Extended Audio Sample

Download Under Enemy Colors Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Under Enemy Colors (Unabridged) Audiobook, by S. Thomas Russell
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (460 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: S. Thomas Russell Narrator: Simon Vance Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2007 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 1 votes

At the time of the French Revolution, one of Britain's most skillful naval officers, Charles Saunders Hayden, is a young lieutenant, the son of an English father and a French mother. His abilities and his loyalty to the king of England are beyond dispute, yet his career seems doomed by his mixed heritage and lack of political connections. Consequently, Hayden is assigned to an aging frigate, the Themis, under the command of Captain Josiah Hart, a man known as Faint Hart throughout the service.

As the Themis takes to sea to harass the enemy, the disaffection of the crew begins to boil over into acts of violence, and the lieutenant finds himself caught between his superior and a crew pushed toward mutiny. A revolution at sea ensues, and Hayden is wrenchingly torn between honor and duty, as the magnificent Royal Navy engages the French in a centuries-old struggle for power. Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_000737

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Brett Hestelow | 2/14/2014

    " Really Enjoyed it ! So much so , im currently reading the 2nd book in the series ! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ross | 2/11/2014

    " The next closest thing to O'Brian's Aubrey/Maturin series. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Winona | 2/10/2014

    " I'm having a difficult time getting into this book. I'll read a few more chapters and see if it gets any more exciting. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Will | 2/2/2014

    " This is an excellent start to what looks to be a great and refreshing new series. Grittier than Forester, Pope, or Kent and far more readable and stimulating than O'Brien (sorry to any POB fans out there), this book was packed with battle, adventure, and intrigue. One thing that I especially liked about it was that the common seamen were FINALLY portrayed as sentient beings, instead of the mindless, will-less automatons of other series. The protagonist was very human, but still admirable and very likable. The 'supporting cast' was also great: you love the good guys and hate the villains, though there are a few characters that are sort of fence-riders (making the story more believable and more realistic, in my opinion). A must read for any son or daughter of the sea! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rodger Webb | 1/17/2014

    " If you like British Naval History fiction then you will enjoy this. Not quite Patrick O Brian but close. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 R | 1/11/2014

    " Rousing good yarn -- in the same genre as Kent and 0'Brian. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Matthew Harding | 1/7/2014

    " As fine a read as Patrick O'Brian. If you like 18th Century naval warfare and a thrilling plot, these are the books for you. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Pat | 1/7/2014

    " On the high seas during at the end of the 18th century. A little slow to start, but love the characters and action. Who knew sailing a war ship through the travails of pirates, mutinies and the enemy French could be so fun. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Pianomama | 1/6/2014

    " fun adventure, peril, very much like Patrick OBrian novels "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 jeffrey | 12/18/2013

    " A thoroughly enjoyable read, it begs for a sequel or two. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jasper Dorgan | 12/3/2013

    " Well written, interesting characterisation and good action pace and descriptions. Baddies non-comeuppance will disappoint many and the love interest is weak, poorly handled and badly plotted within the story. But a good beach read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Landon | 11/28/2013

    " Great adventure story. I was behind the hero the whole time but I never really knew what I wanted him to do. Detailed descriptions of rigging and what not. So if you have a ship you could use this book as an instruction manual. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Adam Hunter | 11/16/2013

    " I will never forget reading this for the first time. An absolute masterpiece. Riveting and so insightful. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brad | 10/20/2013

    " In the tradition of Hornblower and O'Brien, this book does not disappoint. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lauren | 12/7/2012

    " A great story line! The technical jargon was used a lot and for one that knows nothing of sailing, it made for a more difficult read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Maturin27 | 7/11/2012

    " Exellent read very much like Dudley Pope and O'Brian. Enjoyable,exciting boys own swash and buckle. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 David Whitt | 6/15/2012

    " Absolutely love this story. I hope there is many more to come from this series. Awesome "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Malakalima | 4/25/2012

    " The idea has potential, but it just fell short for me. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hermitcrab | 3/30/2012

    " Aye matey, 'tis a mighty read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Scarlet | 11/5/2011

    " Not bad--I liked the context of the French Revolution. The author tries a little too hard to point out when he's making a funny, but it's a pretty decent first novel. I'll probably read the next one. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kristin | 9/19/2011

    " Tim reading this series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alisa | 6/20/2011

    " Overall good book, I especially liked Lt. Hayden's character. Though I don't know much about ships or sailing, this was an interesting read about moral character during the battle among French and English at war. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 John | 6/2/2011

    " Now I can't wait to read his next book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hisham1969 | 4/4/2011

    " Finished this one about a week ago. Really enjoyed it; not the most original story, C S Forester and Alexander Kent have both written similar stories, nor the must accurate (Royal Navy lieutenants did not wear epaulets until 1812 Mr Russell!) but has engaging characters and great action sequences. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 jeff | 3/20/2011

    " A thoroughly enjoyable read, it begs for a sequel or two. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Scarlet | 12/23/2010

    " Not bad--I liked the context of the French Revolution. The author tries a little too hard to point out when he's making a funny, but it's a pretty decent first novel. I'll probably read the next one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Landon | 5/29/2010

    " Great adventure story where you are behind the hero the whole time but you aren't always sure what you want him to do. Detailed descriptions of rigging and what not. So if you have a ship you could use this book as an instruction manual. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Pat | 3/24/2010

    " On the high seas during at the end of the 18th century. A little slow to start, but love the characters and action. Who knew sailing a war ship through the travails of pirates, mutinies and the enemy French could be so fun. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bob | 1/27/2010

    " A poor man's Mutiny on the Bounty, but I got caught up in the story. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 David | 7/7/2009

    " Great nautical fiction based on the Napoleonic wars in the C.S. Forrester/Hornblower mold. Less mannered and precious than Patrick O'Brien's Jack Aubrey or Dewey Lamdin's Alan Lewrie series. Thoroughly enjoyable. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brad | 12/21/2008

    " In the tradition of Hornblower and O'Brien, this book does not disappoint. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Stven | 10/10/2008

    " This is the best novel in the tradition of Hornblower I have read, and I've read quite a few.

    Good action scenes. Quick-witted solutions to interesting problems. Interesting characters.

    More please! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jenifer | 9/8/2008

    " Consistant medium pacing, good story line, and likeable characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alisa | 9/4/2008

    " Overall good book, I especially liked Lt. Hayden's character. Though I don't know much about ships or sailing, this was an interesting read about moral character during the battle among French and English at war. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Winona | 8/27/2008

    " I'm having a difficult time getting into this book. I'll read a few more chapters and see if it gets any more exciting. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

S. Thomas Russell is a lifelong sailor whose passion for the sea and his love of nautical history inspired Under Enemy Colors. He lives on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada.

About the Narrator

Simon Vance (a.k.a. Robert Whitfield) is an award-winning actor and an AudioFile Golden Voice with over forty Earphones Awards. He has won thirteen prestigious Audie Awards and was Booklist’s very first Voice of Choice in 2008. He has narrated more than eight hundred audiobooks over almost thirty years, beginning when he was a radio newsreader for the BBC in London.