While the Music Plays Audiobook, by Diane Austell Play Audiobook Sample

While the Music Plays Audiobook

While the Music Plays Audiobook, by Diane Austell Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $27.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Anna Fields Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 11.83 hours at 1.5x Speed 8.88 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: September 2009 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781483069166

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

46:29 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

03:15 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

26:08 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Publisher Description

Once, Laura Chandler had dazzled all of Washington with her beauty and poise. But with the sudden death of her husband, the great senator Robert Chandler, she changed, afraid to care for anyone or anything.

Now, in 1861, as the streets of Richmond are alive with the rumblings of civil war, a daring Yankee has sought Laura out. Chase Girard has been charged with the task of persuading the legendary Southern charmer to spy for the Union.

Laura is deeply drawn to the Union cause, but she has two brothers in the Confederate Army. Can she betray them and everyone she holds dear? And can she risk a secret alliance with Chase Girard, who has the power to reawaken her most dangerous longings?

Download and start listening now!

“Austell brilliantly depicts the cruel costs of the bitter North-South schism on both home front and battlefield…[While the Music Plays has] the narrative power and flow of Margaret Mitchell’s [Gone with the Wind].”

— Publishers Weekly 


  • “One is in good hands with reader Anna Fields. She sets this costume drama before the listener with ladylike enthusiasm, obviously having a good time.”

    — AudioFile

While the Music Plays Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Diane Austell

Diane Austell is the author of While the Music Plays and Lights along the Shore.

About Anna Fields

Kate Fleming (a.k.a. Anna Fields) (1965–2006), winner of more than a dozen Earphones Awards and the prestigious Audie Award in 2004, was one of the most respected narrators in the industry. Trained at the Actors Theatre of Louisville, she was also a director, producer, and technician at her own studio, Cedar House Audio.