Extended Audio Sample

Download What Happened to My Sister Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample What Happened to My Sister Audiobook, by Elizabeth Flock Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 5 4.05 (21 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Flock Narrator: Cassandra Campbell Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: December 2012 ISBN: 9781452681160
Regular Price: $17.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From the author of Me & Emma comes a dazzling novel of two unforgettable families bound together by their deepest secrets and haunted pasts-perfect for fans of The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes and The Book of Bright Ideas.

Download and start listening now!

BK_TANT_002808

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joy | 2/15/2014

    " The sequel to Me & Emma - a favorite if mine. Flock has an easy, care-free flow to her writing, and does an excellent job of writing from the perspective of a child, Carrie, and an adult, Honor. Super dialogue, loved both Carrie and Cricket. Everything is a 5 til the very ending, the secret "reveal" which was totally not realistic. Every other part of it and Me & Emma was. It should have ended 2 pages before it did! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Maithaology | 2/10/2014

    " I shed gallons of tears over this book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mich | 1/29/2014

    " Wow. Wow. Wow. Read Emma and me then this one. Wow. Takes a strong stomach to read both. The abuse is unconscionable. I would like to read a backstory on Libby, the mom. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Michelle | 1/26/2014

    " I received this book as an advance reader copy and completely enjoyed it! I did not realize until I was well into the book that it was the sequel to another book. I thought the story stood pretty well on its own. The characters were well done. The voice of the young girl, Carrie, in this tragic story was particularly compelling. I will look for the first book Me & Emma and more by this author for future reading. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shelley | 1/24/2014

    " If you read Me & Emma, you have to read this one... Very quick read... And answers lots of questions. I loved it "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Knitme23 | 1/17/2014

    " This book was on the "What to Read Now" list in the September O magazine, and it was the only one in our library, so I got it. . . and I must say I was taken aback: I don't think it's a very good book. The voices switch, but not really: Carrie is a nine year old who's thought to be crazy or disabled, but her grammar and voice are both pretty sophisticated some of the time, which doesn't sit right. Then there's the whole weird connection of (SEMI SPOILER HERE) a nicey nicey normal family who's just lost a girl who looked just like Carrie and WAS NAMED CAROLINE. . . I read it pretty quickly and did read the whole thing, so I struggled with giving it two stars vs. one, but ultimately I think it's a trite piece with some really flat characters and odd plot twists that alternate with predictability. Not recommended. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Brandy | 1/15/2014

    " This was the follow up to Me & Emma and was pretty good but not necessary I thought. It seemed a little forced at times and not as dramatic as the last time. I thought Emma really being alive really wasn't necessary and it was enough to just know that she had been real. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Valerie | 12/30/2013

    " Got this for free on first reads. This was such a great book, that I read it in one night. I could not put it down. Even with the twangy language, it was smooth reading with a continuously interesting story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cori | 12/27/2013

    " Child abuse/neglect is hard to stomach. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Libba Kellner | 12/22/2013

    " I couldn't put this book down and I'm anxious to read Me and Emma to see how the story began. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Gerald Curtis | 12/1/2013

    " This was my first try at this author and I found her dialogue fascinating. Child abuse is certainly not a pleasant subject for fictional entertainment, but she made it interesting. However, having enjoyed the read, I was very upset by the hokey ending. I will give her another try. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Deb | 11/1/2013

    " Great book! I couldn't put it down. Love books like this one. :) You won't regret reading this one (after you read Me & Emma first, of course. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kathy Carter | 10/2/2013

    " What a wonderful book. Carrie is so heartbreaking you want to reach into the book and give her a hug - and gut punch her mother. This book had me with the first chapter and kept me interested until the very end. Very well thought out characters with an ending better than you'd hoped for. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dee6265 | 7/12/2013

    " I did t realize this was a sequel when I picked it up at the library last week. As much as I enjoyed it I don't think I will go back and read the book that came before this since I already know what's going to happen to the characters. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Aili | 4/7/2013

    " I absolutely loved this book! It was wonderful to read a continuation of Carrie's story and to see her finally find her place in the world. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Pam | 3/27/2013

    " I liked this book! I am glad the story finally came out, and it had a satisfying ending. I loved the friendship between Carrie and Cricket. I would recommend this book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sherry Saunders | 3/13/2013

    " I was almost instantly caught up in this story. The relationship between the main character Carrie and her mother affected me deeply, really tore my heart out. I did not realize this was a sequel to her book Emma and Me, but I will definitely be reading this one soon. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kelly | 3/12/2013

    " I thoroughly enjoyed the follow-up to Me and Emma... Good twist to the original story, and I liked the new characters from the Chaplin family... I hope she does decide to make this a trilogy. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Vicky | 1/7/2013

    " This was a good enough book but I found out AFTER reading it that it was the second book. I think the questions I have remaining may have been answered had I read the first book first. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jane | 12/21/2012

    " I liked this book--I especially like the writing of the author. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tara Henry | 12/15/2012

    " Seriously could not put it down, after reading Emma and Me I could not wait until this came out. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Narrator

Cassandra Campbell, Audie Award–nominated narrator and winner of several Earphones Awards, has performed in regional theaters across the country and in several off-Broadway shows at the Public Theater and the Mint Theater. In addition to narrating audiobooks, acting, and directing, she is a commercial and documentary voice-over artist.