Extended Audio Sample

Download We Are Not Eaten by Yaks Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample We Are Not Eaten by Yaks Audiobook, by C. Alexander London Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5 3.70 (10 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: C. Alexander London Narrator: Vance Barber Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Accidental Adventure Series Release Date: February 2011 ISBN: 9781101484586
Regular Price: $18.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Eleven-year-old twins Oliver and Celia Navel could care less about adventure and they really do not like excitement. They’d rather be watching television. Unfortunately for them, their thrill-seeking parents have dragged them from continent to continent their entire lives. But when their mother goes missing and their father makes a bet with the devious explorer Sir Edmund, the twins are forced into action. They head to Tibet where they fall out of airplanes, battle Yetis, poison witches, and encounter one very large yak.  If they can unravel the mysteries and outwit Sir Edmund, they might just make the discovery of a lifetime . . . and get cable television!


From the Trade Paperback edition. Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001664

Quotes & Awards

  • “Excellent writing [and] quick dialogue.”

    Wired

  • “Readers will love the clever, ridiculous means by which the twins triumph over their pursuers as their TV expertise helps them outwit many bumbling adults.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Vance Barber rises to the task of narrating this quest story as he deftly portrays characters ranging from wise Lama Norbu to breathy Professor Greenberg, slimy Sir Edmund, bickering Oliver, and questioning Celia.”

    AudioFile

  • “The quirky characters and Snicket-esque narrator should ensure a fan following.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Brooke | 5/1/2011

    " Adventure, tigers, Tibetan monks with oozies. I crave these things. While the adventure was entertaining, I didn't love the kids. Still I'd recommend it to Lore. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ishta | 4/27/2011

    " This was a fun read - and the twists came just often enough to keep me guessing, without making me feel confused.

    The voice is great, and the protagonists were hilarious. Really well-done - and now I want to read the next one! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hoover Public Library Kids and Teens | 4/16/2011

    " Super funny, edge-of-your-seat adventure for fans of A Whole Nother Story, A Series of Unfortunate Events, Whales on Stilts, Secrets of Dripping Fang, and other similarly zany books. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Katy Budget Books | 2/28/2011

    " Alicia's pick. This first book of a new series is a fun adventure story that both boys and girls will love. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Anderson's Bookshops | 2/21/2011

    " Kathleen says, "I loved every minute I spent with this book! I laughed out loud and was utterly charmed! This is going to be a perfect book for reluctant readers or anyone who likes adventure stories. This would also make a great classroom read-aloud!" "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Angela | 2/19/2011

    " Comrades in absurdist fiction for middle schoolers: Daniel Pinkwater, James Kennedy, Dr. Cuthbert Soup and now, C. Alexander London.

    While not recommended for adult readers (of kid lit), reluctant readers may find this story a worthwhile adventure.

    "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathleen | 2/17/2011

    " I loved every minute I spent with this book! I laughed out loud and was utterly charmed! This is going to be a perfect book for reluctant readers or anyone who likes adventure stories. This would also make a great classroom read-aloud! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 M | 1/31/2011

    " A really fun (and funny) middle grade adventure about two kids obsessed with television and the "explorer" parents they must save. A great read for reluctant kids, boys, and any fan of Lemony Snickett. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Talitha | 1/22/2011

    " Very neat book, perfect my kids! My kids have now read this twice! They really love it. Totally impressed! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Audrey | 11/20/2010

    " This book was awesome I really enjoyed reading a book to my children that didnt have pictures but they actually stayed focused and remembered what I read to them. It is a very creative and interesting book I absolutley recommend it! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author C. Alexander London

C. Alexander London is an award-winning author of nonfiction for grown-ups, an accomplished skeet-shooter, and a fully licensed librarian. He has watched television in twenty three countries, survived a volcano eruption, a hurricane, four civil wars, and a mysterious bite on his little toe. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.