to toilet paper. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jessica | 7/14/2013

    " I read this book when I was preparing for Sierra Leone. It taught me Krio, customs, but still didn't prepare me for what I saw. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ron | 7/14/2013

    " A thrilling mystery/adventure tale intertwined with current affairs in a West African nation and a hallucinatory exploration of voodoo culture. First rate story telling from a former attorney who lived in the region as a Peace Corps worker. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Belen | 7/6/2013

    " This is a satirical story of a peace corps volunteer who goes missing in Africa and his corporate lawyer father who goes looking for him. It is viciously funny. I really liked it. The same author wrote Critical Care, which is also great. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Yetunde | 6/29/2013

    " Like Poisonwood Bible, this book does an excellent job of dispelling myths and (frankly) dashing idealistic ideas about life in traditional African societies. And there's a mystery in it! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lynn | 6/7/2013

    " Very funny book about a Peace Corps volunteer who goes missing in Sierra Leone. Brilliant juxtaposition of African and American cultures. Great dialogue, especially using the dialect in Sierra Leone. Great satire always includes great truths and this book is no exception. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Ashley | 5/9/2013

    " I wonder if this author knows what subtlety means? He bashed me over the head page after page describing the hyperinflation of his character's egos. I couldn't face the idea of reading his descriptions of Sierra Leone. Threw it away after 30 pages. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tara | 5/7/2013

    " Definitely challenges your cultural perspectives. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rebecca | 4/23/2013

    " I absolutely loved this book, turning juju and modern medicine on their heads. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Patrick | 4/11/2013

    " Witchcraft anyone? Bush devils and fierce satire collide in this story partly set in the jungle in Sierra Leone -- a must read for aspiring Peace Corps volunteers who are poised to disappear in West Africa. Dig it! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kjones | 9/2/2012

    " i read this book over 10 years ago and i still think about it...should re-read "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Debbie | 11/2/2011

    " Two men's very different journeys to Africa. Funny, satirical and full of energy. Well written. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer | 6/25/2011

    " Read two times a while ago...forget it enough to want to read it again! I remember loving it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Thurston | 10/25/2010

    " Excellent book. Having spent two years in the Peace Corps in Sierra Leone, I can attest to its accuracy. Anyone planning on traveling in this part of the world would be well advised to read this book. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations