Where the Past Begins: A Writers Memoir Audiobook, by Amy Tan Play Audiobook Sample

Where the Past Begins: A Writer's Memoir Audiobook

Where the Past Begins: A Writers Memoir Audiobook, by Amy Tan Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $11.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $14.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Amy Tan, Daniel Halpern Publisher: HarperAudio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 9.67 hours at 1.5x Speed 7.25 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: October 2017 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780062694751

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

72:22 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

31 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

24:13 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Amy Tan: > View All...

Publisher Description

In Where the Past Begins, bestselling author of The Joy Luck Club and The Valley of Amazement Amy Tan reveals herself in a way she never has before, delving into her childhood, adolescence, family history, beginnings as a writer and professional life to explore the answers to questions of purpose and meaning that we all ask ourselves as we get older.

Moving from her childhood in Oakland and growing up with her Chinese parents through her success as a novelist, Amy Tan delves into her creative interests in music, the paralysis of beginning a new project, journal-writing and travelling. Where the Past Begins chronicles the making of a writer. With characteristic humor and poignant observation, Tan weaves a nontraditional introspective narrative that is as complex and vibrant as this beloved American novelist’s fiction. Interspersed with direct correspondence between the author and her editor, this audiobook will give fans and critics unparalleled insight into the author’s process, her thoughts on the literary enterprise, and her singularly warm, intelligent mind.

Download and start listening now!

“Add capable audiobook narrator to the list of Amy Tan’s many talents. Her unique memoir is made all the more accessible and personal through her animated performance…Tan’s rendering of her mother’s Chinese-American accent carries both authenticity and respect and reminds listeners that Tan’s perspective has been shaped by her status as a first-generation American.”

— AudioFile 


  • “The best new memoir I’ve read in a decade is Amy Tan’s breath-taking high-wire act of memory and imagination…[a] classic of the form…A must-read for the ages.”

    — Mary Karr, New York Times bestselling author
  • “In this wise and profound memoir, novelist Tan, now 65, looks back on her life, illuminating the path that led her to writing…For Tan, the past is ever present, serving as a wellspring of emotion and writing inspiration.”

    — Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “In her ambushing and revealing memoir, beloved novelist Tan chronicles with striking candor, sharp wit, and storytelling magic stranger-than-fiction traumas…A profound work of endless fascination, discovery, and compassion.”

    — Booklist (starred review)


  • Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction

Where the Past Begins Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Amy Tan

Amy Tan is the author of numerous New York Times bestselling novels, including The Joy Luck Club, The Hundred Secret Senses, The Valley of Amazement, and The Bonesetter’s Daughter, as well as The Kitchen God’s Wife, which hit the #1 New York Times bestseller spot. She has also written the children’s books The Moon Lady and Sagwa, which has been adapted for television by PBS. Her essays and stories have appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies, and her work has been translated into thirty-five languages.